Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,480 Members 53,525 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Resume after long pause when playing SMB MKV

Tip us?
 
ChungHung.Chen
Old
(Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 13th August 2014 at 04:41 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 286
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: HsinChu
Default Resume after long pause when playing SMB MKV

Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.
BR,
Chung-Hung Chen
== XT910 CM11 ==
 
ktsamy
Old
#2  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,510
Posts: 468
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Palani / Surat

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen View Post
Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.
It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.
Regards,
KTSamy


Hit Thanks if I helped
We are spending our valuable time for you without any cost.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ChungHung.Chen
Old
(Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 14th August 2014 at 02:15 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 286
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: HsinChu
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy View Post
It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.
I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?
BR,
Chung-Hung Chen
== XT910 CM11 ==
 
ktsamy
Old
#4  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,510
Posts: 468
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Palani / Surat

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen View Post
I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file in MX through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?
Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.
Regards,
KTSamy


Hit Thanks if I helped
We are spending our valuable time for you without any cost.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ChungHung.Chen
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 286
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: HsinChu
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy View Post
Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.
Got it, I'll try FX File Explorer tonight and report back here.
Thanks for your tip.
BR,
Chung-Hung Chen
== XT910 CM11 ==
 
ChungHung.Chen
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 286
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: HsinChu
Hi @ktsamy,
I've tested FX last night and it doing well.
But MX player can't resume from FX.
Every time I start a file from FX it will start from beginning.
Could you help to verify this?
MX from ES can resume playing.
BR,
Chung-Hung Chen
== XT910 CM11 ==
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more