Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Can I put my touchwiz.apk on another OS?

OP Pawprints1986

4th September 2014, 06:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Mine came with it now, so i was just wondering what would happen if i were to save those APK's (theres touchwiz itself, touchwiz launcher i think, maybe a couple others) to apply on top of a stock android OS??

Is that possible at all? It would be 4.0.4 style, but that doesnt bother me at all. if its possible that is.
4th September 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag NewYork
Thanks Meter: 6
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawprints1986

Mine came with it now, so i was just wondering what would happen if i were to save those APK's (theres touchwiz itself, touchwiz launcher i think, maybe a couple others) to apply on top of a stock android OS??

Is that possible at all? It would be 4.0.4 style, but that doesnt bother me at all. if its possible that is.

Well, yes you can put your touchwiz.apk to other OS, what its going to do is its going to make you device look like samsung device. These are the launchers used to customize the look of the whole ecosystem and that's is the major reason why people drives away from iOS to the Android ecosystem try using the touchwiz launcher and see your device transform onto samsung.
4th September 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #3  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,846
 
15,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by promo87

Well, yes you can put your touchwiz.apk to other OS, what its going to do is its going to make you device look like samsung device. These are the launchers used to customize the look of the whole ecosystem and that's is the major reason why people drives away from iOS to the Android ecosystem try using the touchwiz launcher and see your device transform onto samsung.

Please do your research before replying.

No it will not work as they need the base touchwiz framework to work properly which stock google doesn't have.

This is the price you pay for running a custom aosp based ROM.
4th September 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Please do your research before replying.

No it will not work as they need the base touchwiz framework to work properly which stock google doesn't have.

This is the price you pay for running a custom aosp based ROM.

Is there some (fairly easy) way to transfer the framework as well?
4th September 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #5  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,846
 
15,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawprints1986

Is there some (fairly easy) way to transfer the framework as well?

No because the frameworks control the whole OS. They are not cross compatible
4th September 2014, 10:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

No because the frameworks control the whole OS. They are not cross compatible

Hmm, in that case, are there mods available to make every part of the stock OS look like the touchwiz OS, including the notification area?? Thats gotta be my biggest thing that i hate about stock. I love the compact 1 page aspect of the touchwiz version.

I know theres a theme for touchwiz, i tried it on another device. but all it changed was the main screens. settings and notification areas stayed stock. That was a total bummer, i thought i found my solution right there...
4th September 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #7  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,846
 
15,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pawprints1986

Hmm, in that case, are there mods available to make every part of the stock OS look like the touchwiz OS, including the notification area?? Thats gotta be my biggest thing that i hate about stock. I love the compact 1 page aspect of the touchwiz version.

I know theres a theme for touchwiz, i tried it on another device. but all it changed was the main screens. settings and notification areas stayed stock. That was a total bummer, i thought i found my solution right there...

Some have a notification setting for the compact tiles but not completely like touch Wiz. I would either get used to not having them or use a stock based ROM. To be honest I would get used to bot having them as with the next update the whole thing is changing again.
5th September 2014, 04:38 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zelendel

Some have a notification setting for the compact tiles but not completely like touch Wiz. I would either get used to not having them or use a stock based ROM. To be honest I would get used to bot having them as with the next update the whole thing is changing again.

Well the one i tried playing with the settings with is the moto G... but there are practically NO customization settings, at all. wallpaper and ringtones were all i was able to find. no notification bar settings, no compact, no nothing.

Im still using my ICS with no issues... im more thinking ahead for the future, will possibly set a couple of roms aside to try. Its gonna take alot to get used to the much uglier notification area though... maybe ill never have to!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes