Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

[GUIDE][HOW TO]How to increase App storage in Micromax Canvas2 colors[Kitkat 4GB/8GB]

OP Biswajyoti

28th September 2014, 09:00 PM   |  #11  
Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 14
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ganeshg1982

I would like to know if the phone needs to be rooted for this.
I would like to go with this based on you friends confirmation.

If rooting is required, then can I un-root after increasing the app storage space so that the phone gets secured exactly same as earlier?

Thanks all.

I don't think it needs a rooted phone. You can go ahead with it.
29th September 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Clock
Quote:
Originally Posted by pritzzy

I don't think it needs a rooted phone. You can go ahead with it.

May be a silly question. I just wonder if flashing EBR files is possible without Root.

Thanks.
29th September 2014, 07:34 PM   |  #13  
Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 14
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ganeshg1982

May be a silly question. I just wonder if flashing EBR files is possible without Root.

Thanks.

Yes because you will be doing it via sp flash tools and there is no rooting involved there
29th September 2014, 08:24 PM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
As there is no rooting involved here, the phone is secured same as earlier aka stock irrespective the size of storages are changed, Am i correct in that understanding. I am worried of alterations, but as the space is very low I need to do this for the good use of phone. I am a normal user of phone, not in development. So I would be so happy to get hep from you all and understand if there is any side effects of loosing the peace of mind, Will the phone be secured as earlier before it was done?
30th September 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #15  
Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 14
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ganeshg1982

As there is no rooting involved here, the phone is secured same as earlier aka stock irrespective the size of storages are changed, Am i correct in that understanding. I am worried of alterations, but as the space is very low I need to do this for the good use of phone. I am a normal user of phone, not in development. So I would be so happy to get hep from you all and understand if there is any side effects of loosing the peace of mind, Will the phone be secured as earlier before it was done?

Yes. It won't do anything with the stock operating system.

---------- Post added at 10:07 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:04 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pritzzy

Yes. It won't do anything with the stock operating system.

As mentioned in the description, you should be on stock KitKat and not fota kitkat
30th September 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pritzzy

As mentioned in the description, you should be on stock KitKat and not fota kitkat

Stock KitKat means the one which was there in the phone upon purchase. Correct. I attached the screenshot for your reference. I did not update the os so far. Pls let me know if the version i have will support this storage size modification.http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...1&d=1412100372
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-09-28-14-35-17.png
Views:	41
Size:	157.5 KB
ID:	2955799  
2nd October 2014, 09:17 AM   |  #17  
Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 14
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Yep. This is the one.
The Following User Says Thank You to pritzzy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th October 2014, 01:29 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
How to do this with "FOTA UPDATED KITKAT"??????????????
Is this Possible with FOTA updated kitkat or if any other way to please tell me.
9th October 2014, 11:40 AM   |  #19  
Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 14
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampadananda

Is this Possible with FOTA updated kitkat or if any other way to please tell me.

I don't think so. Try flashing stock KitKat rom before going for this method
13th October 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Successfully flashed EBR1 and 2
Thank you for the support. I was able to successfully do it. I have got my app storage size increased. Thanks a lot. For models with 8GB Internal , it is good if we can increate to 3or 4GB if thats possible. Please let us know.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android General by ThreadRank