Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Feature Request] RTMP support

OP M132

9th July 2014, 02:35 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Hello!

Actually there are no video players for Android, that would support Adobe's RTMP protocol, which is used to do almost every live stream playable with Flash Player (eg. YouTube, Justin.tv, Ustream, etc.). As MX Player's base, FFmpeg already supports librtmp, adding RTMP support is just a matter of one switch passed to configure script. Is it possible to see this feature in next MX Player version?
The Following User Says Thank You to M132 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th July 2014, 04:17 AM   |  #2  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I thought MX could already handle those formats? Unless their streaming protocols changed again without us noticing...
13th July 2014, 06:11 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDB-Man

I thought MX could already handle those formats? Unless their streaming protocols changed again without us noticing...

MX Player supports formats streamable by RTMP such as FLV container, H.264, Sorenson H.263 video codecs, AAC, Nellymoser audio codecs, etc. but doesn't support RTMP itself. Try to open any "rtmp://" URI with MX Player, you'll get an error message.
13th July 2014, 06:20 AM   |  #4  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Ah, so that's what you mean. Well, wait and see what the developer replies.
18th August 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDB-Man

Ah, so that's what you mean. Well, wait and see what the developer replies.

So... will the developer ever read this?
19th August 2014, 08:22 AM   |  #6  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M132

So... will the developer ever read this?

I guess this thread got missed. Either way, it's bumped now.
23rd August 2014, 07:09 AM   |  #7  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
@bleu8888
23rd August 2014, 09:16 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by M132

So... will the developer ever read this?

Actually I do not have many words to say about networking issue. MX does not have its own network routine but just use ffmpegs. And it has so many limiations.
We are going to improve networking in the futuer.
Thanks

The Following User Says Thank You to bleu8888 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes