Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,594 Members 39,326 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

can't take OTA cuz I'm rooted

Tip us?
 
welbinator
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default can't take OTA cuz I'm rooted

So, awhile back I wanted to stay rooted and take the latest update, so I side loaded a rooted, stock ROM. It was completely stock, no features or anything, and it was rooted.

now, my phones trying to make me install the KitKat update. Obviously, I can't do that since my phone is rooted it will bork it.

Is there a stock kit kat ROM I could sideload? Also, is it a problem that my phone says **LOCKED**?

I was going to try and completely reset my phone to out of the box stock, and got as far as relocking my phone and realized the rest was a lot of work so I stopped. And now, I can't figure out how to unlock it again. the HTC method doesn't work. I think I did something called exposed last time? Will I need to do that before flashing any Kit Kat ROMs?

If there are no purely stock, rooted KitKat ROMs, what's the most stable rooted KitKat ROM available?
 
kent c
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 54
Join Date: Apr 2010
I assume you are S-Off and Unlocked. Look at the top sticky. Do that and then take the OTA updates after. Then just re-flash recovery and superuser.
 
welbinator
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kent c View Post
Do that and then take the OTA updates after.
what do you mean by "that"?

I am S-OFF

*** LOCKED ***
MONARUDO PVT SHIP S-OFF
CID-VZW__001
HBOOT-1.33.0001
RADIO-1.01.04.0308
OpenDSP-v6.120.274.0114
eMMC-boot
Oct 23 2012,21:34:05
 
kent c
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 54
Join Date: Apr 2010
The top Sticky in the General section

The RUU didn't work for me but the Alt method did.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes