Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[BUG] PlayOn and MX Player

OP ruskastud

7th May 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #11  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,961
 
695 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overground

Then why does the stock player even work?

I am not clear about the that.
There could be some other issues like authentication or session codes.

Does any other player works?


Sent from my SM-G900H using Tapatalk
7th May 2014, 09:06 PM   |  #12  
overground's Avatar
Moderator & Developer Committee / Recognized Developer - xxxda-developers Founder
Flag Oxnard, CA Likes: Los Angeles Lakers Dislikes: Heavy petting zoos
Thanks Meter: 1,301
 
5,349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

I am not clear about the that.
There could be some other issues like authentication or session codes.

Does any other player works?


Sent from my SM-G900H using Tapatalk

Well, I don't have many installed, but an old version of VLC beta will sometimes start the audio stream.
Even that is enough to back out of and use MX just fine (again, on the same video). Very odd.
7th May 2014, 09:10 PM   |  #13  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,961
 
695 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overground

Well, I don't have many installed, but an old version of VLC beta will sometimes start the audio stream.
Even that is enough to back out of and use MX just fine (again, on the same video). Very odd.

If you have problem with vlc too, then the problem should be with play on.

In that case you have to contact play on support....!!!

Sent from my SM-G900H using Tapatalk
7th May 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #14  
overground's Avatar
Moderator & Developer Committee / Recognized Developer - xxxda-developers Founder
Flag Oxnard, CA Likes: Los Angeles Lakers Dislikes: Heavy petting zoos
Thanks Meter: 1,301
 
5,349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

If you have problem with vlc too, then the problem should be with play on.

In that case you have to contact play on support....!!!

Sent from my SM-G900H using Tapatalk

Well I'm not so sure.
At least VLC completes the request and starts the audio. FWIW I haven't really gotten this VLC version to work on anything.

My thinking is, if it works with the stock video player, it should definitely work with MX pro.
8th May 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #15  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
This could be related to one of the known issues that MX has with network playback and (lack of proper) buffering.

Per my List of Bugs thread, it's the top issue on the list:
I know that @bleu8888 is aware of the issue and is working on it, though I'm unsure of his current progress.
The Following User Says Thank You to CDB-Man For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 11:01 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
There is a issue with network authentication on hw+ and sw decoder.
If it only works with hw decoder, it will be this issue.
Please try hw decoder instead.
This is going to be fixed.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bleu8888 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 07:41 PM   |  #17  
overground's Avatar
Moderator & Developer Committee / Recognized Developer - xxxda-developers Founder
Flag Oxnard, CA Likes: Los Angeles Lakers Dislikes: Heavy petting zoos
Thanks Meter: 1,301
 
5,349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bleu8888

There is a issue with network authentication on hw+ and sw decoder.
If it only works with hw decoder, it will be this issue.
Please try hw decoder instead.
This is going to be fixed.

HW decoder always fails "cannot play this video".
SW decoder enabled on network will play only after the video has started in another player, backed out and then reopened in MX.
22nd May 2014, 04:45 AM   |  #18  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bleu8888

There is a issue with network authentication on hw+ and sw decoder.
If it only works with hw decoder, it will be this issue.
Please try hw decoder instead.
This is going to be fixed.

So, what this suggests is that in HW mode where the hardware handles everything from request to decode, there's no problem; however if HW+ or SW where MX is involved anywhere in the process, then the authentication will fail?

Also, is this specific to any device or android version?
26th May 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
There is missing link in hw+ and sw decdoing in network authentication.
As CDB-Man metioned before, it is under development.

The Following User Says Thank You to bleu8888 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes