PDA

View Full Version : Thiefs who steal and sell freeware from XDA devs.


hendrixus
22nd November 2008, 06:44 PM
I wrote the thiefs(iphonethemeforpocketpc), see my sig.I took the sig from "Blazingwolf"

They responded as follows:

"Hello,



In regards to your thoughts.



A theme can be developed by anyone. It might look the same but we developed our own and take pride in our developments.



Thank you for your concerns.



Best Regards,



Sales Department

iPhone Theme For Pocket PC

www.iPhoneThemeForPocketPC.com"

hendrixus
22nd November 2008, 07:05 PM
Another one, of the same http://www.myiphonetheme.com/
See the testimonials!

hazeline
23rd November 2008, 12:32 PM
:mad:Omg, they even posted icontact....... scammers, they had the same desgin too. Earn dirty money ppl.

maskrider2001
23rd November 2008, 02:31 PM
I D I O T!

tekoholix
23rd November 2008, 05:27 PM
I D I O T!

Or, ID10T, so they can't even figure out what you're calling them...

hendrixus
23rd November 2008, 05:51 PM
The other I.D.I.O.T is http://www.web-resort.com/

They also advertise on youtube with "their" (read xda devs) products.

More on those "companies" incl the registrar
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=2631201&postcount=242

It also was reported here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=391936)

cPT.cAPSLOCK
19th March 2009, 07:36 PM
I've grabbed http://www.iphonethemeforpocketpc.com's information trough whois.net and found it's hosted at hostmonster.net. You can contact them trough abuse@hostmonster.net and report it.

The problem is that http://www.myiphonetheme.com/ has found a way to bypass WhoIs.net :
-----------
Domain Name: myiphonetheme.com
Expiry Date: 01-Oct-2009
Creation Date: 01-Oct-2007

Name servers:
ns1.hostmonster.com
ns2.hostmonster.com

Registrant Name: Whois Manager
Registrant Company: Whois Proof LLP
Registrant Email Address: pa6zr9jkv@whoisproof.com
Registrant Address: PO Box 4120
Registrant City: Portland
Registrant State/Region/Province: OR
Registrant Postal Code: 97208-4120
Registrant Country: US
Registrant Tel No: +1.2024700599
Registrant Fax No: +1.8663666681
-----------

So, we can't report it's hoster. However, I've mailed to the info address asking where he hosted it. Hope he'll tell me.

Spalla
19th March 2009, 08:02 PM
Stupid scammers, hope they get banned.

AKMark
19th March 2009, 11:15 PM
IP address: 74.220.207.187
Host name: host187.hostmonster.com
74.220.207.187 is from United States(US) in region North America

Hostmonster is the host. What you don't have is the person responsible for the website registration.

tsowen
20th March 2009, 03:24 AM
There are a lot of people who will do anything to make a quick dollar even if its off of someone else's work which is sad. Its a shame that A_C has put some much time and effort into this program and provides it for free and these people are trying to earn a profit off of his hardwork. Truly sad! :mad: