FORUMS

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more

XPrivacy for Android Lollipop – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Have you ever been on the Google Play Store and saw an app that you wanted to … more

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Need help with a program.

31st August 2014, 03:23 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
public void click(View view) {
String one = "one";
EditText et = (EditText)findViewById(R.id.editText1);
String entered_text = et.getText().toString();

if(et.getText().toString() == one){
TextView tv1 = (TextView)findViewById(R.id.textView1);
tv1.setText("Correct!");
}
else{
TextView tv = (TextView)findViewById(R.id.textView1);
tv.setText(one+entered_text); }
}
This is a code snippet extracted from my program, i didn't post the whole program because it wasn't necessary, as the program runs fine without any runtime exceptions.
So, the program when executed on eclipse doesn't show any errors and runs fine, but when run the "if" condition "et.getText().toString() == "one"" always returns false even when the "entered_text" is "one" i.e.; it never prints "correct!" and the code always prints "one+entered_text" that is the statement in the else clause. And the interesting thing is, if you enter "one" the output will be "oneone", that is the else statement.
Please help me where i went wrong.
Thanks in advance.
 
 
31st August 2014, 03:48 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Wrocław
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
You're passing view argument in function so try initialize edit text with (EditText)view.findViewById(R.id.edittext);
31st August 2014, 03:57 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by panwrona

You're passing view argument in function so try initialize edit text with (EditText)view.findViewById(R.id.edittext);

Thanks for the reply.
I did what you said and got a runtime exception.
31st August 2014, 04:01 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag Wrocław
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
You're running it in fragment or activity?
31st August 2014, 04:02 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by panwrona

You're running it in fragment or activity?

Activity.
31st August 2014, 05:08 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag Wrocław
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
Are you initializing it in oncreate or somewhere else?
31st August 2014, 05:25 PM |#7  
arpitkh96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag panipat
Thanks Meter: 577
 
Donate to Me
More
That's easy. Instead of == use text.equals(one)
String are not compared by mathematical signs

Sent from my XT1033 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes