FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] New Update

49 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By ender200j, Member on 28th August 2014, 07:59 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd September 2014, 01:36 AM |#61  
VashTS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalans

Rerun the root.

Sent from my SM-G900A: ExtremeDebloat 2.3b

When I rerun towelroot it freezes. I can still exit the app but its stuck like i pressed the button haflway.
 
 
4th September 2014, 02:07 AM |#62  
Senior Member
Flag Long Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
I am still on ND3 rooted with Wanam Xposed and whole lot of Apps disabled/frozen. Phone runs great and fantastic battery life. Also all OTA related apps/modules are frozen. All that said is there really a need to update to NG3? Does it offer anything new? Still 4.4.2!
4th September 2014, 02:29 AM |#63  
jwebster's Avatar
Member
Flag Springfield, MO
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ender200j

I just got a notification from AT&T for a new update. Anyone know anything about it?

Long story made short... I fouled up trying to get Alliance loaded through safestrap. Revertedt back to stock ND3. ATT Update ran while I wasn't looking... bye bye root. Now shows NG3- lambda root tool does not work :-/. Busybox gone SU no root no workie. Thinking Odin to downgrade to NC3 (since I can't find ND3 firmware) and start again. Then idea comes to mind ...why not just factory data reset? Will this get me back to ND3.? Any comments are welcome. My foul up was trying to partition slot 1 on SS and run/install Alliance from there. All good with Alliance but No mobile data and when I tried to reflash Alliance to fix.. S5 borked with partition damaged report. Was no 4G issue in build prop? Any/all help and comments are welcome. Thx.
4th September 2014, 03:47 AM |#64  
Senior Member
Flag Long Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwebster

Long story made short... I fouled up trying to get Alliance loaded through safestrap. Revertedt back to stock ND3. ATT Update ran while I wasn't looking... bye bye root. Now shows NG3- lambda root tool does not work :-/. Busybox gone SU no root no workie. Thinking Odin to downgrade to NC3 (since I can't find ND3 firmware) and start again. Then idea comes to mind ...why not just factory data reset? Will this get me back to ND3.? Any comments are welcome. My foul up was trying to partition slot 1 on SS and run/install Alliance from there. All good with Alliance but No mobile data and when I tried to reflash Alliance to fix.. S5 borked with partition damaged report. Was no 4G issue in build prop? Any/all help and comments are welcome. Thx.

You can still root NG3:
Try this, (Thanks to @muniz_ri)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/att-...a-zip-t2862299
Last edited by Waiting4MyAndroid; 4th September 2014 at 03:53 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Waiting4MyAndroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th September 2014, 06:09 AM |#65  
btort1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Is there any way to STOP this update besides buying TiBu pro? Can I just back up the att update on my sd and then delete it from my phone?

What else can I do?

I heard it won't update if you turn off wifi, is this true? My notification says postponed, I just want this to go away =(
12th September 2014, 01:14 PM |#66  
Senior Member
Flag Long Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btort1

Is there any way to STOP this update besides buying TiBu pro? Can I just back up the att update on my sd and then delete it from my phone?

What else can I do?

I heard it won't update if you turn off wifi, is this true? My notification says postponed, I just want this to go away =(

Must be rooted. To stop all OTA and Security Updates, freeze the following:

AT&T Software Update.
FWUpgrade.
LocalFOTA.
Samsung Push Service.
Security Policy Updates.

You don't have to use TiBu. I use App Quarantine and it is free. Also you can delete the update from the cache folder using any root browser.
Last edited by Waiting4MyAndroid; 12th September 2014 at 01:20 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Waiting4MyAndroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th September 2014, 05:35 AM |#67  
btort1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waiting4MyAndroid

Must be rooted. To stop all OTA and Security Updates, freeze the following:

AT&T Software Update.
FWUpgrade.
LocalFOTA.
Samsung Push Service.
Security Policy Updates.

You don't have to use TiBu. I use App Quarantine and it is free. Also you can delete the update from the cache folder using any root browser.

With app quarantine I was only able to disable AT&T software update, Locat FOTA

FWUpgrade, Samsung Push service and Security policy updates are not listed. Maybe a different name for them?

And is the cache update located on the root of the phone>cache folder? It's empty for mines.
13th September 2014, 01:50 PM |#68  
Senior Member
Flag Long Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btort1

With app quarantine I was only able to disable AT&T software update, Locat FOTA

FWUpgrade, Samsung Push service and Security policy updates are not listed. Maybe a different name for them?

And is the cache update located on the root of the phone>cache folder? It's empty for mines.

In App Q, change the Filter settings to show all apps, turn on advanced mode and check System Services.
The Following User Says Thank You to Waiting4MyAndroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes