FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

HTC Warranty with unlocked bootloader

628 posts
Thanks Meter: 63
 
By lorddavid, Senior Member on 18th August 2015, 05:51 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,I want to install custom rom. (like most people) but, With htc one m7 I used the warranty, so, I want to be able to use it with the M8. My question is. to return full stock, its need s off right? Right now I cant afford 25 for the soff (in my country, outside of USA is a little more difficult because the conversion). So, if I use the dev unlock bootloader, Can I install custom any rom ( i ask because I dont know where I saw custom rom requiring S-OFF) and then do the s off after a while (maybe 2 o 3 months). If I use dev unlock from htc, they will be able to track that I install custom roms? And how about bricks, wich side is safest (only unlock bootloader or Soff) and wich side is more easy to recover?.

Thanks in advance
 
 
18th August 2015, 03:45 PM |#2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

Hi,I want to install custom rom. (like most people) but, With htc one m7 I used the warranty, so, I want to be able to use it with the M8. My question is. to return full stock, its need s off right? Right now I cant afford 25 for the soff (in my country, outside of USA is a little more difficult because the conversion). So, if I use the dev unlock bootloader, Can I install custom any rom ( i ask because I dont know where I saw custom rom requiring S-OFF) and then do the s off after a while (maybe 2 o 3 months). If I use dev unlock from htc, they will be able to track that I install custom roms?

HTC will typically not honor a warranty for a device purchased from and intended for another country. However, how HTC handles warranty seems to vary from one location to another. Did you buy the M7 from the US?

Along those lines, how HTC handles bootloader unlocks via HTCDev.com also seems to vary from one country to another. Yes, they can and will track the phones IMEI by HTCDev.com, and know you requested a bootloader unlock code. Some folks have had their warranty claims denied that way. But others are successful returning the phone to bootloader LOCKED (not RELOCKED, s-off required to make it LOCKED after unlocking it), stock software, possibly s-on.

You don't need s-off to flash ROM. But you will want to make sure your firmware is up to date. If the phone is on stock Lollipop, the firmware is probably up to date (especially if the phone was purchased new, not used). Otherwise, s-off makes it a bit easier to update firmware, but its also possible with s-on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

And how about bricks, wich side is safest (only unlock bootloader or Soff) and wich side is more easy to recover?.

Are you talking about recovering from no-boot conditions? s-off always gives more options. But most cases of no boot are solved by flashing custom recovery again, flashing a ROM, or other functions possible with s-on.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift redpoint73 Ad-Free
18th August 2015, 04:15 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Yes, with M7 I bought it from ATT, and they honor the warranty, but IN USA. I was there in vacation and send it. I'm in kitkat, I didnt update with RUU because dont know if sunshine works on latest firmware. So, even if I unlock with dev unlock. And after that I use S-OFF to make it Locked, they still can track it? In theory is better to go with S-OFF directly?
18th August 2015, 08:40 PM |#4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

Yes, with M7 I bought it from ATT, and they honor the warranty, but IN USA. I was there in vacation and send it.

Based on reports I've seen on XDA, your warranty won't be honored since you are not located in the US. Of course, if you travel back to the US, or send it to a US friend to send in for warranty, that might work.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

I'm in kitkat, I didnt update with RUU because dont know if sunshine works on latest firmware. So, even if I unlock with dev unlock. And after that I use S-OFF to make it Locked, they still can track it? In theory is better to go with S-OFF directly?

Sunshine s-off function still works on Lollipop. However, the root function does not (and root is needed to s-off). Some folks have temp rooted, and able to get s-off to work (then bootloader unlock).

But I would recommend using sunshine to root, s-off then bootloader unlock (bypassing HTCDev.com) all those things with sunshine; while still on KitKat (before RUU to Lollipop), if you are worried about warranty.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

So, even if I unlock with dev unlock. And after that I use S-OFF to make it Locked, they still can track it?

Yes, they can still track it. The bootloader unlock code is based on your IMEI, and they are probably tracking/recording the IMEI numbers that go through HTCDev.com.

I think some folks have been successful making the phone back to LOCKED (and even s-off) and of course also stock software, and getting the warranty honored. But I'd say its no guarantee. Some folks will also say they can't "legally" void your warranty for requesting an unlock bin code (as long as you return to "full" stock) as they can only prove you requested a code, not that you actually used it.

But at that point, its your word against there's. HTC holds the cards here. You can try to fight it, but in the meantime you still don't have a working phone.

To some degree, when we all mod our phones, we have to assume that there is some risk that warranty will be void.
18th August 2015, 10:35 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Ok, so I think that I will save mone for S-OFF, better play safe. Just a question, to update firmware I need to RUU? (After S-Off of course) Or can you point me to a guide to flash latest sense and lollipop rom? (I know how to flash recovery, s off, etc. but not sure about the match of firmware or what firmware/radio to use). THanks
19th August 2015, 03:42 PM |#6  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

Ok, so I think that I will save mone for S-OFF, better play safe. Just a question, to update firmware I need to RUU? (After S-Off of course) Or can you point me to a guide to flash latest sense and lollipop rom? (I know how to flash recovery, s off, etc. but not sure about the match of firmware or what firmware/radio to use).

You can update firmware (after s-off) with AT&T Lollipop RUU, or by flashing a firmware.zip in fastboot.

Flashing AT&T firmware will keep the same band support. If you want to change the band support, you can flash another version's firmware. But it depends on what bands your carrier uses for 3G and 4G (LTE).
19th August 2015, 04:16 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

You can update firmware (after s-off) with AT&T Lollipop RUU, or by flashing a firmware.zip in fastboot.

Flashing AT&T firmware will keep the same band support. If you want to change the band support, you can flash another version's firmware. But it depends on what bands your carrier uses for 3G and 4G (LTE).

Its more fast to just flash the firmware i think, because I dont need to download all the RUU.

And with the HTC really can change the band support? I think that is something of hardware. But if that can be done I want to try it.

I will search for the Firmware for flash. If I have problems I will ask. Thanks again

EDIT: I'm preparing , found some firmware but cant see from wich carrier are. Are those https://www.androidfilehost.com/?w=files&flid=32780

EDIT 2: I found that the numbers means the region. So, whats the latest firmware? Can I flash it even if my phone is ATT? Because I saw Just 1 for ATT
19th August 2015, 04:32 PM |#8  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

And with the HTC really can change the band support? I think that is something of hardware. But if that can be done I want to try it.

You are somewhat correct, in that before the M8, band support was set in hardware on most (or all?) phones.

But a new feature of the Snapdragon 801 chipset, is that band support is set in software. Flashing another CID's firmware will change the band support (may need to change CID and MID, and s-off required to change CID/MID).

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

EDIT: I'm preparing , found some firmware but cant see from wich carrier are. Are those https://www.androidfilehost.com/?w=files&flid=32780

AT&T is 502. But that thread only has 1.54.502 (which is same or probably even older than current firmware), and what you want (latest) is 4.28.502.

You can get the 4.28.502 firmware on the following thread, but you have to download the ROM with it (all packed in the same zip):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/att-...nse-6-t2837365

Not sure if 4.28.502 firmware is posted by itself anywhere else (I haven't seen so).
19th August 2015, 04:36 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

You are somewhat correct, in that before the M8, band support was set in hardware on most (or all?) phones.

But a new feature of the Snapdragon 801 chipset, is that band support is set in software. Flashing another CID's firmware will change the band support (may need to change CID and MID, and s-off required to change CID/MID).



AT&T is 502. But that thread only has 1.54.502 (which is same or probably even older than current firmware), and what you want (latest) is 4.28.502.

You can get the 4.28.502 firmware on the following thread, but you have to download the ROM with it (all packed in the same zip):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/att-...nse-6-t2837365

Not sure if 4.28.502 firmware is posted by itself anywhere else (I haven't seen so).


Thanks, thats new to me. And yes I found under 1540 a more recent firmware. So there is 0 risk of brick flashing other firmware right? I need SuperCID? Or is the same with ATT? (I'm curious for trying because with my phone my 3G speed is capped to 1mb dont know why, and other friends, same plan, other phone, have more speed)
19th August 2015, 04:59 PM |#10  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

Thanks, thats new to me. And yes I found under 1540 a more recent firmware. I need SuperCID? Or is the same with ATT?

Pretty sure you need to change your CID either to Dev Edition CID or SuperCID.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lorddavid

So there is 0 risk of brick flashing other firmware right?

There is never zero brick risk. Your phone can brick just sitting there, doing nothing (very unlikely, but its possible). In particular, flashing hboot (which firmware does) if anything goes wrong (for instance, don't disconnect the phone while its flashing!) while writing hboot, it will brick.

But flashing another CID's firmware is low risk. Probably no more risk than flashing the proper CID firmware, or doing an official RUU or OTA.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift redpoint73 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes