Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,384 Members 43,983 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] boot loop after stock restore

Tip us?

blueman92
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Prompt [Q] boot loop after stock restore

hello everyone,

noob here as this is my first post

i'm sorry for the book in advance, i just wanna give everyone the whole story.

i'm having problems with my at&t htc one m8. i've rooted it and installed twrp and supersu on it no problem(first time rooting) and made several nandroid backups. i made a stock back up and flashed to viperone rom played around on that for a while.

couple days later i still wanted to try other roms and explore what other roms had to offer, so i installed cyanogen mod 11, had some fun on that one. so i made a back up of this as well.

i then decided to try the google play edition [gpe] for the m8.(am i a flashaholic yet?) after this i wanted to compare the stock rom to the gpe rom sense i haven't used it in about a week.

heres where the problem begins:

so i tired to restore my stock backup and it gets past the at&t boot animation then goes to the htc one boot animation and freezes (or boot loops i guess). i figured maybe its loading or something but after 20 mins i got worried so i plugged it into my computer and rebooted it using the command line and command adb reboot boot loader. (thankfully it worked and i remembered this from the root video i used to guide me through the rooting process) it does this every time i restore that backup. so now i have three different roms backup and they work fine i can flash to and from any of them but the stock rom.