Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Feature Request] Widget

OP HokutoNoFred

5th June 2014, 11:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Hello

I use MX player for a few years now and I think it really miss a widget feature.

Something like the Samsung Video widget.

It would allow to simply start/resume the current video playback, directly from the homescreen.

Would it be possible to add this feature to MX Player?
Maybe on the Pro version?

Regards.
7th June 2014, 06:50 AM   |  #2  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Right now, the closest you can get to that is opening the app, and using the Play button at the top of the video menu screen.

If you really want a home screen play button to cut out that one step, an interim fix would be Tasker.
7th June 2014, 01:43 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I see what you mean, but this method is quite similar to the usual practice :
- opening of MX Player app
- launching of the video (from the "play" bouton that you mentioned, or by clicking the video name in the files list)

The widget allows to resume the video with only one action, directly from the homescreen.

More over, the widget can provide informations about the current video (title/episode number, elapsed time,...).

Something like the Samsung Video widget here under :



Regards

Envoyé de mon SM-N9005 en utilisant Tapatalk
13th June 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
A little "UP" to celebrate the 100th reading of my suggestion. :P

Envoyé de mon SM-N9005 en utilisant Tapatalk
Last edited by HokutoNoFred; 13th June 2014 at 10:48 PM.
21st July 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Still hoping to get a video widget for MX Player...
22nd July 2014, 06:19 AM   |  #6  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
This was already recorded on the Feature Requests list even on the old forum; bumping this won't make any more difference unless there's more details to add.

For reference, link to old forum topic on this request: https://groups.google.com/d/topic/mx...XkY/discussion
23rd July 2014, 10:02 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I did not know that my request on the old forum was recorded in a "Request List".
Thanks for the information.
24th July 2014, 06:02 AM   |  #8  
CDB-Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
507 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokutoNoFred

I did not know that my request on the old forum was recorded in a "Request List".
Thanks for the information.

Maybe you should spend more time researching first :P

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes