FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[Q] Will "Samsung account update" break phone if rooted?

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By justinsamsel, Junior Member on 9th July 2014, 08:22 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I am new to Android and I haven't ever seen this notification before on my phone since I rooted. Will allowing this Samsung account update mess my phone up? I've seen other people ask what it is, but with no definitive answer to this specific question.

I can't post links because I am new but if you look at imgur bMIV8Xc.png you can see the notification I am seeing.
Last edited by justinsamsel; 9th July 2014 at 08:43 PM. Reason: Added link to image
 
 
9th July 2014, 09:49 PM |#2  
brivette007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Akron, OH
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I got this message today, too. I went ahead and allowed it to update. So far, I still have root and everything's running fine.
9th July 2014, 09:58 PM |#3  
GDofWR420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brivette007

I got this message today, too. I went ahead and allowed it to update. So far, I still have root and everything's running fine.

On s5 or s5 active. Also was it a full update or patch?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th July 2014, 10:27 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
For the record my phone is an s5.
9th July 2014, 10:31 PM |#5  
nbrent1007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Strong Island
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinsamsel

I am new to Android and I haven't ever seen this notification before on my phone since I rooted. Will allowing this Samsung account update mess my phone up? I've seen other people ask what it is, but with no definitive answer to this specific question.

I can't post links because I am new but if you look at imgur bMIV8Xc.png you can see the notification I am seeing.

Nope you're good. It's just to update your samsung account. I did it too yesterday and no problems at all. Besides they really give you no choice because eventually it will just push to phone
9th July 2014, 10:33 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks for the replies guys, I really appreciate it.
9th July 2014, 10:47 PM |#7  
GDofWR420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 217
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinsamsel

For the record my phone is an s5.

Was gonna say maybe its L but that would be asking to much.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes