Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,248 Members 37,637 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(script) enabling swap by default

Tip us?
 
karthick mostwanted
Old
(Last edited by karthick mostwanted; 3rd August 2014 at 05:23 AM.)
#1  
karthick mostwanted's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: chennai

 
DONATE TO ME
Prompt (script) enabling swap by default

Code:
Hi friends

I created this tutorial especially for noobs who would like to enable swap in their mobile

#include
/*
* I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards or
* thermonuclear war.
* do some research if you have any concerns.
* YOU are choosing to make these modifications.
* yes, i copied this disclaimer from FXP because it is cool and i am lazy!
*/


INSTRUCTION:
1.extract and copy file swap to etc/init.d IMPORTANT: etc/init.d is outside system dont copy the file swap to system/etc/init.d
for example:
copy swap to ------> etc/init.d
dont copy swap to ------> system/etc/init.d
2.reboot phone reboot takes sometime because of enabling swap
3. to check swap is working open terminal type
PHP Code:
su 
then
PHP Code:
free 
if u want to change the swap size open swap file with text editor and change 20 to something

[CREDITS]: #karthick_most wanted@fireion_developers
Attached Files
File Type: zip swap.zip - [Click for QR Code] (528 Bytes, 37 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to karthick mostwanted For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
#buzz
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 34
Join Date: May 2014
Location: /android/works
Default Good Work

This is surely an appreciable piece of work but I have only one question:

"The kernel should have swap support to enable swap by default. Am I correct?"

 
karthick mostwanted
Old
#3  
karthick mostwanted's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: chennai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by #buzz View Post
This is surely an appreciable piece of work but I have only one question:

"The kernel should have swap support to enable swap by default. Am I correct?"

it may or may not
 
Vaibhav Chauhan
Old
#4  
Vaibhav Chauhan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 757
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dahod, Gujarat
Quote:
Originally Posted by karthick mostwanted View Post
Code:
Hi friends

I created this tutorial especially for noobs who would like to enable swap in their mobile

#include
/*
* I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards or
* thermonuclear war.
* do some research if you have any concerns.
* YOU are choosing to make these modifications.
* yes, i copied this disclaimer from FXP because it is cool and i am lazy!
*/


INSTRUCTION:
1.extract and copy file swap to etc/init.d IMPORTANT: etc/init.d is outside system dont copy the file swap to system/etc/init.d
for example:
copy swap to ------> etc/init.d
dont copy swap to ------> system/etc/init.d
2.reboot phone reboot takes sometime because of enabling swap
3. to check swap is working open terminal type
PHP Code:
su 
then
PHP Code:
free 
if u want to change the swap size open swap file with text editor and change 20 to something

[CREDITS]: #karthick_most wanted@fireion_developers
what will be the default size of that partition?
PHONE;- Samsung galaxy s duos gt-s7562
OS:- Android ICS 4.0.4
BASEBAND VERSION:- S7562DDBMJ1
BUILD NO:- IMM76I.S7562XXBMJ1

Guides by me

...PRESS THANKS IF I HELP YOU...
.
 
karthick mostwanted
Old
#5  
karthick mostwanted's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 54
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: chennai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Chauhan View Post
what will be the default size of that partition?
what do you mean??
 
Vaibhav Chauhan
Old
#6  
Vaibhav Chauhan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 757
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dahod, Gujarat
Quote:
Originally Posted by karthick mostwanted View Post
what do you mean??
you said swap size will be 20 and you can change it
so What can i understand about it
20 mb or another?
PHONE;- Samsung galaxy s duos gt-s7562
OS:- Android ICS 4.0.4
BASEBAND VERSION:- S7562DDBMJ1
BUILD NO:- IMM76I.S7562XXBMJ1

Guides by me

...PRESS THANKS IF I HELP YOU...
.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes