Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,588 Members 45,615 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

"Other" taking up a lot of space.

Tip us?
 
DanielWEWO
Old
#1  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default "Other" taking up a lot of space.

Hey there, I know this has been asked before because I've seen it but I can't seem to find it again. Maybe someone else can help out. I've flashed through a few ROMs and I've ended up with quite a hefty load of about 5GB of data that I can't seem to find. I don't have any nandroid backups on my phone at the moment. I've deleted almost everything I could find. I'm running NuSense Six m7 base. RC6.8. Attached are a couple screenshots illustrating my issue. What is taking up so much space?! Name:  uploadfromtaptalk1408433624479.jpg
Views: 59
Size:  44.4 KBName:  uploadfromtaptalk1408433633199.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  52.7 KB
 
santod040
Old
#2  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,394
Posts: 6,208
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NorCal

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you sure you don't have any backups hiding....?
Current versions of twrp backups can be found, using a root enabled file explorer.
Check in /data/media/0/TWRP/backups
Current Devices: HTC Thunderbolt | HTC Droid DNA | HTC One - m7 | HTC One - m8


Follow me on Twitter
ULTIMATE WALLS WVGA Wallpaper Collection
Donations always appreciated! Never required!


 
DanielWEWO
Old
#3  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jul 2013
I'm using CWM but I didn't have any backups there. I know "Other" is supposed to store the OS, but is 5GB an acceptable size?
 
santod040
Old
#4  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,394
Posts: 6,208
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NorCal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielWEWO View Post
I'm using CWM but I didn't have any backups there. I know "Other" is supposed to store the OS, but is 5GB an acceptable size?
Not really, no.
The Rom should only use about half of that.
Which is why it seems you have one backup hiding somewhere.
If I were you, I'd back up anything important to my computer.
Then I'd wipe everything and sideload or adb push the Rom.
That should clean everything up.
Then just put back what you need or want.
This is also dependent on how many apps you've restored or installed since loading the base Rom.
Some games and various apps data can be rather large.
Current Devices: HTC Thunderbolt | HTC Droid DNA | HTC One - m7 | HTC One - m8


Follow me on Twitter
ULTIMATE WALLS WVGA Wallpaper Collection
Donations always appreciated! Never required!


 
DanielWEWO
Old
#5  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040 View Post
Not really, no.
The Rom should only use about half of that.
Which is why it seems you have one backup hiding somewhere.
If I were you, I'd back up anything important to my computer.
Then I'd wipe everything and sideload or adb push the Rom.
That should clean everything up.
Then just put back what you need or want.
This is also dependent on how many apps you've restored or installed since loading the base Rom.
Some games and various apps data can be rather large.
Okay. I'll give that a shot, I'll have to do some googling to figure out how to do that xD.
 
santod040
Old
#6  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,394
Posts: 6,208
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NorCal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielWEWO View Post
Okay. I'll give that a shot, I'll have to do some googling to figure out how to do that xD.
Yeah, Google it, it's actually really easy.
Just a word of advice:
Place a working rom.zip on your device. (as a failsafe in case sideload or adb push doesn't work for you.)
Practice at least once, adb pushing or sideloading a rom, prior to wiping the device.
That way you can be sure you have the process working before you wipe the device.
This way, while practicing, if you have any troubles with adb or drivers, etc,..you'll still have at least one rom zip on your internal storage that you can flash back to until you get it working.
I don't wanna see you end up with no OS and no working method to get a rom back on the device.
(only reason you would have any issues would be due to adb drivers)
Once you know the process is working with your PC setup and drivers, then you can wipe and sideload for real...
Current Devices: HTC Thunderbolt | HTC Droid DNA | HTC One - m7 | HTC One - m8


Follow me on Twitter
ULTIMATE WALLS WVGA Wallpaper Collection
Donations always appreciated! Never required!


 
DanielWEWO
Old
#7  
DanielWEWO's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by santod040 View Post
Yeah, Google it, it's actually really easy.
Just a word of advice:
Place a working rom.zip on your device. (as a failsafe in case sideload or adb push doesn't work for you.)
Practice at least once, adb pushing or sideloading a rom, prior to wiping the device.
That way you can be sure you have the process working before you wipe the device.
This way, while practicing, if you have any troubles with adb or drivers, etc,..you'll still have at least one rom zip on your internal storage that you can flash back to until you get it working.
I don't wanna see you end up with no OS and no working method to get a rom back on the device.
(only reason you would have any issues would be due to adb drivers)
Once you know the process is working with your PC setup and drivers, then you can wipe and sideload for real...
I think I've done it with my Galaxy Nexus and that was cake.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes