Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,631 Members 45,394 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Install and use WhatsApp without a number?

Tip us?
 
riahc3
Old
#1  
riahc3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default Install and use WhatsApp without a number?

Hello

I have a smartphone without a number or a SIM. Just connected to WiFi....How can I get WhatsApp working?

Thanks
THE HTC DESIRE Z/G2/VISION IS NOT A "4G" PHONE.
Read what is 4G: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4G
 
_hito_
Old
#2  
_hito_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 233
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: karachi
Quote:
Originally Posted by riahc3 View Post
Hello

I have a smartphone without a number or a SIM. Just connected to WiFi....How can I get WhatsApp working?

Thanks
I think you can't use WhatsApp without SIM or number.
 
coolsandie
Old
#3  
coolsandie's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 991
Posts: 1,950
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Quote:
Originally Posted by riahc3 View Post
Hello

I have a smartphone without a number or a SIM. Just connected to WiFi....How can I get WhatsApp working?

Thanks
Yup, pretty much what the above person has replied. Whatsapp is actually registered on to your phone number. And how there is smartphone without a SIM slot!

And there are many methods provided here at XDA for making Whatsapp work for Wi-fi only devices, but not sure whether it will work. You can try those, by doing this google search :
Code:
 site:forum.xda-developers.com how to make whatsapp work on tablets
 
riahc3
Old
#4  
riahc3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: Oct 2009
Most involve having a phone number. The closest Ive seen is the bluestacks method.
THE HTC DESIRE Z/G2/VISION IS NOT A "4G" PHONE.
Read what is 4G: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4G
 
TechMasta
Old
#5  
TechMasta's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 346
Posts: 163
Join Date: Mar 2013
You need a phone number... without a phone number people can't add you to there contacts and can't add you to groups etc. basically you need a number to use whatsapp..
Hit the Thanks Button if i helped


 
xitizXDA
Old
#6  
xitizXDA's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jun 2010
Thumbs up Try this - it works for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by riahc3 View Post
Hello

I have a smartphone without a number or a SIM. Just connected to WiFi....How can I get WhatsApp working?

Thanks
You will need to have a What's app account. Open the app and it will ask if it can send a SMS from your device to confirm the number. If a prompt appears say yes.
Now make sure the number you entered when creating an account is your number and it can be for any other device (even a regular phone will do)
When the app sends a message you'll receive a reply with a confirmation code on the number you have provided to the app.
The app will keep trying to confirm the device number but will fail and ask for the confirmation code. Just enter the one you received on your other number.

I am not sure if it works when creating a account but it sure works with retrieving it
 
Ghostfreak NB
Old
#7  
Ghostfreak NB's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,167
Posts: 4,589
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mumbai
Default Re: Install and use WhatsApp without a number?

Quote:
Originally Posted by riahc3 View Post
Most involve having a phone number. The closest Ive seen is the bluestacks method.
Even Bluestacks method needs number to operate what'sapp
So not possible afaik

Sent from my MT11i using xda premium
 
shishanii
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amman

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by riahc3 View Post
Hello

I have a smartphone without a number or a SIM. Just connected to WiFi....How can I get WhatsApp working?

Thanks
If the phone has a sim card slot and you have any working sim card. Just insert it and do the registration then you can remove the sim card and whatsapp will continue working.
 
ishanjain28
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Aliganj

 
DONATE TO ME
Smile Whatsapp Activation on Any Device. No root. No glitch

Well hi!!!
(] If you want to activate whatsapp anywhere follow this and it will be activated.

(->)Open activated whatsapp on any other device with the same no. You want to activate on your tablet/phone.

(->)Send some messages to someone

(->)Go to whatsapp settings and there will be a option to backup conversation. Backup them.

(->)Now copy the whatsapp folder from your phone to some safe location.

(->)Move it in the sdcard folder of your phone/tablet before installing whatsapp on that device

(->)Now install whatsapp.

(->)Enter the same no. You used other device.

[{(Whoo)}] And voila!! It will not do any verification or anything. It will tell you to restore the message backup.
Tap on restore and it will be working on any device


Please Hit Thanks if Helped. Any issues or need help then ask me.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ishanjain28 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
#htc
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by riahc3 View Post
Hello

I have a smartphone without a number or a SIM. Just connected to WiFi....How can I get WhatsApp working?

Thanks
whatsapp account needed means mobile no. needed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes