How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Partitioning the internal memory

OP oneindelijk

29th August 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Hi,

I'm trying to figure out the partitioning on my phone (Acer E2 V370).
With fdisk I have this layout
Code:
             Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks  Id System
/dev/block/mmcblk0p1              65          64  2147483647+  5 Extended
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2            1665        2944       10240  83 Linux
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary
/dev/block/mmcblk0p3            2945        4224       10240  83 Linux
Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary
/dev/block/mmcblk0p4            5825        6592        6144  83 Linux
Partition 4 does not end on cylinder boundary
/dev/block/mmcblk0p5            8385      110784      819200  83 Linux
/dev/block/mmcblk0p6          257985          64  2145420287+ 83 Linux
This doesn't make a lot of sense. 2145420287 blocks means 1039.something Gigabytes ?

Using parted for my SDCard gives me neatly two partitions with their respective sizes and fstype,
but using it on my internal memory, gives me errors, stating that the partitions can't be outside the disk.
This necessarily doesn't mean anything's wrong though, the phone (used to) boot(s) just fine,
and I noticed other people getting the same error message because they gparted the internal memory by accident

What actually went wrong, is that I reformatted the internal sdcard with ext3 using gparted while my phone was connected by UMS.
Since then it won't mount in android or on my linux box.

The reason I wanted to do this, is to use that internal storage as the location for link2sd.

I accidently wiped pretty much everything on my SD-Card (32Gb)
and the backup from my previous ROM (4.2.2) doesn't restore properly,
so nothing more can go wrong.
I can always repush the images back onto the phone using fastboot, right ?

Can anyone help me out, maybe by posting the results of fdisk -l /dev/block/mmcblk0 ?
29th August 2014, 09:11 PM   |  #2  
kalpetros's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 35.34, 25.13
Thanks Meter: 29
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneindelijk

Can anyone help me out, maybe by posting the results of fdisk -l /dev/block/mmcblk0 ?

Code:
         Device Boot    Start       End     Blocks   Id               System
/dev/block/mmcblk0p1        5    757760    6062048    c    Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2    757761  1003520    1966080    c    Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary
Last edited by kalpetros; 29th August 2014 at 09:22 PM.
30th August 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Red face
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalpetros

Code:
         Device Boot    Start       End     Blocks   Id               System
/dev/block/mmcblk0p1        5    757760    6062048    c    Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2    757761  1003520    1966080    c    Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary

Thanks !
That looks like your sdcard is on mmcblkp0, like I've seen with other devices.
Which device is this ?
30th August 2014, 10:44 AM   |  #4  
kalpetros's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 35.34, 25.13
Thanks Meter: 29
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
It's a Galaxy S I9000.
2nd September 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Prompt mmcblk0p8
Hi,

I'm still trying to figure out this whole partition-mess.
I've found out by using parted on each partition in mmcblk0
that mmcblk0p8 is about 1.7 Gb.
This is the partition I'm looking for, but why is fdisk /dev/mmcblk0 only showing 6
(And parted is just throwing an error, because the boundaries are out of bounds...)

Is there a way to make a full backup of my whole device, so I can restore it when messing up ?
(Perhaps dd each partition and the bootsector somehow ?)
3rd September 2014, 04:29 PM   |  #6  
kalpetros's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 35.34, 25.13
Thanks Meter: 29
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneindelijk

Hi,

I'm still trying to figure out this whole partition-mess.
I've found out by using parted on each partition in mmcblk0
that mmcblk0p8 is about 1.7 Gb.
This is the partition I'm looking for, but why is fdisk /dev/mmcblk0 only showing 6
(And parted is just throwing an error, because the boundaries are out of bounds...)

Is there a way to make a full backup of my whole device, so I can restore it when messing up ?
(Perhaps dd each partition and the bootsector somehow ?)

Yes you can use the recovery (CWM) to backup your device.
8th September 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Question CWM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalpetros

Yes you can use the recovery (CWM) to backup your device.

Or TWRP is just as well I suppose ?

I already make several backups, but will these store the size of the partitions as well ?
9th September 2014, 02:31 AM   |  #8  
kalpetros's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 35.34, 25.13
Thanks Meter: 29
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneindelijk

Or TWRP is just as well I suppose ?

I already make several backups, but will these store the size of the partitions as well ?

Yes the size of the partition will be stored.

You can use TWRP too.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes