Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[bug] Resume last played media button is missing

OP bakatrouble

13th June 2014, 01:11 AM   |  #1  
bakatrouble's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Resume last played media button is missing if last played video is from /storage/sdcard1/... folder. Completed videos aren't marked too. (Didn't checked another folders)
It is on its place even if last played media file is same but has another path because of different device mount point (/mnt/ext_sdcard/...)
(Just playing with filtering scanning folders)
OS is Android 4.2.2, PacMan Rom
Device is Huawei U9508
Here's a bug demostration:
Last edited by bakatrouble; 13th June 2014 at 08:15 PM.
13th June 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #2  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 120
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I think MX Player is path specific. I'd recommend changing your defined video folders in your MX settings, so that it only checks 1 mount path of your SD card.
13th June 2014, 12:20 PM   |  #3  
bakatrouble's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I know that it's solution to change video folders
But why it does work for some folders and for some folders it doesn't?
13th June 2014, 12:25 PM   |  #4  
bakatrouble's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
For example, it does appear for "/mnt/sdcard1/Anime/GTO/GTO - 01.avi", but doesn't for "/storage/ext_sdcard/Anime/GTO/GTO - 01.avi".
...while it's more likely to user select the /storage/... folder in settings, because when you open folder selection dialog, opened path is /storage/emulated/0/
13th June 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #5  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palani / Surat
Thanks Meter: 1,957
 
694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakatrouble

For example, it does appear for "/mnt/sdcard1/Anime/GTO/GTO - 01.avi", but doesn't for "/storage/ext_sdcard/Anime/GTO/GTO - 01.avi".
...while it's more likely to user select the /storage/... folder in settings, because when you open folder selection dialog, opened path is /storage/emulated/0/

Have you checked under menu?
13th June 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #6  
bakatrouble's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

Have you checked under menu?

I do know how to fix it, but some others don't.
It think, it's a bug, when you shouldn't select some folders to get this button appear.
Here goes a bug demonstration (screencast):
Last edited by bakatrouble; 13th June 2014 at 08:15 PM.
13th June 2014, 10:22 PM   |  #7  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palani / Surat
Thanks Meter: 1,957
 
694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakatrouble

Resume last played media button is missing if last played video is from /storage/sdcard1/... folder. Completed videos aren't marked too. (Didn't checked another folders)
It is on its place even if last played media file is same but has another path because of different device mount point (/mnt/ext_sdcard/...)
(Just playing with filtering scanning folders)
OS is Android 4.2.2, PacMan Rom
Device is Huawei U9508
Here's a bug demostration:

Yes, I can reproduce the problem.

In my case my external sd card is mounted in /storage/extSdCard. One more location is exists on /mnt/extSdCard which is actually a link not a mount point. But, real path of the file will be /storage/extSdCard/*

When MX Player scans, it saves the real path to avoid file duplicate file listing.

when you set to scan only /mnt/extSdCard on video folders it will list file. But the file state is saved with the real path. Since it's outside of folder to be scanned it will be ignored & resume button will be hidden. As you add /storage/extSdCard to the list resume button will back.

It's because of lack of standardisation in mount point & unnecessary link of mount points across OEMs.

So, you have to be careful when selecting folders.

There are some workarounds that can fix the issue. I will discuss it with the developer. If you have any suggestions, it's highly appreciable.

I have attached the logs collected with mx log collector.

@bleu8888
Can you confirm my statement?

Sent from my Galaxy S5 using Tapatalk
Attached Files
File Type: zip log.txt.zip - [Click for QR Code] (45.0 KB, 0 views)
Last edited by ktsamy; 13th June 2014 at 10:29 PM.
13th June 2014, 11:09 PM   |  #8  
bakatrouble's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
About suggestions...
For example, QuickPic doesn't show these links in Explorer mode (there is only "emulated" folder in /storage/), but it may produce some troubles for users, I think.
16th June 2014, 10:36 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakatrouble

I do know how to fix it, but some others don't.
It think, it's a bug, when you shouldn't select some folders to get this button appear.
Here goes a bug demonstration (screencast):

Please try latest test build from following link:
https://sites.google.com/site/mxvpen...ion/test-build

Feedback will be appreciated.
Thanks
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bleu8888 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 06:33 AM   |  #10  
bakatrouble's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Media state saving is correct in this test build for every link/mount point, thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes