Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

Resume after long pause when playing SMB MKV

OP ChungHung.Chen

13th August 2014, 03:37 AM   |  #1  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 106
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.
Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 13th August 2014 at 04:41 AM.
13th August 2014, 09:39 AM   |  #2  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palani / Surat
Thanks Meter: 1,596
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen

Dear Devs,
I've encountered a strange behavior when I playing MKV file from SMB through ES File Explorer. MX Player begin playing fine with HW/HW+, but when I pause for a long time, for example: receiving a call for 5 minutes or longer, MX Player can't resume smoothly. It start lagging, and freezing in both video and audio more than 2 minutes. But if I press back and re-tap file from ES File Explorer to resume, MX Player resumes in few seconds.
I don't know if this is normal and could MX Log collector can get some logs? If need log or media info, I will try to get them when I come home tonight.

It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2014, 01:41 AM   |  #3  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 106
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

It's a known issue with the ES file explorer. There is a pocket drop. Can you try any other apps which can stream?

I personally use FX file explorer or BubbleUPnP & never had such issues.

I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?
Last edited by ChungHung.Chen; 14th August 2014 at 02:15 AM.
14th August 2014, 02:16 AM   |  #4  
ktsamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palani / Surat
Thanks Meter: 1,596
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChungHung.Chen

I can't find SMB connection in FX File Explorer, does SMB in PLUS addon?

Does MX player have internal SMB protocol support?
When playing SMB file in MX through ES, data comes to MX through ES's SMB protocol?
That's why the ES cause the lag, right?

Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.
The Following User Says Thank You to ktsamy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th August 2014, 02:34 AM   |  #5  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 106
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktsamy

Yes. ES uses it's SMB protocol & stream the video using localhost url.

Fx needs plus add on for network features.

Got it, I'll try FX File Explorer tonight and report back here.
Thanks for your tip.
15th August 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #6  
ChungHung.Chen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag HsinChu
Thanks Meter: 106
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Hi @ktsamy,
I've tested FX last night and it doing well.
But MX player can't resume from FX.
Every time I start a file from FX it will start from beginning.
Could you help to verify this?
MX from ES can resume playing.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes