Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,687 Members 40,300 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Help] Wifi connects but doesn't work

Tip us?
 
Carcass.br
Old
#1  
Carcass.br's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 188
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Default [Help] Wifi connects but doesn't work

It started when I tried to install a CM11 update. I did not see that was only for KK BL, then I tried to revert to stock rom(using RSD lite) and install the old version for the JB BL again, but my wifi still not working(or working only when it wants lol).
Anyone could help me?
I tried to flash a lot of different roms, even reset with RSD, but the issue stills. I don't know what more I can do
Thx for the att and sorry for my horrible english...
 
derpyherp
Old
#2  
derpyherp's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: seabeck wa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carcass.br View Post
It started when I tried to install a CM11 update. I did not see that was only for KK BL, then I tried to revert to stock rom(using RSD lite) and install the old version for the JB BL again, but my wifi still not working(or working only when it wants lol).
Anyone could help me?
I tried to flash a lot of different roms, even reset with RSD, but the issue stills. I don't know what more I can do
Thx for the att and sorry for my horrible english...
im having the same issue... my step dad said there was a patch somewhere but i think its a patch from verizon thats going to be an ota so... we will lose root
 
ncsuwolfs
Old
(Last edited by ncsuwolfs; 23rd July 2014 at 02:13 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 25
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by derpyherp View Post
im having the same issue... my step dad said there was a patch somewhere but i think its a patch from verizon thats going to be an ota so... we will lose root
lose root? your bootloader is not unlocked?
 
derpyherp
Old
#4  
derpyherp's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: seabeck wa
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncsuwolfs View Post
lose root? your bootloader is not unlocked?
I thought you loose root when you take ota's??
 
iBolski
Old
#5  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 430
Posts: 1,322
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbus
Quote:
Originally Posted by derpyherp View Post
I thought you loose root when you take ota's??
If you are rooted, the OTA will fail, so you have to flash back to stock before taking OTAs.

If you are locked and you take an OTA, you will lose access to whatever exploit was patched. In the case of going from JB to KK, the original root (Saferoot I believe) won't work. However, Towelroot will work for those that have locked bootloaders.

However, if you are rooted and on the latest official KK, then you can unlock your bootloader and then, no matter what OTA comes out after that, you will still be able to root your phone without the use of an exploit like Towelroot. Instead, you take .zip image of the SU app you are using and flash it in TWRP or CWM recovery. No exploit needed.

Towelroot is only for those that don't have an unlocked bootloader and it's an exploit (a security issue) within the specific version of the Android OS. OTAs patch these as they are released, which means another exploit has to be discovered in order to achieve root for locked bootloaders.

So, right now, if you are not unlocked, you better unlock on the initial KK release because the latest soak test does patch Towelroot and the bootloader exploit. You've been warned.
Please hit "Thanks" if this post helped you.

RAZR HD XT926 (unlocked)
32gb Nexus 7
Chromecast
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes