Post Reply

[Q] Root for MT2.L05

OP janrck

9th September 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnclarkson

i have written the step herehttp://androidteen.com/huawei-ascend...4g-root-guide/.


Sent from my HUAWEI MT2-L05 using XDA Free mobile app

Is there anyway to verify that unlocking the bootloader was successful?
10th September 2014, 06:34 AM   |  #22  
ScoobSTi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC, New York
Thanks Meter: 55
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomlemange

Is there anyway to verify that unlocking the bootloader was successful?

If you boot into the bootloader, it tells you whether or not it is unlocked.

Sent from my MT2L03 using XDA Free mobile app
21st September 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobSTi

If you boot into the bootloader, it tells you whether or not it is unlocked.

Sent from my MT2L03 using XDA Free mobile app

Does this means my bootloader is unlocked?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg unlock.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (9.9 KB, 28 views)
21st September 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #24  
ScoobSTi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC, New York
Thanks Meter: 55
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpion

Does this means my bootloader is unlocked?

I'm pretty sure it does! I think my fastboot looks different from yours for some reason, but I hope it still means the same thing.
21st September 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobSTi

I'm pretty sure it does! I think my fastboot looks different from yours for some reason, but I hope it still means the same thing.

cos i was trying to unlock it with the listed methods but nothing worked...

1.Using the toolkit gives me an error return ( I think it says "type_error" )

2. Towel root 3.0 says my device not supported..

3. Root genius rebooted my phone afew times and says its rooted but I tried to verify with root checker, it says it in not..

4. I had previously rooted when I was on 4.2.2 and have superuser installed but it does nothing now.

Currently on 4.4.2 MT2-L05 official.

I am lost..
21st September 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #26  
Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpion

cos i was trying to unlock it with the listed methods but nothing worked...

1.Using the toolkit gives me an error return ( I think it says "type_error" )

2. Towel root 3.0 says my device not supported..

3. Root genius rebooted my phone afew times and says its rooted but I tried to verify with root checker, it says it in not..

4. I had previously rooted when I was on 4.2.2 and have superuser installed but it does nothing now.

Currently on 4.4.2 MT2-L05 official.

I am lost..

The toolkit doesn't work anymore.

Read this :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/asce...iants-t2881042
21st September 2014, 06:09 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4L0M

The toolkit doesn't work anymore.

Read this :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/asce...iants-t2881042

Thanks for the reply. I was rooted on 4.2.2 with Eroot and superuser was installed. After updating to 4.4.2, root doesnt work anymore and I am stuck with superuser. Not sure if this matters.... Had tried using rootgenius but doesnt seems to work...
21st September 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #28  
Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
What version of root genius are you using? 1.8.7 Will not work.

Only the version of Root genius 2.0.1.3 posted in the link above worked for me on 4.4.2 MT2-L05
21st September 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4L0M

What version of root genius are you using? 1.8.7 Will not work.

Only the version of Root genius 2.0.1.3 posted in the link above worked for me on 4.4.2 MT2-L05

I cant get the previous version of superuser(Clockwork) to uninstall, its installed as a system app.. I am going to start fresh, hard reset and try again.

Btw, u manage to get contacts to sync? On 4.2.2 I installed contactsync adapter to system so that it will work. On KK, I am a little afraid that might fail..

Update: Nope... hardreset doesnt work either. Root Genius installs Superuser but i am still not rooted..
Last edited by scpion; 21st September 2014 at 07:14 PM.
21st September 2014, 11:31 PM   |  #30  
Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpion

I cant get the previous version of superuser(Clockwork) to uninstall, its installed as a system app.. I am going to start fresh, hard reset and try again.

Btw, u manage to get contacts to sync? On 4.2.2 I installed contactsync adapter to system so that it will work. On KK, I am a little afraid that might fail..

Update: Nope... hardreset doesnt work either. Root Genius installs Superuser but i am still not rooted..

That was the same Bootloader screen shown on your image as I had when I fast booted into fastboot for the first time.

It may say Bootloader unlocked, but I assure you that it's not if you have updated to 4.4.2

You HAVE to boot into fast boot again and enter your 16 digit unlock code to unlock the Bootloader. The root genius 2.0.1.3 will then root your phone and install supersu. If you don't enter your unlock code, you will not be rooted.

Just for clarity, on 4.2.2 I didn't need to unlock Bootloader........ 4.4.2 you DEFINITELY have to first.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes