Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more
Post Reply

ROM Compiling Issues

OP KerryWood34

6th July 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #1  
KerryWood34's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 143
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
I'm currently trying to implement native battery percentage into my source built ROM, but keep running into errors. Mainly, this one:

Code:
packages/apps/Settings/src/com/android/settings/rascarlo/StatusBarSettings.java:103: cannot find symbol
symbol  : method isPhone(android.app.Activity)
location: class com.android.settings.Utils
        if (!Utils.isPhone(getActivity())) {
                  ^
I look at other developers' code and they all have that period there so I am not sure why it is an error for me. Must do more research.
6th July 2014, 07:47 AM   |  #2  
sumit77seo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 54
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Can you show us the code piece which is creating problem? I think u have missed something like semicolons. or that method isPhone() is not accessible. Show us the particular fragment of code to which error is pointing.
Last edited by sumit77seo; 6th July 2014 at 08:10 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sumit77seo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th July 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #3  
KerryWood34's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 143
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
I will be starting work at 3 and won't be back home until about 12:30am. I will post the code then. I don't have the error window open anymore but I will just open the SatusBarSettings.java file and post the code from there.
7th July 2014, 07:46 AM   |  #4  
KerryWood34's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 143
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Here is the section of code where the error seems to be taking place.

Code:
// Quick settings category
        // Quick Settings pull down
        mQuickPulldown = (ListPreference) getPreferenceScreen().findPreference(QUICK_PULLDOWN);
        // only show on phones
        if (!Utils.isPhone(getActivity())) {
            if (mQuickPulldown != null)
                mStatusBarGeneralCategory.removePreference(mQuickPulldown);
        } else {
            mQuickPulldown.setOnPreferenceChangeListener(this);
            int quickPulldownValue = Settings.System.getInt(getActivity().getApplicationContext()
                    .getContentResolver(),
                    Settings.System.QS_QUICK_PULLDOWN, 0);
            mQuickPulldown.setValue(String.valueOf(quickPulldownValue));
            mQuickPulldown.setSummary(mQuickPulldown.getEntry());
I am not sure if it is because I am trying to simply add native battery percentage and do not have quick pulldown or any other status bar mods implemented yet or what.

Also, I am not writing this code myself in case that wasn't clear. I did a cherry-pick of rascarlo's native battery percentage.

Thanks for the help
Last edited by KerryWood34; 7th July 2014 at 11:43 AM.
8th July 2014, 12:45 AM   |  #5  
sumit77seo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 54
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
This seems that isPhone() method is not accessible. Do u have the source code of Utils class? Check into the Utils class for isPhone() method.

Sent from my Micromax A120 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to sumit77seo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2014, 11:34 AM   |  #6  
KerryWood34's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 143
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumit77seo

This seems that isPhone() method is not accessible. Do u have the source code of Utils class? Check into the Utils class for isPhone() method.

Sent from my Micromax A120 using XDA Free mobile app

Could you explain a little more in detail what I need to look for?I have downloaded source code and have been trying to just do a cherry pick. How do I check into the utils class for is phone() method?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank