Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] ER05 - Invalid SIM on Tmobile s5 with AT&T SIM card

OP kettir

17th December 2014, 05:01 PM   |  #1  
kettir's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Central Ohio
Thanks Meter: 17
 
195 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I'm doing well with my Tmobile s5 so far on AT&T. I am getting an error when I enable "Wifi calling" which I assume is VoLTE. AT&T solidly covers my area so I know it's available from AT&T. I'm not certain why, since I'm using an AT&T SIM card, that I would get "ER05 - Invalid SIM". My only guess is that the hardware in the Tmobile s5 is set for the Tmobile VoLTE, or that the Tmobile VoLTE is not the same as the AT&T VoLTE. Can anyone clue me in on the technical reasons why this is happening? Best case scenario I just need a new AT&T SIM card.
17th December 2014, 09:42 PM   |  #2  
Rakuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kettir

I'm doing well with my Tmobile s5 so far on AT&T. I am getting an error when I enable "Wifi calling" which I assume is VoLTE. AT&T solidly covers my area so I know it's available from AT&T. I'm not certain why, since I'm using an AT&T SIM card, that I would get "ER05 - Invalid SIM". My only guess is that the hardware in the Tmobile s5 is set for the Tmobile VoLTE, or that the Tmobile VoLTE is not the same as the AT&T VoLTE. Can anyone clue me in on the technical reasons why this is happening? Best case scenario I just need a new AT&T SIM card.

Fairly certain att doesnt have VoLTE or wifi calling(not the same thing), that may be your issueif its happening when you try that. Otherwise did you make sure to sim unlock your device?

Sent from my SM-G900A using Tapatalk
18th December 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #3  
OPOfreak's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Sanger
Thanks Meter: 3,993
 
6,647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kettir

I'm doing well with my Tmobile s5 so far on AT&T. I am getting an error when I enable "Wifi calling" which I assume is VoLTE. AT&T solidly covers my area so I know it's available from AT&T. I'm not certain why, since I'm using an AT&T SIM card, that I would get "ER05 - Invalid SIM". My only guess is that the hardware in the Tmobile s5 is set for the Tmobile VoLTE, or that the Tmobile VoLTE is not the same as the AT&T VoLTE. Can anyone clue me in on the technical reasons why this is happening? Best case scenario I just need a new AT&T SIM card.

AT&T doesn't have Wi-Fi calling
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes