Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,279 Members 52,660 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Keep getting error 0 when flashing android kitchen stock rom.

Tip us?
 
AlpinoSoyYo
Old
(Last edited by AlpinoSoyYo; 24th August 2014 at 01:42 PM.)
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech N You View Post
Google this tool "std unpack" open to first link and download that tool.
Drag your recovery.img to STD unpack and you'll get your files.
Alternatively you can also use kitchen to unpack the recovery.img
Just go to advanced options then go to boot unpacking tools and follow steps as suggested

Sent from my C5302 using XDA Free mobile app
Seriously, sorry to be this stupid, but i cant find anything googling "std unpack" "std unpack tool" or "std unpack download" just a bunch of c++ questions..

Thanks again..

EDIT: nevermind i did it with kitchen like you said in advanced options, this is what I have in recovery.fstab
# mount point fstype device [device2]
/misc emmc /dev/misc
/data ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p7
/system ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p5
/cache ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p6
/boot emmc /dev/bootimg
/recovery emmc /dev/recovery
/emmc vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p8
/sdcard vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /dev/block/mmcblk1
/sd-ext auto /dev/block/mmcblk1p2

How should i change the lines: format("MTD", "system"); and mount("MTD", "system", "/system"); according to that?

Again, thanks for the extensive help
 
Tech N You
Old
#12  
Tech N You's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 257
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Unknown Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpinoSoyYo View Post
Seriously, sorry to be this stupid, but i cant find anything googling "std unpack" "std unpack tool" or "std unpack download" just a bunch of c++ questions..

Thanks again..

EDIT: nevermind i did it with kitchen like you said in advanced options, this is what I have in recovery.fstab
# mount point fstype device [device2]
/misc emmc /dev/misc
/data ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p7
/system ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p5
/cache ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p6
/boot emmc /dev/bootimg
/recovery emmc /dev/recovery
/emmc vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p8
/sdcard vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /dev/block/mmcblk1
/sd-ext auto /dev/block/mmcblk1p2

How should i change the lines: format("MTD", "system"); and mount("MTD", "system", "/system"); according to that?

Again, thanks for the extensive help
Ready to help always
Use this command for format.
format("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p5", "system") ;
For mount statement just replace format with mount and keep rest same.


Hit thanks button and appreciate my work and my help

Click below for Donations
 

Sign in to your PayPal account page
Go to 'Send Payment'
Enter my email id "technyou1@gmail.com"
Option "Personal payment" doesn't work for India, please set "Online purchases" and check Goods or Service.
Make the payment of the desired amount of donation you want to send.
Thanks to all donators
The Following User Says Thank You to Tech N You For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AlpinoSoyYo
Old
#13  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech N You View Post
Ready to help always
Use this command for format.
format("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p5", "system") ;
For mount statement just replace format with mount and keep rest same.
Thanks again man...
Im still getting status 7 error but now it says format() expects 3 args, got 4
 
Tech N You
Old
#14  
Tech N You's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 257
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Unknown Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpinoSoyYo View Post
Thanks again man...
Im still getting status 7 error but now it says format() expects 3 args, got 4
Update-binary error only. Try to get a update-binary for your mobile model this is only the problem rest everything is ok.
Also keep a nandroid backup ready if anything goes wrong just explore your device. If it is a Mediatek6557 (just a example) device then search for the any handset running the board of mtk 6557 and download it's custom ROM and replace update-binary and it will work. Download CPU-Z for your phone from play store to get detailed information of your device and board.


Hit thanks button and appreciate my work and my help

Click below for Donations
 

Sign in to your PayPal account page
Go to 'Send Payment'
Enter my email id "technyou1@gmail.com"
Option "Personal payment" doesn't work for India, please set "Online purchases" and check Goods or Service.
Make the payment of the desired amount of donation you want to send.
Thanks to all donators
The Following User Says Thank You to Tech N You For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AlpinoSoyYo
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech N You View Post
Update-binary error only. Try to get a update-binary for your mobile model this is only the problem rest everything is ok.
Also keep a nandroid backup ready if anything goes wrong just explore your device. If it is a Mediatek6557 (just a example) device then search for the any handset running the board of mtk 6557 and download it's custom ROM and replace update-binary and it will work. Download CPU-Z for your phone from play store to get detailed information of your device and board.
Well thanks, i'll kep searching, one last thing, why would my update-binary wont work? i mean, im using stock rom and trying to flash stock rom again, why would i need a different one?
 
Tech N You
Old
#16  
Tech N You's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 257
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Unknown Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpinoSoyYo View Post
Well thanks, i'll kep searching, one last thing, why would my update-binary wont work? i mean, im using stock rom and trying to flash stock rom again, why would i need a different one?
You using stock ROM but according to device it doesn't know stock or custom for it everything we flash is just a external source which is implemented in it.


Hit thanks button and appreciate my work and my help

Click below for Donations
 

Sign in to your PayPal account page
Go to 'Send Payment'
Enter my email id "technyou1@gmail.com"
Option "Personal payment" doesn't work for India, please set "Online purchases" and check Goods or Service.
Make the payment of the desired amount of donation you want to send.
Thanks to all donators
The Following User Says Thank You to Tech N You For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AlpinoSoyYo
Old
#17  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech N You View Post
You using stock ROM but according to device it doesn't know stock or custom for it everything we flash is just a external source which is implemented in it.
Well like you said i kept searching and found an update binary that did the trick and everything flashed just fine, however, even though i didnt get a bootloop, when i turn on the phone it shows the brand logo as always and then its just a black screen.

Any ideas? Thanks !!
 
Tech N You
Old
#18  
Tech N You's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 257
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Unknown Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Check the permissions in updater-script to and hope you can boot into recovery, restore the phone to old state and then using kitchen convert your updater-script (edify) to update-script (amend) and check for errors. Ignore error with the format and mount command

Sent from my C5302 using XDA Free mobile app


Hit thanks button and appreciate my work and my help

Click below for Donations
 

Sign in to your PayPal account page
Go to 'Send Payment'
Enter my email id "technyou1@gmail.com"
Option "Personal payment" doesn't work for India, please set "Online purchases" and check Goods or Service.
Make the payment of the desired amount of donation you want to send.
Thanks to all donators
 
AlpinoSoyYo
Old
#19  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech N You View Post
Check the permissions in updater-script to and hope you can boot into recovery, restore the phone to old state and then using kitchen convert your updater-script (edify) to update-script (amend) and check for errors. Ignore error with the format and mount command

Sent from my C5302 using XDA Free mobile app
Thanks again, what should i look for in permissions in updater-script?
and update-script (without r) gives me problems when i try to flash in cwm
 
Tech N You
Old
#20  
Tech N You's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 257
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Unknown Land

 
DONATE TO ME
Update-script is old format and isn't used much more. New devices use updater-script for flashing

Sent from my C5302 using XDA Free mobile app


Hit thanks button and appreciate my work and my help

Click below for Donations
 

Sign in to your PayPal account page
Go to 'Send Payment'
Enter my email id "technyou1@gmail.com"
Option "Personal payment" doesn't work for India, please set "Online purchases" and check Goods or Service.
Make the payment of the desired amount of donation you want to send.
Thanks to all donators

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes