View Full Version : [EXPOSED] Selling XDA code on eBay?
vp3G
3rd May 2007, 12:24 AM
eBay: Unlock your Cingular 8525 Works on all bootloaders (http://cgi.ebay.com/Unlock-your-Cingular-8525-Works-on-all-bootloaders_W0QQitemZ190106897014QQihZ009QQcategor yZ115054QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
Seller is quite obviously an XDA member (http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=471029).
EDIT: Guessing this (http://cgi.ebay.com/Unlock-Seimens-SX66-SX-66-xda-II-mda-qtek_W0QQitemZ190106908222QQihZ009QQcategoryZ11505 4QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) is "public domain" stuff from XDA, too...
Oppressa
3rd May 2007, 03:08 AM
Man, that member's website is dodgy! LOL
shogunmark
3rd May 2007, 06:28 AM
I think the thing i like best about his website is this:
Special Discounts for Teachers & Military, Firemen & Police, Rabbis & Ministers*
But then it gets better.. at the bottom of the page it states this:
* In this offer, the word "Ministers" should only be considered as referring to Christian Ministers. This offer decidedly does not extend to Mormons, Jehovah's Witnesses or Muslim.
http://www.landjtech.com/special.html
.............. :eek:
aint nothing better than close minded racist people.. the only thing missing from his website is the rebel flag... lol
vp3G
3rd May 2007, 07:17 AM
:eek: ...
Ironically, he offers the following "defense":
Do you know why you can reprint the King James Bible for sale, all day long, in all fifty states and most foreign countries? Because it is in Public Domain. All you have to do to be able to LEGALLY profit from it is to get a copy, make a copy and sell a copy.
:rolleyes:
tallshorty
3rd May 2007, 08:24 AM
This just PISSES me off! :mad:
He shows no respect towards the developers who worked hard on these programs!
Shamanix
3rd May 2007, 09:55 AM
OMFG!!!! This is too pathetic to be true !!!!! :eek: :rolleyes:
Where is my flamethrower !? :confused: :D
m15chief
3rd May 2007, 12:20 PM
did anyone notice the email, phone number and home address on the resume posted on his website? ;-) I wonder if he'd appreciate jehova, mormon and muslim spam posted to him ?
I think the thing i like best about his website is this:
Special Discounts for Teachers & Military, Firemen & Police, Rabbis & Ministers*
But then it gets better.. at the bottom of the page it states this:
* In this offer, the word "Ministers" should only be considered as referring to Christian Ministers. This offer decidedly does not extend to Mormons, Jehovah's Witnesses or Muslim.
http://www.landjtech.com/special.html
.............. :eek:
aint nothing better than close minded racist people.. the only thing missing from his website is the rebel flag... lol
vijay555
3rd May 2007, 12:24 PM
You know, that page is actually worse then the examples of worst web page ever.
http://www.angelfire.com/super/badwebs/main.htm
My eyes, they burn!
V
Karzi
3rd May 2007, 01:24 PM
wow that really is something else.
Phone numbers on there too.
The website reminds me of the sites online in the mid 90's with flashing gifs e.t.c
progmode
3rd May 2007, 01:30 PM
I think the thing i like best about his website is this:
Special Discounts for Teachers & Military, Firemen & Police, Rabbis & Ministers*
But then it gets better.. at the bottom of the page it states this:
* In this offer, the word "Ministers" should only be considered as referring to Christian Ministers. This offer decidedly does not extend to Mormons, Jehovah's Witnesses or Muslim.
http://www.landjtech.com/special.html
.............. :eek:
aint nothing better than close minded racist people.. the only thing missing from his website is the rebel flag... lol
In all fairness (I didn't look at his website) what you quoted isn't racism. It's bigotry, no doubt, but I don't see anything specific to race.
Anyway, what a tool. You can tell his plan was well thought out. :rolleyes:
shogunmark
3rd May 2007, 02:36 PM
In all fairness (I didn't look at his website) what you quoted isn't racism. It's bigotry, no doubt, but I don't see anything specific to race.
Anyway, what a tool. You can tell his plan was well thought out. :rolleyes:
Bigot... thats the word i was looking for, but couldnt think of last night.. it was late.. :D
DocSoton
21st July 2007, 10:45 PM
Is this another one....
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UNLOCK-O2-XDA-TRION-MDA-Vario-2-SPV-M3100-UP2DATED_W0QQitemZ110149496465QQihZ001QQcategoryZ4 5586QQcmdZViewItem
This claim is made
Please Note
The software used to unlock the phone is Copyright to ICB NetSoultions, and is freely available from their web site. I do not provide this software directly. What you are buying is Help and Technical support to enable you to unlock your phone to enable you to use any sim card.
Notice to Ebay
According to ICB NetSolutions' terms and conditions I have advised them of this listing. I am not suppling any of their products directly. The statement below is from their terms and conditions:
"Inetmedia solutions data products may also be included in a 'kit' or other such promotion - in that case, written notification should be given at the email address provided above and copyright statements included on any repackaging of the product"
Is any of this correct...
The reason I ask, and ok, I did fall for it, before I knew a bit more about the unlocker from this site.. I thought it was an alternative method, and it was v3 of the very same software!!!
Some advice would be appreciated......
Madcap180
21st July 2007, 11:05 PM
The king james bible IS NOT signed by a publisher or author, which is WHY it can be redistributed.. however, software contains signatures by the developer.
MikeChannon
21st July 2007, 11:25 PM
Is this another one....
This claim is made
Is any of this correct...
The reason I ask, and ok, I did fall for it, before I knew a bit more about the unlocker from this site.. I thought it was an alternative method, and it was v3 of the very same software!!!
Some advice would be appreciated......
Inetmediasolutions is a dodgy VERO holder - see here:
http://www.auctionbites.com/forum/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=6493168&highlight=&sid=548597d561b59177b0e4fbc910481bf5#6493168 (http://www.auctionbites.com/forum/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=6493168&highlight=&sid=548597d561b59177b0e4fbc910481bf5#6493168)
It seems someonelse tied together a lot of unlockers and made them freely available. So the question is - did this guy pinch from us or him? In the end of course the development originated here.
Go ahead and report it to e-bay folks.
Mike
This guy has posted all over:
http://www.dlbz.net/UNLOCK-CINGULAR-8525-FAST,i110131936748,c43312.html (http://www.dlbz.net/UNLOCK-CINGULAR-8525-FAST,i110131936748,c43312.html)
http://cgi.ebay.ie/UNLOCK-YOUR-T-MOBILE-MDA-COMPACT-II-2-SIM-UNLOCK_W0QQitemZ110149496255QQihZ001QQcategoryZ455 86QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.ie/UNLOCK-YOUR-T-MOBILE-MDA-COMPACT-II-2-SIM-UNLOCK_W0QQitemZ110149496255QQihZ001QQcategoryZ455 86QQcmdZViewItem)
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UNLOCK-YOUR-QTek-9100-I-Mate-K-jam-New-Update_W0QQitemZ110147293210QQihZ001QQcategoryZ455 86QQcmdZViewItem (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UNLOCK-YOUR-QTek-9100-I-Mate-K-jam-New-Update_W0QQitemZ110147293210QQihZ001QQcategoryZ455 86QQcmdZViewItem)
http://www.dlbz.net/UNLOCK-YOUR-CINGULAR-8125,i110131937618,c43312.html (http://www.dlbz.net/UNLOCK-YOUR-CINGULAR-8125,i110131937618,c43312.html)
bapski
22nd July 2007, 12:24 AM
what a shame... well, i do believe in bad karma...
maevro
22nd July 2007, 12:37 AM
what a shame... well, i do believe in bad karma...
Exactly, I do also. I busted a guy trying to do the same thing on craigslist a few months ago and he stopped.
I think this guy went to the Helen Keller school for web design.
hiimcliff
22nd July 2007, 12:48 AM
if that company has it copyrighted and you can prove that you created it first you have a law suite. i dont know how microsoft or htc would react. :o
trashcan
22nd July 2007, 06:53 PM
if that company has it copyrighted and you can prove that you created it first you have a law suite. i dont know how microsoft or htc would react. :o
HTC / Microsoft won't do anything and if they really do, the would go after XDA first that's because the program is developed by XDA.
ljinsane
22nd July 2007, 07:26 PM
eBay: Unlock your Cingular 8525 Works on all bootloaders (http://cgi.ebay.com/Unlock-your-Cingular-8525-Works-on-all-bootloaders_W0QQitemZ190106897014QQihZ009QQcategor yZ115054QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)
Seller is quite obviously an XDA member (http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=471029).
EDIT: Guessing this (http://cgi.ebay.com/Unlock-Seimens-SX66-SX-66-xda-II-mda-qtek_W0QQitemZ190106908222QQihZ009QQcategoryZ11505 4QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) is "public domain" stuff from XDA, too...
his IP should be banned:mad:
i have also seen people try to sell xda unlock code on craigslist
wpbear
23rd July 2007, 05:30 PM
I think a GOOD PERMANENT BAN is in order!
Kevbodian
23rd July 2007, 07:59 PM
funny, if you click his feedback he is selling themes he *made or *found of actresses. I guess that's public domain too. Or I guess they wouldnt care if someone was making $5 off of their pictures.
Also, I noticed that on every single auction that this Keith Thomas Jenkins has written, there are TERRIBLE spelling and grammar errors throughout. I wouldn't purchase from anyone who has such terrible grammar and such an ugly webpage. I don't care is he is *OLD_SCHOOL Windows 3.something or not.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.