MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

[Q] How to get HDMI-out functioning? Atrix HD

17th August 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
I got an adapter for the HDMI outlet. When I use it to connect the phone to tv or monitor, the big screen says no signal.

When attached, the phone does rotate the home screen, which it does not do normally, so I think that the adapter is working.

I have Cyanogenmod android 4.4.4. There are no settings for hdmi, no Overscan like stock OS (there is only Expanded Desktop, whatever that is).

Is there some setting I have overlooked? Is there something else I should do to get the signal out to the monitor? Is my adapter not working?

Thanks
17th August 2014, 08:08 PM   |  #2  
Dr. Orange's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
It works for me using CarbonROM 08/04 build using an HDMI to micro HDMI adapter. Also there aren't any settings because I think only atrix HD and maybe a couple others have an HDMI out port. Did you get a Motorola factory micro HDMI to HDMI cable? Or did you buy an adapter like mine?
17th August 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
I have the small adapter, no cord.
17th August 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Joćo Pessoa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
I bought an adapter from ebay, the cheapest i could find, and it works no problem with one of my hdmi cable, i have a longer one that stays with no signal, test a different cable.
18th August 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
When you plug the cable and adapter into the phone, does the monitor just blink on and show the phone screen?

Also, does the phone's home screen only rotate after being plugged into the monitor? (like mine does)

My cables to the tv and monitor definitely work. The adapter might not, but its affecting the home screen rotation makes me think it does work; then maybe Cyanogenmod or Android 4.4.4 doesn't work.
Last edited by interestor; 18th August 2014 at 01:32 AM.
18th August 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Walton Beach
Thanks Meter: 567
 
1,608 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by interestor

I got an adapter for the HDMI outlet. When I use it to connect the phone to tv or monitor, the big screen says no signal.

When attached, the phone does rotate the home screen, which it does not do normally, so I think that the adapter is working.

I have Cyanogenmod android 4.4.4. There are no settings for hdmi, no Overscan like stock OS (there is only Expanded Desktop, whatever that is).

Is there some setting I have overlooked? Is there something else I should do to get the signal out to the monitor? Is my adapter not working?

Thanks

The adapter should be working based off of what you described. I'm sitting on the 20140102 revision of 4.3.1 and I see the same thing on my device. Only difference is that I do get a signal. No HDMI option in any menu present. Expanded Desktop is full screen mode and should be used with a BT mouse or Pie. I don't believe there is anything you have overlooked, but then again I have yet to really start playing with KK on my daily device (currently running stable version on DX and alpha version on A4G)
19th August 2014, 01:49 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Thanks for the inputs.

Whoop, I see I actually have Android 4.4.2 if that matters.
I have Cyanogenmod 11.0-20140109

I would like to hear if anyone uses either of these and hdmi.
21st August 2014, 06:37 AM   |  #8  
techdeisel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I only have lap dock to connect to but I also get no signal blinking screen on all ROMs I've tried except for stock based I even tried Dr orange's suggested 8/4 carbon build

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes