Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] android 4.4.2 "hosts" file Google Play problem?

OP ryan012

8th August 2014, 03:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I'm on android 4.1.2 rooted LG G2. I had to reset phone after removing root. I then got root again but now Google Play Store was missing. I tried downloading a Google Play .apk and Google Play Services. I edited hosts file and added # in front of second one. It worked for some minutes but stopped.now when I looked at hosts file, it's empty. Now when I open hosts editor app it says error parsing hosts file.
I tried clearing app store and google play services data and cache but it don't work. It's the hosts file that's empty. I took a screenshot of what it was before it went blank. What do I do to fix it ?
8th August 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #2  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 845
 
4,517 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan012

I'm on android 4.1.2 rooted LG G2. I had to reset phone after removing root. I then got root again but now Google Play Store was missing. I tried downloading a Google Play .apk and Google Play Services. I edited hosts file and added # in front of second one. It worked for some minutes but stopped.now when I looked at hosts file, it's empty. Now when I open hosts editor app it says error parsing hosts file.
I tried clearing app store and google play services data and cache but it don't work. It's the hosts file that's empty. I took a screenshot of what it was before it went blank. What do I do to fix it ?

If your not rooted you really can't fix it. What more than likely happened is you somehow created more than 1 Google play file inside the system/app or data/app folders. You need root to remove them

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
8th August 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShapesBlue

If your not rooted you really can't fix it. What more than likely happened is you somehow created more than 1 Google play file inside the system/app or data/app folders. You need root to remove them

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2

I said in the post I got root again after I did factory reset. Now play store isn't working.
What are the file names ? Are you talking about two files the same kind or two .apk files installed ? I tried searching and didn't find anything. earlier I tried uninstalling play services and play store and reinstall one from online. What do I do ? Without reset phone ?
Last edited by ryan012; 8th August 2014 at 04:28 AM.
8th August 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #4  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 845
 
4,517 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan012

I said in the post I got root again after I did factory reset. Now play store isn't working.
What are the file names ? Are you talking about two files the same kind or two .apk files installed ? I tried searching and didn't find anything. earlier I tried uninstalling play services and play store and reinstall one from online. What do I do ? Without reset phone ?

Both. You can also uninstall play services if you'd like. You may have to reset the phone

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to ShapesBlue For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2014, 05:31 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShapesBlue

Both. You can also uninstall play services if you'd like. You may have to reset the phone

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2

I tried moving them to system apps and it hasn't fixed it. Do you know any other way except reset ?
8th August 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #6  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 845
 
4,517 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan012

I tried moving them to system apps and it hasn't fixed it. Do you know any other way except reset ?

Nope I sure don't

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
22nd August 2014, 01:13 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShapesBlue

Nope I sure don't

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2

I had fixed it after reinstalling firmware because after trying something it got stuck on startup and wouldn't start into android.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes