OnePlus Teases Their New ROM, OxygenOS

OnePlus went back to the drawing board tocreate a ROM that they promisewill be open,customizable, and … more

S-View Clocks for Note 4

Do you want a classy clock for your classy S-View cover? XDA Recognized Themersibinnhas provided us very … more

1% Battery Mod Themes for M8 Lollipop

If you have the battery-themer mod “1% battery”, this collection fromXDA Recognized Themer … more

No Timeline for Wi-Fi Direct Vulnerability , Says Google

CoreSecurity and Google have an ongoing dispute over the nature of a Wi-Fi Direct … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

ROM 4.2.BLU for Blu Studio 5.3ii

OP kevinoliva113

30th August 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #1  
kevinoliva113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 563
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Android 4.2.2 AOSP ROM for BLU Studio 5.3ii. 4.2.blu

Standard Disclaimer: It's your phone.. If you brick your phone, or it becomes self aware and takes over the world, I am not responsible.


Features:
Aroma Installer
Google Launcher
Newest Play Store
3 way reboot
OG Battery icons (many to choose from
Kit Kat wallpaper and fonts
Performance tweaks by me and SuperDragonPT
Full Gravity Box SuperDragonPT
Viper Audio SuperDragonPT
and more.....

Not Working
No support for photosphere... Sorry
About phone will not open.

Known issues.
To get "okay google" to work, you must temporarily download another launcher (any.. Google launcher will stop working) Then go to ESExplorer>system>app and delete com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox-1.apk . Then go to play store and download google search. Google launcher will work again and you will have "okay Google". you can uninstall the other launcher.

Viper. If you use make sure to pick CortexAx with NEON.

Installation Instructions:
ALWAY DO A BACKUP BEFORE FLASHING THIS OR ANYTHING ELSE.
1)Download ROM Here. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bzp...it?usp=sharing
2) Reboot recovery
3) factory wipe
4) wipe cache
5) Choose install zip.. Pick 4.2.BLU
6) go through Aroma Installer.. Phone will reboot on completion
first boot takes a while.
Last edited by kevinoliva113; 30th August 2014 at 02:35 AM. Reason: upload screenshot
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kevinoliva113 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2014, 03:29 AM   |  #2  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apex NC
Thanks Meter: 837
 
1,065 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
I really appreciate the work! Been looking for sources to build AOSP 4.2.x or CM10.2 for like a month now, but since you've already built it...
How hard would it be to port something to this device? Been wanting to put together either Carbon or OmniRom, but again, sources are thin...
Thanks again for this build!!!
3rd December 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #3  
kevinoliva113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 563
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoXFreak

I really appreciate the work! Been looking for sources to build AOSP 4.2.x or CM10.2 for like a month now, but since you've already built it...
How hard would it be to port something to this device? Been wanting to put together either Carbon or OmniRom, but again, sources are thin...
Thanks again for this build!!!

The problem is mediatek never released their kernel source. So developers of aftermarket ROMS cannot build for these devices, and we cannot port them over. There is a nice carbon clone that I may have ported. I will check my computer tomorrow and see if I still have it.

Sent from my SM-N910P using XDA Free mobile app
20th December 2014, 11:31 PM   |  #4  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apex NC
Thanks Meter: 837
 
1,065 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
OK, new problem. MTKDroidTool says my PMT file doesn't match. I'm getting hard locks where I have to pull the battery and restart the phone. It definitely seems like an oom situation because there is nothing in the logcat from the exact moment of the hard lock on.
This is on BLU 4.2 and any other port.

Sent from my thumb magnet using Jedi mind control...
21st December 2014, 12:11 AM   |  #5  
kevinoliva113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 563
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoXFreak

OK, new problem. MTKDroidTool says my PMT file doesn't match. I'm getting hard locks where I have to pull the battery and restart the phone. It definitely seems like an oom situation because there is nothing in the logcat from the exact moment of the hard lock on.
This is on BLU 4.2 and any other port.

Sent from my thumb magnet using Jedi mind control...

It sounds like a hardware problem. If you are over-clocking your CPU that will happen. If not, it may be a CPU problem. If you are trying to go back to stock, you should have 2 scatter files. Try the other one and see if you still get the PMT error.

Sent from my SM-N910P using XDA Free mobile app
22nd December 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #6  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apex NC
Thanks Meter: 837
 
1,065 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
It did it on stock as well, hence my reason for flashing cwm and a custom.
I have underclocked it to 750 and no overclock, same result.
I have deleted a lot of the build prop tweaks and put dalvik cache back to 128/5/48/512k/2m, which really seemed to speed things up a bit, but it will still hang every once in awhile.
It stinks because there's nothing in logcat that points to a hardware error. The only thing I know is mtktool comes up with a pmt mismatch.
Someone needs to get me source on this so I can sit and debug it.

Sent from my thumb magnet using Jedi mind control...
31st December 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #7  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apex NC
Thanks Meter: 837
 
1,065 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
EDIT:
Finally figured it out.
Screws came loose from motherboard and were floating around inside the phone causing all kinds of weird stuff.
Now I have a decent sized paper weight with 2 batteries and the original box.

Sent from my thumb magnet using Jedi mind control...
Last edited by PoXFreak; 31st December 2014 at 09:34 PM.
31st December 2014, 06:46 AM   |  #8  
kevinoliva113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 563
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoXFreak

Finally figured it out.
Acres came loose from motherboard and were floating around inside the phone causing all kinds of weird stuff.
Now I have a decent sized paper weight with 2 batteries and the original box.

Sent from my thumb magnet using Jedi mind control...

That sucks... A sad ending.



Sent from my SM-N910P using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to kevinoliva113 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st December 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #9  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apex NC
Thanks Meter: 837
 
1,065 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinoliva113

That sucks... A sad ending.

Sent from my SM-N910P using XDA Free mobile app

There's a possibility that I could get it to work again but I need to sit and resolder the button boards (volume/power), and find all the screws that either came loose and fell out or got lodged between the board and screen.

Sent from my thumb magnet using Jedi mind control...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes