FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

Resume after long pause when playing SMB MKV

405 posts
Thanks Meter: 214
 
By ChungHung.Chen, Senior Member on 13th August 2014, 03:37 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.
Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 13th August 2014 at 04:41 AM.
 
 
13th August 2014, 09:39 AM |#2  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,542
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen

Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.

It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2014, 01:41 AM |#3  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.

I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?
Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 14th August 2014 at 02:15 AM.
14th August 2014, 02:16 AM |#4  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,542
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen

I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file in MX through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?

Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2014, 02:34 AM |#5  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.

Got it, I'll try FX File Explorer tonight and report back here.
Thanks for your tip.
15th August 2014, 01:28 AM |#6  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Hi @ktsamy,
I've tested FX last night and it doing well.
But MX player can't resume from FX.
Every time I start a file from FX it will start from beginning.
Could you help to verify this?
MX from ES can resume playing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes