Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Stuck HTC without Blinkfeed

OP edtrud

28th August 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I accidently froze/disabled HTC blinkfeed and now my phone will not load a Launcher. Can I flash the htc blinkfeed apk in recovery to fix this? I have a HTC Desire 816 running kitkat 4.4.2 and sense 6.0 (Stock)

Thanks
30th August 2014, 09:31 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Check out this thread for nandroid backup

http://forum.xda-developers.com/desi...0#post55146690
1st September 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 69
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edtrud

I accidently froze/disabled HTC blinkfeed and now my phone will not load a Launcher. Can I flash the htc blinkfeed apk in recovery to fix this? I have a HTC Desire 816 running kitkat 4.4.2 and sense 6.0 (Stock)

Thanks

Just curious, can you not go back and unfreeze using titanium backup by any chance ??
1st September 2014, 07:31 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
My phone was stuck on the HTC boot logo screen so no I can't
1st September 2014, 08:03 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 69
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edtrud

My phone was stuck on the HTC boot logo screen so no I can't

You have two options now. Assuming your phone is rooted and you can access CWM recovery.

Installing Zeam Launcher via Custom Recovery.

1. Download the Zeam Launcher (file attached - probably very old version but doesnt matter, you need some launcher to get you out of bootscreen)
2. Put it on your sd-card
3. Go to cwm recovery
4. Flash that zip
5. Reboot the system - it should work now.
6. Either update the launcher or install whatever launcher you like until you found the blinkfeed launcher for your device.

OR

Installing the HTC Blinkfeed Launcher apk or any latest Launcher via adb push method.

1. Download the HTC Blinkfeed or any other launcher apk (like ADW launcher etc) of your interest from internet
2. Go to fastboot mode
3. Connect your phone to the computer
4. Once your phone is recognized - Goto adb folder (you would have used it when you rooted your mobile)
5. Open command prompt from that location (Shift + mouse rightclick) and type the following commands

adb remount
adb push HTC BlinkFeed-com.htc.launcher-658011553-v6.1.779245.apk /system/app
adb shell chmod 644 /system/app/HTC BlinkFeed-com.htc.launcher-658011553-v6.1.779245.apk
adb reboot


6. Unplug the phone from computer and try restarting it. It should work like a charm.

You can indeed change the file name of the launcher to something shorter and use the same if you find it difficult to type the long names.

Dont forget to hit thanks, if the above tutorial helps to bring your phone back to life.

All the best.
Last edited by vbrsekhar; 2nd September 2014 at 04:45 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vbrsekhar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd September 2014, 01:18 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Worked perfectly thanks!
2nd September 2014, 04:42 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 69
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbrsekhar

Just curious, can you not go back and unfreeze using titanium backup by any chance ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by edtrud

Worked perfectly thanks!

Glad to know that it worked. May I know which one did you follow ? Option 1 or 2 ?
2nd September 2014, 01:01 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 69
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbrsekhar

Glad to know that it worked. May I know which one did you follow ? Option 1 or 2 ?

Also can you please change your query title from [Q] to [Solved] so that people would understand that your problem has a solution / fix. Thanks for your understanding.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes