PDA

View Full Version : XDA site Malware Warning


aameerp
31st January 2009, 03:40 PM
I'm getting a malware warning when accessing this site through Google, or when using the search feature - which is powered by Google.


???

Junner2003
31st January 2009, 03:45 PM
Are you using TREND MICRO or AVG? Quite common on them!

Maedhros
31st January 2009, 03:56 PM
I get the exact same thing. When I search for XDA using google, it says this site may harm your computer, and I can not access XDA through google, I have to manually enter the URL. Just started today.

-PiLoT-
31st January 2009, 04:09 PM
google is doing it to everysite as of now i dont know why though

Heykrop
31st January 2009, 04:27 PM
Google triggers a warning when their site has scanned a domain and has determined that there are threats coming from that site in one way or another. It has nothing to do with the AV package you may be running.

Apparently something is not good. Could be anything from a file hosted on the site to an advertising banner that is distributing spyware etc..

aameerp
31st January 2009, 08:48 PM
It was a bug, on Google's side - I realised soon aftwerwards when using Opera (in which I use Cuil as the search provider) - everything accessed through Google triggered malware alerts.
more about it on PC World:

http://www.pcworld.com/article/158693/article.html?tk=nl_dnxnws