Post Reply

One handed mode? General opinion on m8?

22nd August 2014, 02:51 AM   |  #1  
The_Zodiac's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Unknown
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Hey all, was wondering if the m8 has some version of 1 handed mode (like the gs5) either stock or included in Roms.

(Somewhat hard to reach the far end of the screen when I tried a demo model & I text very frequently )


If not, has anyone tried [URL] http://www.phonearena.com/news/How-to-get-a-one-handed-mode-on-any-rooted-Android-device_id55962 /URL]

? Or could someone try and let me know if it works on the m8?? (/if it seems to work well)

I'd be very appreciative. Also how are you guys liking the m8 in general?

I'm on the fence between this the s5, & g3, & m8 (Leaning away from g3 because of lots of reports of overheats, like the specs though), kinda leaning towards m8 because of viper ROM which I loved on my one x)[emoji1]

Only thing I'm wondering is if 2gb of ram vs 3 will be a problem in the long run.

Edit: no longer worried about 1 handed mode tried it again and it fits fine.
Last edited by The_Zodiac; 23rd August 2014 at 02:03 AM.
22nd August 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #2  
The_Zodiac's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Unknown
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Also a bit curious about what the deal with having a developer edition to convert to is,
Does this mean that we can get new updates from HTC before att adds in their bloatware?
Or does it mean something else significant?

I read the other thread relating to it but wasn't sure
22nd August 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #3  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,042
 
6,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Zodiac

Also a bit curious about what the deal with having a developer edition to convert to is,
Does this mean that we can get new updates from HTC before att adds in their bloatware?

Yup, that's pretty much spot-on. No bloat or carrier branding. Updates come faster. The DE already had the 4.4.3 OTA rolled out maybe 2 weeks ago or so. AT&T OTA is supposed to be "soon", but who knows when?
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2014, 02:07 AM   |  #4  
The_Zodiac's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Unknown
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Yup, that's pretty much spot-on. No bloat or carrier branding. Updates come faster. The DE already had the 4.4.3 OTA rolled out maybe 2 weeks ago or so. AT&T OTA is supposed to be "soon", but who knows when?

Thanks for the info! Nice seeing you around again man. ( nice to hear that esp. Because att tends to drag its feet on upgrades)

Next question is that there are separate Roms based on which version your on?

Do either cross over? Meaning if u switch to gpe base can I use normal Roms or vice versa?

Im not sure which viperone is? Assuming standard at version but not sure.
23rd August 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #5  
The_Zodiac's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Unknown
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Zodiac

Thanks for the info! Nice seeing you around again man. ( nice to hear that esp. Because att tends to drag its feet on upgrades)

Next question is that there are separate Roms based on which version your on?

Do either cross over? Meaning if u switch to gpe base can I use normal Roms or vice versa?

Im not sure which viperone is? Assuming standard at version but not sure.

& are there any disadvantages to switching to gpe?

(I wouldn't think their would be due to identical hardware, but thought id ask just in case)
The Following User Says Thank You to The_Zodiac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd August 2014, 05:53 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 529
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
AT&T wont be for awhile....soon = months

Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Yup, that's pretty much spot-on. No bloat or carrier branding. Updates come faster. The DE already had the 4.4.3 OTA rolled out maybe 2 weeks ago or so. AT&T OTA is supposed to be "soon", but who knows when?



---------- Post added at 09:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:52 AM ----------

No no advantages at all...unless you want plane jane android...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Zodiac

& are there any disadvantages to switching to gpe?

(I wouldn't think their would be due to identical hardware, but thought id ask just in case)

25th August 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #7  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,042
 
6,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Zodiac

Thanks for the info! Nice seeing you around again man. ( nice to hear that esp. Because att tends to drag its feet on upgrades)

Next question is that there are separate Roms based on which version your on?

Do either cross over? Meaning if u switch to gpe base can I use normal Roms or vice versa?

Im not sure which viperone is? Assuming standard at version but not sure.


Good to see you here, too.

Any ROM meant for the GSM version should be compatible (stay away from the CDMA Sprint/Verizon specific ROMs). Although I'd exercise some common-sense caution and check the specific ROM thread to make sure AT&T is supported, or at least confirmed in the thread by AT&T users to work.

If you look at the ViperOne thread in this (AT&T) forum, the download section just links to the "main" thread in the "international/generic" M8 forum anyway. Which then links to the Venom Team download page, where you will see there is just one version for all GSM M8 versions.

GPE can mean one of 2 things, either just flashing a GPE-based custom ROM, or doing a "full conversion" which entails flashing a special RUU. The full conversion changes the partitioning on the device, and the only real advantage is a full GPE "stock" experience, which also means official GPE updates. If you don't care about that, and just want to try out the GPE experience, I'd suggest flashing a GPE-based custom ROM, which does not require changing the partitions.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th August 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #8  
The_Zodiac's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Unknown
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Good to see you here, too.

Any ROM meant for the GSM version should be compatible (stay away from the CDMA Sprint/Verizon specific ROMs). Although I'd exercise some common-sense caution and check the specific ROM thread to make sure AT&T is supported, or at least confirmed in the thread by AT&T users to work.

If you look at the ViperOne thread in this (AT&T) forum, the download section just links to the "main" thread in the "international/generic" M8 forum anyway. Which then links to the Venom Team download page, where you will see there is just one version for all GSM M8 versions.

GPE can mean one of 2 things, either just flashing a GPE-based custom ROM, or doing a "full conversion" which entails flashing a special RUU. The full conversion changes the partitioning on the device, and the only real advantage is a full GPE "stock" experience, which also means official GPE updates. If you don't care about that, and just want to try out the GPE experience, I'd suggest flashing a GPE-based custom ROM, which does not require changing the partitions.

Thanks for all the specific info, exactly what I was looking for.

Just got my device & I love it so far.

The last question I've got at the money is, I've heard some devices can't get bootloader unlocked through normal means , and have pay for the exploit,?

How do you know which version you have? (is it a certain hboot or something

Or do you just have to try the normal exploit & see if it works?
26th August 2014, 08:18 PM   |  #9  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,042
 
6,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Zodiac

The last question I've got at the money is, I've heard some devices can't get bootloader unlocked through normal means , and have pay for the exploit,?

How do you know which version you have? (is it a certain hboot or something

Or do you just have to try the normal exploit & see if it works?


I think its just Verizon that blocks bootloader unlock, and S-off is required to get custom recovery on it. Bootloader unlock is not an issue with the AT&T version though "normal" means (HTCDev.com), regardless of software version, hboot, etc.

S-off is another issue. Firewater works for some older AT&T M8's, but not on newer ones. Its not definite whether its software number, hboot, etc. that determines this. Just try firewater, and if it doesn't work you will have to pay $25 for sunshine if you want s-off.

The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes