Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,888 Members 36,820 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HELP!! Droid 2 wont boot after using bootstrap recovery

Tip us?
 
Josephdbrewer25
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Donalsonville, ga
Default [Q] HELP!! Droid 2 wont boot after using bootstrap recovery

ok i had cm7 on it but my power button is missing on my phone and i couldnt go into recovery from there so i tried droid2 bootstrap and its stuck on the Motorola symbol

Can someone help??
 
sd_shadow
Old
#2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,434
Posts: 3,798
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josephdbrewer25 View Post
ok i had cm7 on it but my power button is missing on my phone and i couldnt go into recovery from there so i tried droid2 bootstrap and its stuck on the Motorola symbol

Can someone help??
Installing 2nd bootstrap likely screwed up bootstrap included with cm7.
Pull battery, hold r key, reinsert battery, connect to wall charger
Might get cwm, or stock recovery.
Likely need to reflash stock with rsd lite see my sd_shadow's [Collection] of Links for:

Droid 2 (a955)



Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Josephdbrewer25
Old
(Last edited by Josephdbrewer25; 3rd September 2014 at 06:29 PM.) Reason: wrong wording
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Donalsonville, ga
Default Droid2

yea i kinda figured i screwed it up. i already done the sbf back to stock

thanx for ur reply
 
sd_shadow
Old
#4  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,434
Posts: 3,798
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josephdbrewer25 View Post
yea i kinda figured i screwed it up. i already done the sbf back to stock

thanx for ur reply
If you are reinstalling cm7, just install the cm7 bootmenu at same time.
so every time phone is booting, at the blue LED press volume down, and you will have option to boot cwm
see [HOW TO] Install/Use Droid 2/X/3 Bootstrap Optional add ons
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
The Following User Says Thank You to sd_shadow For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Josephdbrewer25
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Donalsonville, ga
really?? i always wondered if there was a way to boot into cwm with a button combo
 
sd_shadow
Old
#6  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,434
Posts: 3,798
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josephdbrewer25 View Post
really?? i always wondered if there was a way to boot into cwm with a button combo
sometime pressing R when booting up works with just CWM/bootstrap, but bootmenu is more consistent.
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
Josephdbrewer25
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Donalsonville, ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
sometime pressing R when booting up works with just CWM/bootstrap, but bootmenu is more consistent.
ahh thanx for the info
 
Josephdbrewer25
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Donalsonville, ga
that cm7 bootmenu, will it work with the liquid ics??
 
sd_shadow
Old
#9  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,434
Posts: 3,798
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
Try the cm9 bootmenu

Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
Josephdbrewer25
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Donalsonville, ga
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
Try the cm9 bootmenu

Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
Thanks!!!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more