Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Soft brick.

OP Makertronic

10th July 2014, 09:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Ok, I believe that I have officially soft bricked my phone. I guess for any help to be given I should give a little background.

These are the things that I did to the phone when I got it about 2 months ago:
  • Unlocked bootloader using steps on HTC dev
  • Installed Philz Touch CWM
  • Rooted

Ok, so a few days ago I got a notification that there was a KitKat OTA update available. I knew that because I had a custom recovery installed that I wouldn't be able to let the OTA install by itself. So, I went ahead and downloaded the OTA and tried to flash it via CWM, it didn't work. I reverted to the stock recovery and tried it again, nothing. Then I did something, I can't remember exactly what I did. I think I took the firmware zip out of the OTA and tried to install that using CWM, but it failed because zip was corrupted. After that it will only boot into Hboot. From what I've read it being able to get to Hboot still is a good sign and that it can probably be saved. Does anyone have any ideas on how to get it up and running again? I really appreciate any help that can be given.

--Makertronic
10th July 2014, 09:59 PM   |  #2  
Vency77's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plovdiv
Thanks Meter: 163
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
What's the version of the hboot? Upload a photo of the screen if you can, so we can know how to help
11th July 2014, 09:03 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Screen Picture
Here's that picture of the screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CAM00002.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	255.8 KB
ID:	2845274  
11th July 2014, 02:27 PM   |  #4  
Vency77's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plovdiv
Thanks Meter: 163
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makertronic

Here's that picture of the screen.

Here is what you need to do, it will mostly revive your phone (thanks to @TehFlash for writing it and the guys who host the files).
11th July 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
After you get back into your phone again, I recommend you S-OFF your device, and then downgrade to JB HBOOT then run the RUU and then reboot into JB and do the OTA to get to KitKat properly.
12th July 2014, 04:29 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag massillon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
in need of some help
i can no longer do this on my own, i've had my phone for about 6 months or so now, and about february i successfully rooted my device. like the OP i got the notice a few days ago for the KK OTA and tried to install it and it obviously didn't work. now i've gotten a new computer since then and don't remember all the programs and files i had/need to install this new rom. i did try downloading a KK .zip and installing it from the philz touch bootloader and that didn't work either, so now my device is soft brcked. my hboot is the same as the OP, i clicked on that link and couldn't really understand what it was saying to do. if someone could dumb it down a bit for me and explain it some in greater detail, it would be heavily appreciated.
12th July 2014, 07:11 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
YES!!!! Thank you.
Ok everything works perfectly now. Thank you so much. And thanks to TehFlash for the post. Also, @TehFlash what do you mean downgrade to Jellybean Hboot. Do you mean just follow the same steps as before just use the Jellybean Hboot? And do you recommend any good methods for getting s-off?

--Makertronic
12th July 2014, 10:04 PM   |  #8  
Child's Play's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makertronic

Ok everything works perfectly now. Thank you so much. And thanks to TehFlash for the post. Also, @TehFlash what do you mean downgrade to Jellybean Hboot. Do you mean just follow the same steps as before just use the Jellybean Hboot? And do you recommend any good methods for getting s-off?

--Makertronic

instructions for getting s-off http://forum.xda-developers.com/desi...6/post54103450
if u wanna run the ruu, u need to downgrade to jb hboot with s-off bec the ruu only works with jb. we dont have the KK ruu yet. u r s-on u cant downgrade to jb hboot
16th July 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Now a new problem.
Ok, I finally got around to following the s-off instructions and it doesn't seem to be working. I am not able to get an ADB connection now that the phone is updated to KitKat. Anyone know what the problem could be? I tried installing new drivers and uninstalling HTC sync like the instructions at http://rumrunner.us/instructions/ says, but still nothing. Any help is appreciated.

--Makertronic
Last edited by Makertronic; 16th July 2014 at 03:51 AM.
16th July 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makertronic

Ok, I finally got around to following the s-off instructions and it doesn't seem to be working. I am not able to get an ADB connection now that the phone is updated to KitKat. Anyone know what the problem could be? I tried installing new drivers and uninstalling HTC sync like the instructions at http://rumrunner.us/instructions/ says, ut still nothing. Any help at all is appreciated.

--Makertronic

Can you access the recovery menu? Does fastboot recognize the device? Can try setting up drivers on another computer?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes