View Full Version : Someone is trying to make money out of the work being done here
heliod
13th August 2007, 10:21 AM
I was stunned to see that the utility being distributed at
http://www.e-junkie.com/shop/product/35995.php
after you pay $3.95 is the same lokiwiz developed here.
the developers should request royalties......
vijay555
13th August 2007, 01:37 PM
I have written to the company. I suggest everyone else who can be bother also spam them until they remove the advert. I'm not optimistic, but let's try.
This software is stolen:
http://www.e-junkie.com/shop/product/35995.php
It is a free application being sold for profit. Please remove this inappropriate posting.
The free version can be found here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=249474&highlight=lokiwiz
If you do not remove the post, please modify it to show that it can be downloaded freely.
V(moderator at www.xda-developers.com (http://www.xda-developers.com/))
mikaarce
13th August 2007, 01:44 PM
this kind of people are the ones we should get rid out of the forums, but then agaiin we dont have the capability to do this, this is sad!
hanmin
13th August 2007, 01:46 PM
OMG! He is selling it on eBay too
http://search.ebay.com.au/_W0QQsassZevosevo
What the heck is "Federal Register Document 65 FR 64555"? Stated at the bottom of his add "Based upon the Federal Anticircumvention ruling of October 27, 2006 this process is completely legal & is not in violation of any law or ebay policy. You may review this ruling on the Federal Register of the US Copyright Office.
Federal Register Document 65 FR 64555"
UPDATE: Ok, I've got the doc here
http://www.copyright.gov/fedreg/2000/65fr64555.pdf
From that it seems, he even had the date wrong, it is 2000 not 2006. And, from what I can understand (a non-law person), it said that anyone who wish to restrict the other person from distributing any copyright materials, should produce enough proofs to do so.
UPDATE: I'm reporting it as being OEM software and Beta state (e.g. the unlocker, as they are always in 0.X), which is not allowed in eBay.
In the previous case, we did successfully bring down a eBay lister. All you need to do is just report it! Help, go login eBay and report this seller
http://myworld.ebay.com.au/evosevo/
UPDATE: I've reported him on ejunkies as well. I've attacked him on the other stuff he is selling like the 2003 upgrades which includes Outlook, e-Wallet, and Dashboard which is obviously copyright materials.
alecoddlyiv
13th August 2007, 01:53 PM
according to ebays vero policy if the intellectual rights owner was to report that this person did not have permission to sell & distribute the s/w ebay would be obliged to remove the listing but only the creator would have the ability to do this.
that said if the s/w is made available under the GNU open source something or other then technically there is nothing that can be done about it, technically......
anyone can still report the items as being an illegal compilation distributed on cd-r or electronically although this can become tedious when ebay do nothing for weeks at a time
Binder
13th August 2007, 11:11 PM
Here's (http://gsm-telecom.marktplaats.nl/mobiele-telefoons-overige-merken/109052802-uw-smartphone-pocket-pc-met-windows-mobile-6.html)someone on dutch ebay trying to sell wm6, don't know how they got it and who's it is though.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.