5,814,863 Members 48,537 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can I unlock my US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2?

Tip us?
 
sole_taker
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2012
Phone [Q] Can I unlock my US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2?

I couldn't find an area for US Cellular phones, but I'm in dire need of assistance. I currently have a US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2 that I need to use for T-Mobile. Can someone shed some light on how to unlock this device? Thank you in advance friends.

BTW it's a Samsung Galaxy Note SCH-R950
The Following User Says Thank You to sole_taker For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
carltongjr@hotmail.com
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Galaxy NOte II

Quote:
Originally Posted by sole_taker View Post
I couldn't find an area for US Cellular phones, but I'm in dire need of assistance. I currently have a US Cellular Samsung Galaxy Note 2 that I need to use for T-Mobile. Can someone shed some light on how to unlock this device? Thank you in advance friends.

BTW it's a Samsung Galaxy Note SCH-R950
DId you get it unlocked?
 
dilloncsr
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2009
Anyone else able to unlock a Galaxy Note 2 on US CELLULAR? I am looking to purchase one but if I cannot unlock it I will go with AT&T version.

Please respond ASAP with a solution.

Thanks!
 
JUSMEJOSE
Old
#4  
JUSMEJOSE's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 188
Posts: 1,192
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles
There's a thread in here that unlocks the gs3 and note2 for free I'll try to find it ...

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda premium
T-Mobile Galaxy Galaxy Note 3 - White 32GB
ROM: Stock
Rooted
Kernel: Trinity/Overclocked

-------------


Any questions about Hard Bricked/JTAG Repairs PM ME...

-------------


Previous Phones

Motorola i60/Motorola i860/Motorola i930/Motorola V300/Nokia N95 8GB/Nokia N96/HTC G1/Blackberry 9000/HTC Nexus One/Samsung Nexus S/Samsung Vibrant T959/Samsung T989/Samsung T889/Samsung M919
 
sylvester114
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilloncsr View Post
Anyone else able to unlock a Galaxy Note 2 on US CELLULAR? I am looking to purchase one but if I cannot unlock it I will go with AT&T version.

Please respond ASAP with a solution.

Thanks!
To Unlock Galaxy S3/Galaxy Note 2/Galaxy Note 2 LTE

Open Phone app and dial - *#197328640#
From Main menu, navigate to [1] UMTS >> [1] Debug Screen >> [8] Phone Control >> [6] Network Lock >> Options
From Options, select [3] Perso SHA256 OFF and wait for about 30 seconds after choosing the option
Now go back one step by pressing Menu button and then select Back (this should be in [6] Network Lock)
Choose NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZE and wait for a minute
Reboot device
To verify, insert a SIM card from different carrier/provider. If the new SIM card works then the phone has been unlocked.

Try this out, if it works do let me know...

---------- Post added at 04:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvester114 View Post
To Unlock Galaxy S3/Galaxy Note 2/Galaxy Note 2 LTE

Open Phone app and dial - *#197328640#
From Main menu, navigate to [1] UMTS >> [1] Debug Screen >> [8] Phone Control >> [6] Network Lock >> Options
From Options, select [3] Perso SHA256 OFF and wait for about 30 seconds after choosing the option
Now go back one step by pressing Menu button and then select Back (this should be in [6] Network Lock)
Choose NW Lock NV Data INITIALLIZE and wait for a minute
Reboot device
To verify, insert a SIM card from different carrier/provider. If the new SIM card works then the phone has been unlocked.

Try this out, if it works do let me know...
Sorry, forgot to mention. You require 4.1 Jelly Bean for this unlock to work, update if running a lower version of android.
 
sole_taker
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2012
I don't think this works for US Cellular version.
 
sylvester114
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sole_taker View Post
I don't think this works for US Cellular version.
Try it out. There's no where specified about that.

---------- Post added at 09:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:12 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvester114 View Post
Try it out. There's no where specified about that.
I guess the LTE version is only avialable in d US n dis thing works on that.
 
sole_taker
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2012
I tried those steps you mentioned and the number to dial won't even work. Am I doing it all wrong? I tried it under a us cellular version.
 
gagdude
Old
#9  
gagdude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 564
Posts: 2,496
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northbrook

 
DONATE TO ME
All US Cellular phones are CDMA and will NEVER be able to be unlocked, as that is a GSM "feature."

Sent from my DROID2 using xda premium
MY LINE OF DEVICES

Bold indicates daily driver, r indicates rooted/ROM'd

iPod Touch 4 | Motorola Cliq - r | LG Ally - r | Motorola Droid - r | Motorola Droid 2 | Samsung Focus | Motorola Flipside - r | LG MyTouch Q - r | Kyocera Rise | LG Nexus 4 - r | Motorola Atrix 2 | HTC Droid DNA - r | LG Nexus 5 - r | HTC One M8 - r

 
metzoforte
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default I might (ignorantly) disagree

Quote:
Originally Posted by gagdude View Post
All US Cellular phones are CDMA and will NEVER be able to be unlocked, as that is a GSM "feature."

Sent from my DROID2 using xda premium
I have a thought on how to circumvent the USCC version of the phone, but i'm not sure how to make it happen:
first a note: USCC removed the ability to manually program the phone (using dialer codes) as a "safeguard"
note: i think where i am stuck is that i can't find the build.sh file

1) root phone
2) access build.prop file
3) edit CDMA line with GSM line from another provider
4) save
5) reboot
Quote:
# su
cd system
# vi build.prop
then i want to replace
Quote:
USE CDMALTE PHONE
telephony.lte0nCdmaDevice=1
or copy the build.sh file from a friend's T-mobile build file

thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes