Post Reply

S5 for ATT newbish questions

OP draexo

19th August 2014, 06:51 PM   |  #1  
draexo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Myrtle Beach, SC , USA
Thanks Meter: 103
 
830 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I'm a current S3 Verizon owner. I'd like to switch to ATT. I'm just checking. Sounds like we have root but must use safestrap for custom ROMs. Sounds like the Active flavor is completely different firmware and has no or little support.

I'm switching due to signal at home. My friends with ATT get great signal and I get hardly any. Seems I'm in a small area with little Verizon coverage.
19th August 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #2  
UnhoIy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 124
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by draexo

I'm a current S3 Verizon owner. I'd like to switch to ATT. I'm just checking. Sounds like we have root but must use safestrap for custom ROMs. Sounds like the Active flavor is completely different firmware and has no or little support.

I'm switching due to signal at home. My friends with ATT get great signal and I get hardly any. Seems I'm in a small area with little Verizon coverage.

If you're running your S3 with a custom ROM that's not TouchWiz based, you'll hate this phone. If you are using stock based, you'll love this phone. I, for one, decided to pass this S5 to my mother and got a Nexus 5.
19th August 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #3  
gregsarg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag B.F.E.
Thanks Meter: 3,632
 
4,333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by draexo

I'm a current S3 Verizon owner. I'd like to switch to ATT. I'm just checking. Sounds like we have root but must use safestrap for custom ROMs. Sounds like the Active flavor is completely different firmware and has no or little support.

I'm switching due to signal at home. My friends with ATT get great signal and I get hardly any. Seems I'm in a small area with little Verizon coverage.

Very true regarding limited support for the active...
However...a better device would be tough to find IMHO...
If you are a crack flasher looking for AOSP nightly builds...then the s5 will make you wait...

I'm getting older...and wanted some mild changes....but my "new rom every night" era is over...so I decided to try the active for a while...

Your call....g
The Following User Says Thank You to gregsarg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2014, 12:38 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
I'd argue that the Active has very good support in these forums, because it is a bit of a niche phone you have very fervent owners that respond quickly to new issues. From a ROM support perspective it is limited but I'm quite happy with a ROM that is stripped of bloatware and then I tinker from there. I've owned a lot of phones and I'm quite happy with the Active, each time I try a new phone I come back to the Active. It's a bit bulkier but it just sits nice in my hand and the screen is beautiful.
20th August 2014, 01:21 AM   |  #5  
Nickovtyme's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 231
 
828 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I totally dig my S5 Active.

I'm in the process of getting my environment set up so that i can learn to build for it. I've not done it before and it'll be slow going...but I've been reading these forums for a few years and I might just he able to pull it off.

If/when the bootloader gets unlocked...the sky will be the limit.
Galaxy S5 Activate
Last edited by Nickovtyme; 20th August 2014 at 01:36 AM.
20th August 2014, 12:50 PM   |  #6  
draexo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Myrtle Beach, SC , USA
Thanks Meter: 103
 
830 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I'm holding out for the 32GB internal version. If it ever shows up!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank