Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,052 Members 39,865 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC M8 Camera Crashing and not working

Tip us?
 
vi3t07
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] HTC M8 Camera Crashing and not working

Love this phone more than anything, but after fiddling around with it on the first day the camera app is no longer working. It worked initially for a few minutes then it would freeze up and crash all together. And no I do not have the Last Pass app that people say is causing the crash. I did a factory reset and its still not working. I assumed it was a software issue, but even after rooting and flashing a custom rom it's still not working. Probably going to contact HTC tomorrow, but was wondering if anyone else was having issues with the camera?
 
derrickonline
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 94
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default It's LastPass

I had the same problem.. If you have last pass installed. Launch it... go to preferences and disable auto fill apps
 
teh_admiral
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2009
I'm having the same problem, and I do not have Lastpass. So please don't be useless and say it is that app. I do not have other apps installed to manage passwords, but whatever Android software is native to ATT does a good job at remembering passwords...

Somewhere else on the interweb someone said Line could be a culprit. Anyone???
 
redpoint73
Old
(Last edited by redpoint73; 16th July 2014 at 03:55 PM.)
#4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2924
Posts: 6,631
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by teh_admiral View Post
I'm having the same problem, and I do not have Lastpass. So please don't be useless and say it is that app. I do not have other apps installed to manage passwords, but whatever Android software is native to ATT does a good job at remembering passwords...

Somewhere else on the interweb someone said Line could be a culprit. Anyone???
Have you tried factory reset and/or Safe Mode? Those would eliminate the possibility that a 3rd party app is the culprit.

If those still don't solve the issue, I would recommend running the RUU. RUU will return all software to the stock image. So if the problem persists after RUU, I would tend to believe its a hardware issue.

I'm assuming you are running a stock device, but you haven't given that info. The problem with jumping onto an existing thread and saying "I have the same issue" is that the OP may/or may not have the exact same conditions as you (which is almost always not the case). And if you don't tell us the specifics, it makes it hard for us to help. For instance, the OP stated he tried factory reset, plus root and a custom ROMs (with no success) and we don't know if you did the same or not.
Please click the "Thanks" button if you found a post helpful!

Phone: AT&T HTC One (M8)

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 (WiFi only)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes