Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROOT available] [18-01-2015] Acer Liquid S1 / S510 / A10 with KK ROM!

OP nikagl

16th January 2015, 10:56 AM   |  #1  
nikagl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 430
 
2,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Hi all,

*Q&A Thread is here*

I have succeeded to root Acer Liquid S1 (S510 / A10). In the Acer Iconia Toolkit thread @Optimissimus99 mentioned to use the MTK Logger when using a Kitkat ROM. Using @vache's S1 root sources I figured out how root was done with JB using the Network Utility, so I tried doing the same steps using the MTK Logger.

Requirements:
  • Acer Liquid S1 (S510 / A10)
  • Being able to follow procedure to the step
  • Have an Ubuntu installation (I used 14.10)
  • Post screenshots, clear steps and results when asking for help
Getting root can be achieved with these steps:
  1. Copy or download a busybox file (I used the one from the Iconia Toolkit) to your /sdcard
  2. Using MTK Logger Util
    1. Open engineering mode (for instance with MTK Engineering Mode)
    2. Swipe to Log and Debugging screen
    3. Open MTKLogger
    4. Click on Settings
    5. Click Run Command and execute the following commands:
      1. cp /sdcard/busybox /data/local/tmp
      2. chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/busybox
      3. /data/local/tmp/busybox telnetd -l /system/bin/sh -p 1234
  3. Using Terminal
    1. ls -la /data/local/tmp/busybox
      This should show correct execute permissions on busybox
    2. /data/local/tmp/busybox telnet 127.0.0.1 1234
      This should open Telnet correctly
    3. cat /proc/dumchar_info | grep "android"
      This should show the size of your system image. In my case:
      "android 0x0000000040000000 0x0000000005d00000 2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p5”
    4. so quickly calculating (using the code from Vache’s S1 Root tool)
      • l_seekBlocks = systemEndAddr / 4096; var endA = addrs[2]; endAddr = Convert.ToInt64(endA, 16); 0x0000000005d00000 97517568/4096 = 23808
      • l_countBlocks = systemStartAddr / 4096; var startA = addrs[1]; startAddr = Convert.ToInt64(startA, 16); 0x0000000040000000 1073741824/4096 = 262144
    5. dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 bs=4096 skip=23808 count=262144 | gzip >/storage/sdcard1/system.img.gz
      This should create your gzipped ROM dump on the external sdcard.
  4. Within Ubuntu
    1. Transfer the system.img.gz file to Ubuntu
    2. Transfer extracted SuperSU (I used UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40.zip)
    3. Run the following code:
      Code:
      gunzip system.img.gz
      sudo mkdir /media/iconia
      sudo mount -o loop system.img /media/iconia
      sudo mv /media/iconia/etc/install-recovery.sh /media/iconia/etc/install-recovery_original.sh
      sudo mkdir /media/iconia/bin/.ext
      sudo chmod 0777 /media/iconia/bin/.ext
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/common/Superuser.apk /media/iconia/app/Superuser.apk
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/common/install-recovery.sh /media/iconia/etc/install-recovery.sh
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/armv7/su /media/iconia/xbin/daemonsu
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/armv7/su /media/iconia/xbin/sugote
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/armv7/su /media/iconia/xbin/su
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/armv7/su /media/iconia/bin/.ext/.su
      sudo cp /media/iconia/bin/mksh /media/iconia/xbin/sugote-mksh
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/armv7/supolicy /media/iconia/xbin/supolicy
      sudo cp UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.40/armv7/libsupol.so /media/iconia/lib/libsupol.so
      sudo chmod 0644 /media/iconia/app/Superuser.apk
      sudo chmod 0755 /media/iconia/etc/install-recovery.sh
      sudo chmod 0755 /media/iconia/xbin/daemonsu
      sudo chmod 0755 /media/iconia/xbin/su
      sudo chmod 0755 /media/iconia/bin/.ext/.su
      sudo chmod 0755 /media/iconia/xbin/sugote
      sudo chmod 0755 /media/iconia/xbin/sugote-mksh
      sudo chmod 0755 /media/iconia/xbin/supolicy
      sudo chmod 0644 /media/iconia/lib/libsupol.so
      sudo ln -s /media/iconia/etc/install-recovery.sh /media/iconia/bin/install-recovery.sh
      sudo umount /media/iconia
      sudo rm -rf /media/iconia
      mv system.img systemrooted.img
      gzip systemrooted.img
    4. Check for errors - if there is any, fix them
  5. Next steps is to reload the system image with the following command:
    1. copy systemrooted.img.gz to device
    2. start mtklogger (see above 2.3 / 2.4)
    3. start telnetdaemon (see above 2.5.3)
    4. start terminal (see 3)
    5. start telnet (see 3.2)
    6. Run the command:
      /data/local/tmp/busybox zcat /storage/sdcard1/systemrooted.img.gz | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0 bs=4096 seek=23808 count=262144
As I do not have much time, I am not sure when I can do this... will post progress in this thread.

Next steps in the development:
  • Add Xposed Framework
  • Automate the procedure
Thanks go to @vache @paugustin @Shreps @Optimissimus99 for providing some of the above info and helping me with this device!

Regards,

Nika.
Last edited by nikagl; 19th January 2015 at 08:47 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nikagl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2015, 11:00 AM   |  #2  
nikagl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 430
 
2,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Here's some screenshots:



Last edited by nikagl; 16th January 2015 at 11:04 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to nikagl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2015, 10:14 PM   |  #3  
Shreps's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 764
 
623 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
You have done the hardest part, just need to push the su daemon service for KK 😉

Envoyé de mon A1-840FHD en utilisant Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Shreps For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th January 2015, 09:08 PM   |  #4  
nikagl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 430
 
2,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Just in case anyone reads this thread and decides to try it on their own - the system.img wasn't mountable (yet). Looks like I used seek= instead of skip= when creating the new image... will try again later....
18th January 2015, 09:19 AM   |  #5  
nikagl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 430
 
2,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up Yeah, rooting works!
Check first post for details...
The Following User Says Thank You to nikagl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th January 2015, 05:53 PM   |  #6  
ARRRDJ's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Nice!!! Realy like your work So we now have root on Acer Liquid S1! Will there be a quick way to root it?

with a kinda batch tool for instance?
Last edited by ARRRDJ; 19th January 2015 at 12:48 PM.
18th January 2015, 10:24 PM   |  #7  
nikagl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 430
 
2,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARRRDJ

Nice!!! Realy like your work So we now have root on Acer Liquid S1! Will there be a quick way to root it?

with a kinda batch tool for instance?

Oh yeah, we sure will. I'll contact @entonjackson to know whether we can add it to his toolkit and @Chainfire to know whether we are allowed to include SuperSU in a kit this way...
19th January 2015, 12:26 AM   |  #8  
ARRRDJ's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl

Oh yeah, we sure will. I'll contact @entonjackson to know whether we can add it to his toolkit and @Chainfire to know whether we are allowed to include SuperSU in a kit this way...

Nice!! Finally, root for S1
Will you keep us up to date with the latest developments? I cannot wait to run Xposed
19th January 2015, 08:29 PM   |  #9  
nikagl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nieuwegein, NL
Thanks Meter: 430
 
2,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARRRDJ

Nice!! Finally, root for S1
Will you keep us up to date with the latest developments? I cannot wait to run Xposed

Sure. I will need @entonjackson for that though, otherwise I'll have to rewrite his code to suite S1, use the MTKLogger and add SuperSU. Adding Xposed is a good idea too - the problem with the /system on this device is that it's locked and we cannot unlock it. So adding stuff (or removing for that matter) always requires to use an existing /system dump and restore it to the device using dd. Recovery too, will only allow installation of signed zips and as we don't have the right keys, we won't be able to use (or change) it... In the end, doing a root from scratch will always require either Ubuntu (to do it with the ROM you have on your device) or restore a system.img from another device... It requires Ubuntu btw, because in Ubuntu you can mount a system.img and easily change it, which is not feasible from DOS/Windows...

So... for the time being, let's wait for @entonjackson and if he doesn't have the option, I'll try to write something. Just keep in mind I am not a developer, I can follow procedures and hack my way into existing stuff, but writing from scratch remains a bridge too far...
20th January 2015, 11:55 AM   |  #10  
ARRRDJ's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikagl

Sure. I will need @entonjackson for that though, otherwise I'll have to rewrite his code to suite S1, use the MTKLogger and add SuperSU. Adding Xposed is a good idea too - the problem with the /system on this device is that it's locked and we cannot unlock it. So adding stuff (or removing for that matter) always requires to use an existing /system dump and restore it to the device using dd. Recovery too, will only allow installation of signed zips and as we don't have the right keys, we won't be able to use (or change) it... In the end, doing a root from scratch will always require either Ubuntu (to do it with the ROM you have on your device) or restore a system.img from another device... It requires Ubuntu btw, because in Ubuntu you can mount a system.img and easily change it, which is not feasible from DOS/Windows...

So... for the time being, let's wait for @entonjackson and if he doesn't have the option, I'll try to write something. Just keep in mind I am not a developer, I can follow procedures and hack my way into existing stuff, but writing from scratch remains a bridge too far...


Okay, let's hope @entonjackson can help! Oehw that's sad. So it's impossible to root this phone on the 'normal' way? Is it restricted in the software or in the hardware?
But once you've rooted it, can you use Xposed (or another rootapp), without having to restore a systemdump file?
Ubuntu is not a problem, since I develop in Ubuntu

No problem! I've a lot of respect that you came so far without having a lot of experience

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
root acer liquid s1 s510 a10 kk kitkat
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes