Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,801 Members 40,197 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Feature Request] Sony Xperia M2/MS8926 SoC: H/W+ with 10bit videos

Tip us?

Crim Soukyuu
Old
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [Feature Request] Sony Xperia M2/MS8926 SoC: H/W+ with 10bit videos

I've been a happy MX Player Pro user on my Nexus 7 tablet for a few years now, but it was time to finally get a smartphone, so I "upgraded". Now I can't seem to get the H/W+ or any hardware acceleration working with 10Bit h264 videos on this Xperia M2. 8Bit is fine.

Since H/W+ works with 8Bit, the SoC (Qualcomm MSM8926 Snapdragon 400) seems to be compatible with it. Can H/W+ for 10Bit be enabled in a future update like it was for the old Nexus 7? I don't mind the decoding artifacts, I just don't want to have to transcode video for my mobile devices again.

CDB-Man
Old
Thanks Meter 78
The reason why you could use HW+ on the old Nexus 7 was because it used a Nvidia Tegra core. Somehow, the developer was able to get some hardware support for 10-bit videos on Tegra devices.

Long story short, 10-bit hardware support is impossible on anything else. You will have to use the SW decoder.
MX Player sub-forum Moderator; Primary User Support
MX Player Sub-forum
Welcome thread and FAQ -- Feature Requests list
Please hit Thanks when someone helps you out!

The Developer/Owner of MX Player is bleu8888. Please post a thread in the MX Player sub-forum for support.
For bugs or glitches, always include an MX Log Collector report.

I do not answer MX Player questions in PM. Post a thread in the MX Player sub-forum for support.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CDB-Man For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

Crim Soukyuu
Old
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0