Microsoft To Invest in Cyanogen’s Future OS War?

Reports indicate that Microsoft is investing inthe rogue Android forker Cyanogen. The … more

Microsoft Releases Final Builds of Office for Android

Late last year, Microsoft released a preview of Office for Android, initially as an … more

Samsung Cutting Bloat, Trimming TouchWiz

Reports keep iterating over the rumors that Samsung has been trimming down TouchWiz for its upcoming … more

Google Giving Away Inbox Invites for the Next 24 Hours

Google’s biggest email rethink since the launch of Gmail, Inbox, was launched as … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Resume after long pause when playing SMB MKV

OP ChungHung.Chen

13th August 2014, 04:37 AM   |  #1  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 176
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.
Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 13th August 2014 at 05:41 AM.
13th August 2014, 10:39 AM   |  #2  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,143
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen

Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.

It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #3  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 176
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.

I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?
Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 14th August 2014 at 03:15 AM.
14th August 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #4  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,143
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen

I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file in MX through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?

Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #5  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 176
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.

Got it, I'll try FX File Explorer tonight and report back here.
Thanks for your tip.
15th August 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #6  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 176
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Hi @ktsamy,
I've tested FX last night and it doing well.
But MX player can't resume from FX.
Every time I start a file from FX it will start from beginning.
Could you help to verify this?
MX from ES can resume playing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes