FORUMS

How to Root the LG G4 and Install TWRP Recovery – XDA TV

A rooting method has finally been found for the flagship LG G4. In this … more

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

[Q] Can I put my touchwiz.apk on another OS?

134 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By Pawprints1986, Senior Member on 4th September 2014, 05:29 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Mine came with it now, so i was just wondering what would happen if i were to save those APK's (theres touchwiz itself, touchwiz launcher i think, maybe a couple others) to apply on top of a stock android OS??

Is that possible at all? It would be 4.0.4 style, but that doesnt bother me at all. if its possible that is.
 
 
4th September 2014, 07:07 AM |#2  
Member
Flag NewYork
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawprints1986

Mine came with it now, so i was just wondering what would happen if i were to save those APK's (theres touchwiz itself, touchwiz launcher i think, maybe a couple others) to apply on top of a stock android OS??

Is that possible at all? It would be 4.0.4 style, but that doesnt bother me at all. if its possible that is.

Well, yes you can put your touchwiz.apk to other OS, what its going to do is its going to make you device look like samsung device. These are the launchers used to customize the look of the whole ecosystem and that's is the major reason why people drives away from iOS to the Android ecosystem try using the touchwiz launcher and see your device transform onto samsung.
4th September 2014, 02:31 PM |#3  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Mod. Cttee. Retired - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 14,404
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by promo87

Well, yes you can put your touchwiz.apk to other OS, what its going to do is its going to make you device look like samsung device. These are the launchers used to customize the look of the whole ecosystem and that's is the major reason why people drives away from iOS to the Android ecosystem try using the touchwiz launcher and see your device transform onto samsung.

Please do your research before replying.

No it will not work as they need the base touchwiz framework to work properly which stock google doesn't have.

This is the price you pay for running a custom aosp based ROM.
4th September 2014, 08:17 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Please do your research before replying.

No it will not work as they need the base touchwiz framework to work properly which stock google doesn't have.

This is the price you pay for running a custom aosp based ROM.

Is there some (fairly easy) way to transfer the framework as well?
4th September 2014, 08:24 PM |#5  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Mod. Cttee. Retired - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 14,404
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawprints1986

Is there some (fairly easy) way to transfer the framework as well?

No because the frameworks control the whole OS. They are not cross compatible
4th September 2014, 09:41 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

No because the frameworks control the whole OS. They are not cross compatible

Hmm, in that case, are there mods available to make every part of the stock OS look like the touchwiz OS, including the notification area?? Thats gotta be my biggest thing that i hate about stock. I love the compact 1 page aspect of the touchwiz version.

I know theres a theme for touchwiz, i tried it on another device. but all it changed was the main screens. settings and notification areas stayed stock. That was a total bummer, i thought i found my solution right there...
4th September 2014, 10:38 PM |#7  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Mod. Cttee. Retired - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 14,404
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawprints1986

Hmm, in that case, are there mods available to make every part of the stock OS look like the touchwiz OS, including the notification area?? Thats gotta be my biggest thing that i hate about stock. I love the compact 1 page aspect of the touchwiz version.

I know theres a theme for touchwiz, i tried it on another device. but all it changed was the main screens. settings and notification areas stayed stock. That was a total bummer, i thought i found my solution right there...

Some have a notification setting for the compact tiles but not completely like touch Wiz. I would either get used to not having them or use a stock based ROM. To be honest I would get used to bot having them as with the next update the whole thing is changing again.
5th September 2014, 03:38 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Some have a notification setting for the compact tiles but not completely like touch Wiz. I would either get used to not having them or use a stock based ROM. To be honest I would get used to bot having them as with the next update the whole thing is changing again.

Well the one i tried playing with the settings with is the moto G... but there are practically NO customization settings, at all. wallpaper and ringtones were all i was able to find. no notification bar settings, no compact, no nothing.

Im still using my ICS with no issues... im more thinking ahead for the future, will possibly set a couple of roms aside to try. Its gonna take alot to get used to the much uglier notification area though... maybe ill never have to!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes