Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Flashing firmware before ROM?

OP cjbart1009

20th August 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
There's a custom ROM that I wanna flash and it requires a different firmware. Do I flash the firmware first then the ROM? Also, when I flash the firmware is it just like flashing a custom ROM?

Sent from my HTC 1M8
20th August 2014, 03:26 PM   |  #2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,295
 
7,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbart1009

There's a custom ROM that I wanna flash and it requires a different firmware. Do I flash the firmware first then the ROM?

Yes, before you flash the ROM. Main reason, is that the firmware will install stock kernel (therefore over-writing any kernel that is present); so you will want to flash the firmware first, then the custom ROM. That way, the custom ROM install will have the corresponding kernel (if its different from stock, which it may or may not be).

You will also need to re-install custom recovery, as the firmware includes stock recovery (which over-writes the custom one you have now).

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbart1009

Also, when I flash the firmware is it just like flashing a custom ROM?

Not even remotely similar. You need to flash with hboot. You can follow the excellent instructions here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/att-...nse-6-t2837365

Or here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=9592

In actuality, it is possible to make a recovery flashable zip of the firmware. But I've only seen this on other devices, and haven't seen anyone go to the effort of creating it for the firmware you need.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Yes, before you flash the ROM. Main reason, is that the firmware will install stock kernel (therefore over-writing any kernel that is present); so you will want to flash the firmware first, then the custom ROM. That way, the custom ROM install will have the corresponding kernel (if its different from stock, which it may or may not be).

You will also need to re-install custom recovery, as the firmware includes stock recovery (which over-writes the custom one you have now).



Not even remotely similar. You need to flash with hboot. You can follow the excellent instructions here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/att-...nse-6-t2837365

Or here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=9592

In actuality, it is possible to make a recovery flashable zip of the firmware. But I've only seen this on other devices, and haven't seen anyone go to the effort of creating it for the firmware you need.

Thanks. I flashed the ROM before flashing the kernel just to see what would happen and for some reason my firmware updated as well. I flashed the custom ROM because I also have a backup of my stock ROM.
21st August 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbart1009

Thanks. I flashed the ROM before flashing the kernel just to see what would happen and for some reason my firmware updated as well. I flashed the custom ROM because I also have a backup of my stock ROM.

The firmware version listed on the software information in settings is not an actual representation of your firmware version. Go into your bootloader and see if your firmware version matches your ROM software version.

For example, the bootloader for firmware ver, 2.12.401.3:



Example of rom software version, 1.12.651.17:

21st August 2014, 08:41 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by revoltech

The firmware version listed on the software information in settings is not an actual representation of your firmware version. Go into your bootloader and see if your firmware version matches your ROM software version.

For example, the bootloader for firmware ver, 2.12.401.3:



Example of rom software version, 1.12.651.17:

Thanks for pointing it out. What ROM are you using? I've tried flashing the firmware yesterday and I even followed two different tutorials. How did you flash yours?
21st August 2014, 08:48 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbart1009

Thanks for pointing it out. What ROM are you using? I've tried flashing the firmware yesterday and I even followed two different tutorials. How did you flash yours?

I am on ARHD 10.2 and using 2.22.401.4 firmware. I used this tutorial: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2696282

I am having connection issues (says I have 4G but I get no data. switching airplane mode on/off fixes this) with this particular firmware and researched that I have to flash the 2.22.1540.3 for my ATT phone. I haven't downgraded yet since I am trying to get more feedback for this issue.
21st August 2014, 08:56 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by revoltech

I am on ARHD 10.2 and using 2.22.401.4 firmware. I used this tutorial: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2696282

I am having connection issues (says I have 4G but I get no data. switching airplane mode on/off fixes this) with this particular firmware and researched that I have to flash the 2.22.1540.3 for my ATT phone. I haven't downgraded yet since I am trying to get more feedback for this issue.

So it means I haven't flashed a new firmware. I noticed that the service I'm getting isn't as strong as before. Do you thing it's because of the firmware?
21st August 2014, 03:58 PM   |  #8  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,295
 
7,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbart1009

So it means I haven't flashed a new firmware.

Incorrect. His screenshot indicates hboot 3.18, so he is on updated firmware.

However, its a known issue that the "international" 2.22.401 firmware does not play well on US networks. He needs to install 2.22.1540, as he already mentioned.


Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbart1009

I noticed that the service I'm getting isn't as strong as before. Do you thing it's because of the firmware?

If you flashed 2.22.401 firmware onto the AT&T version, you should try 2.22.1540 as I just described above.

2.22.1540 firmware is linked in Post #2 above.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2014, 04:19 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Incorrect. His screenshot indicates hboot 3.18, so he is on updated firmware.

However, its a known issue that the "international" 2.22.401 firmware does not play well on US networks. He needs to install 2.22.1540, as he already mentioned.




If you flashed 2.22.401 firmware onto the AT&T version, you should try 2.22.1540 as I just described above.

2.22.1540 firmware is linked in Post #2 above.

But the ROM that I'm using requires the firmware that I have now.
21st August 2014, 04:25 PM   |  #10  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,295
 
7,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbart1009

But the ROM that I'm using requires the firmware that I have now.

No it doesn't, it just requires a 2.22.xxx based firmware.

What ROM? The thread probably just says a certain firmware is required, since having any "old" 1.xx firmware causes severe issues (long boot times, broken Bluetooth and WiFi, etc.). Also, it seems that a lot of the ROMs are being developed by owners of the"international" version, so they seem less aware of US-specific issues (although some ROMs like ARHD discuss it in the thread - but not in the top post).
Last edited by redpoint73; 21st August 2014 at 04:29 PM.

The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes