XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

"Other" taking up a lot of space.

OP DanielWEWO

19th August 2014, 09:33 AM   |  #1  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Hey there, I know this has been asked before because I've seen it but I can't seem to find it again. Maybe someone else can help out. I've flashed through a few ROMs and I've ended up with quite a hefty load of about 5GB of data that I can't seem to find. I don't have any nandroid backups on my phone at the moment. I've deleted almost everything I could find. I'm running NuSense Six m7 base. RC6.8. Attached are a couple screenshots illustrating my issue. What is taking up so much space?! Name:  uploadfromtaptalk1408433624479.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  44.4 KBName:  uploadfromtaptalk1408433633199.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  52.7 KB
20th August 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #2  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 12,102
 
7,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Are you sure you don't have any backups hiding....?
Current versions of twrp backups can be found, using a root enabled file explorer.
Check in /data/media/0/TWRP/backups
20th August 2014, 05:48 AM   |  #3  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
I'm using CWM but I didn't have any backups there. I know "Other" is supposed to store the OS, but is 5GB an acceptable size?
20th August 2014, 07:31 PM   |  #4  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 12,102
 
7,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielWEWO

I'm using CWM but I didn't have any backups there. I know "Other" is supposed to store the OS, but is 5GB an acceptable size?

Not really, no.
The Rom should only use about half of that.
Which is why it seems you have one backup hiding somewhere.
If I were you, I'd back up anything important to my computer.
Then I'd wipe everything and sideload or adb push the Rom.
That should clean everything up.
Then just put back what you need or want.
This is also dependent on how many apps you've restored or installed since loading the base Rom.
Some games and various apps data can be rather large.
20th August 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #5  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Not really, no.
The Rom should only use about half of that.
Which is why it seems you have one backup hiding somewhere.
If I were you, I'd back up anything important to my computer.
Then I'd wipe everything and sideload or adb push the Rom.
That should clean everything up.
Then just put back what you need or want.
This is also dependent on how many apps you've restored or installed since loading the base Rom.
Some games and various apps data can be rather large.

Okay. I'll give that a shot, I'll have to do some googling to figure out how to do that xD.
20th August 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #6  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag NorCal
Thanks Meter: 12,102
 
7,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielWEWO

Okay. I'll give that a shot, I'll have to do some googling to figure out how to do that xD.

Yeah, Google it, it's actually really easy.
Just a word of advice:
Place a working rom.zip on your device. (as a failsafe in case sideload or adb push doesn't work for you.)
Practice at least once, adb pushing or sideloading a rom, prior to wiping the device.
That way you can be sure you have the process working before you wipe the device.
This way, while practicing, if you have any troubles with adb or drivers, etc,..you'll still have at least one rom zip on your internal storage that you can flash back to until you get it working.
I don't wanna see you end up with no OS and no working method to get a rom back on the device.
(only reason you would have any issues would be due to adb drivers)
Once you know the process is working with your PC setup and drivers, then you can wipe and sideload for real...
20th August 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #7  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040

Yeah, Google it, it's actually really easy.
Just a word of advice:
Place a working rom.zip on your device. (as a failsafe in case sideload or adb push doesn't work for you.)
Practice at least once, adb pushing or sideloading a rom, prior to wiping the device.
That way you can be sure you have the process working before you wipe the device.
This way, while practicing, if you have any troubles with adb or drivers, etc,..you'll still have at least one rom zip on your internal storage that you can flash back to until you get it working.
I don't wanna see you end up with no OS and no working method to get a rom back on the device.
(only reason you would have any issues would be due to adb drivers)
Once you know the process is working with your PC setup and drivers, then you can wipe and sideload for real...

I think I've done it with my Galaxy Nexus and that was cake.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes