Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 3g on both sims

OP olalekanbabs

2nd September 2014, 05:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lagos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I want to know if there is any Rom that supports 3G on both sims.

I also want to know if there is any other goods phones out there that supports 3G on both sims
4th September 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 74
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by olalekanbabs

I want to know if there is any Rom that supports 3G on both sims.

I also want to know if there is any other goods phones out there that supports 3G on both sims

So far none of the small or big brand mobile companies made a dual sim mobile that supports 3G on both sims. One must be W+G and other must be G only. This is to save the battery life of the mobiles and also to prevent the 3G signal interferences (read somewhere online). So until the big brand flagship mobiles comes up with altogether a different technology that has no signal interference effects, you have to live with 2 different sim radios. Even if we move few years into the future, the primary sim of a dual sim mobile will support 4G and the other one will support only 3G or 2G for the same signal/radio interference purposes.

Hope this answers your question. Hit thanks button if this clarification deserves it.
4th September 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lagos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbrsekhar

So far none of the small or big brand mobile companies made a dual sim mobile that supports 3G on both sims. One must be W+G and other must be G only. This is to save the battery life of the mobiles and also to prevent the 3G signal interferences (read somewhere online). So until the big brand flagship mobiles comes up with altogether a different technology that has no signal interference effects, you have to live with 2 different sim radios. Even if we move few years into the future, the primary sim of a dual sim mobile will support 4G and the other one will support only 3G or 2G for the same signal/radio interference purposes.

Hope this answers your question. Hit thanks button if this clarification deserves it.


I had Samsung Galaxy Grand I9082 before buying the HTC, after Samsung recent update both SIM slots now supports 3G. This helps in situation when the internet data on one of the SIM is exhausted and you still have on the other SIM. Rather than swapping SIMS you will just change the first SIM from 3G to 2G, then enable data and 3G on the second SIM card.
4th September 2014, 10:44 AM   |  #4  
daheufster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by olalekanbabs

I had Samsung Galaxy Grand I9082 before buying the HTC, after Samsung recent update both SIM slots now supports 3G. This helps in situation when the internet data on one of the SIM is exhausted and you still have on the other SIM. Rather than swapping SIMS you will just change the first SIM from 3G to 2G, then enable data and 3G on the second SIM card.

Some phones indeed support 3G on both Sims, but like said these are the more expensive phones e.g. HTC One (M7) Dual SIM

Sent from my HTC D816 using Tapatalk
5th September 2014, 06:40 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 74
 
198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by olalekanbabs

I had Samsung Galaxy Grand I9082 before buying the HTC, after Samsung recent update both SIM slots now supports 3G. This helps in situation when the internet data on one of the SIM is exhausted and you still have on the other SIM. Rather than swapping SIMS you will just change the first SIM from 3G to 2G, then enable data and 3G on the second SIM card.

This disproves the theory of interference said by someone else online. Thanks for letting us know about the 3G availability on both sims. I desperately need such phone for the same reasons you quoted and probably hunt for that model. But having said that how was the battery life though as HTC desire 816 has a great standby life.

---------- Post added at 04:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:38 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by daheufster

Some phones indeed support 3G on both Sims, but like said these are the more expensive phones e.g. HTC One (M7) Dual SIM

Sent from my HTC D816 using Tapatalk

Thanks dude, I was so far living in the impression that it cannot be possible due to radio interference and battery life reasons I read somewhere online.
5th September 2014, 02:08 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Lagos
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbrsekhar

This disproves the theory of interference said by someone else online. Thanks for letting us know about the 3G availability on both sims. I desperately need such phone for the same reasons you quoted and probably hunt for that model. But having said that how was the battery life though as HTC desire 816 has a great standby life.

---------- Post added at 04:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:38 PM ----------



Thanks dude, I was so far living in the impression that it cannot be possible due to radio interference and battery life reasons I read somewhere online.

Attached is Samsung Galaxy Grand I9082 pics after recent update.
pic 1 - phone interface
pic 2 - Sim 1 setting
pic 3 - Sim 2 setting.

I came across Lenovo Vibe Z2 today but unfortunately it doesn't have card slot.
http://www.gsmarena.com/lenovo_vibe_z2-6642.php
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0015.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (93.0 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0016.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (85.6 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0017.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (91.5 KB, 24 views)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes