Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,408 Members 52,469 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

BLU Life One *Official Thread* [Info] [Root] [Roms]

Tip us?
 
SystemErrorOne
Old
#1  
SystemErrorOne's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 319
Posts: 466
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jacksonville
Info 2 BLU Life One *Official Thread* [Info] [Root] [Roms]


Welcome to the BLU Life One Wiki: Where you can find all sorts of information about this device.

BLU Products Development Team is brought to you by G+ & Facebook.
We are an open community/group, this community is dedicated to anyone who owns a device made by BLU.
We are here to help in any way we can, so do not hesitate to ask questions
.

Below I will post various Information/root tools/mods/ect for the BLU Life One.


***IMPORTANT READ BELOW***

Before we begin, to relieve some confusion with the information inside of the the links below: The BLU LIFE ONE is a device very similar to another phone called the Micromax Canvas 4 or should I rather say that device is very similar to the Life One, anyways I wanted to let you guys know because on some of the links posted down below you will notice that some of the ROMS/Root tools are for the Canvas 4 but do not be afraid. THIS IS NORMAL , the Micromax Canvas 4 is the exactly the same as the Blu Life One. They both run on a MediaTek MT6589 A7 quad-core processor clocked at 1.2GHz. So ALL of the custom ROMS out for that device should & will work on our device

Need more proof? Check this out: http://goo.gl/cFcFIL


ANYWAYS LETS BEGIN!


DRIVERS:

Link 1: http://goo.gl/4gtpiy

Link 2: http://d-h.st/U8e



ROMS

Screenshots & more info about the individual ROMS are inside of each link

MIUI V5: http://goo.gl/XmMNSW

SPEEDV2 http://goo.gl/LzOwIv

LEWA OS http://goo.gl/uz0Lac

Team_Minha_Xtreme_SmAsHeR http://goo.gl/Xqpnd7



RECOVERY

TWRP 2.5.0.0 touch recovery http://goo.gl/Yln17A



BACK UPS/STOCK ROM

http://goo.gl/ggafOf



Root/Un-Root

Method 1: http://goo.gl/kR6lXc

Method 2: http://goo.gl/EngIUf

Method 3: http://goo.gl/i71DHd



TECHNICAL STUFF (FILES)

Insecure boot.img for Blu Life One, L120, version 6.1


Quote:
Here is a modified boot.img with ro.secure=0 and ro.debuggable=1 set in default prop, to allow rooted adb. only of benefit if you need to capture boot logs etc. Kernel is unmodified.


This is from BLO software version 6.1 from the 8/08/13 ota update. If you're running something else, use caution.

After backing up your original (see below), apply by entering bootloader, holding down both volume buttons during power on, then go to recovery and select fastboot.

Then on your computer:
fastboot flash boot bootimg.BLO-L120.v6.1.insecure.img
fastboot continue

It works for me once flashed, but the normal caveats apply eg your new paperweight. If for any reason it doesn't work or you need to restore your original, you should hopefully be able to apply your backup bootimg with the same method. I cannot get this or the original bootimg to boot 'live' from fastboot, without flashing.

First, make a backup of your original bootimg on your phone with dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 bs=512 skip=68608 count=12288 of=/sdcard/bootimg.orginal.img

and then

adb pull /sdcard/bootimg.orginal.img off your phone
Insecure boot.imghttps://docs.google.com/file/d/0B_Qz...it?usp=sharing

Thanks to Matt G. For these files.


ProjectConfig.mk

Quote:
/system/data/misc/ProjectConfig.mk contains what looks like the needed kernel config parameters for the phone's hardware.

posted a copy at
ProjectConfig.mk http://goo.gl/CXB8Vn

Thanks to Matt G. For these files.



UNBOXING

www.youtube.com/embed/NhA31qYuPPs


FULL SPECS: http://www.gsmarena.com/blu_life_one-5358.php



IF YOU GUYS FOUND THIS THREAD HELPFUL JUST PRESS THANKS AND MAKE SURE TO VISIT AND JOIN OUR TEAM OVER AT

GOOGLE PLUS: https://plus.google.com/communities/...29749085694805

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/groups/404226186366728/
Press Thanks If I Helped

The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to SystemErrorOne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BlueVirus
Old
#2  
BlueVirus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 179
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bangalore
Hi, the link you provided for TWRP links to Micromax A110, Please let us know whether the same TWRP works for Canvas 4/BLue Life One
Micromax Canvas 4 A210 powered by Canvas4Turbo
"The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease forever to be able to do that"
 
vand3537
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jun 2009
Will any of these root methods work on the Life One M? (L131)
 
SystemErrorOne
Old
#4  
SystemErrorOne's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 319
Posts: 466
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jacksonville
Quote:
Originally Posted by vand3537 View Post
Will any of these root methods work on the Life One M? (L131)
They should work
Press Thanks If I Helped

 
andTab
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 385
Join Date: Nov 2011
Is it correct that one can use Micromax Canvas 4 roms?
 
cabegol
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hi there, based on my experience you can use the Micromax Canvas 4 ROM's. We aware of one thing: in my case I've lost some of the radio 3G frequencies by flashing a Micromax ROM and I had to go back to the stock ROM. This may or may not affect you depending on where you are, in my case I lost AT&T's 3G and had to go back. NeroD is working on a fix, so we could basically flash the radio (modem.img), on top of any Micromax ROM and get all the frequencies back. I'll report once it's done.
 
cabegol
Old
(Last edited by cabegol; 27th August 2014 at 03:47 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Modem/Radio if you use a Micromax ROM

Hi there,

If you use a Micromax Canvas 4 ROM on the BLU L120 (Life One), you'll loose some of the phone radio 3G bands and, of course, the 3G data speed in the US (at least with AT&T). The phone will only connect at EDGE speeds. This happens because a different radio, specific for the Micromax, get's flashed with the ROM. This has been my experience.


There's a solution: I've created a flashable .zip file that you can use in CWM right after you have flashed your favorite ROM.

I've tried it with the PureXperiaZ2 ROM and it works perfectly fine! Again, just flash the ROM and, then flash the attached .zip and you'll have the stock radio for the BLU on a Micromax ROM.

Enjoy!
Attached Files
File Type: zip ModemBlu.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.31 MB, 19 views)

Tags
blu, canvas, life
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes