Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,477 Members 40,683 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] OTA Update got me stuck in semi-bootloop...

Tip us?
 
pintyguy
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Awesome I was just about to ask for a link, thank you. And I actually got this phone pre-rooted and everything, so the guy before me must have flashed the modem. When I got it I just dropped T-Mobile sim in and it worked just fine. Luckily I'm not new to any of this, I just had a Galaxy s3 running CM11 I believe, but got rid of it and got this. Again, appreciate all the help. Gonna give it a go now and I'll report back soon.
 
pintyguy
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by billycar11 View Post
one is a Verizon phone the other is for other carriers
does your phone have Verizon branding on it?
Well I'm about at my wits end on this one. I couldn't get the Moto Diag driver to correctly install to port, so I went with the RadioComm method instead. I followed a tutorial off this site, which I can't link to just yet asbi do not have enough posts. But followed it to a tee, and it seemingly was successful. But after reboot I only showed bars for about a minute, then right back to no service, T-Mobile could not be registered at this time. Nowhere in the comments or in the guide did they mention to wait the 5 minutes after writing with this method, could that possibly be why? I'm really starting to get frustrated at this point...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-08-29-13-57-00.png
Views:	15
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	2917157   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-08-29-10-24-23.png
Views:	15
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	2917158  
 
pintyguy
Old
#13  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Alright, so after 3 days of tirelessly pouring over the forums and two different laptops, I'm finally back up and running. I couldn't get the Moto Diag drivers to correctly install to the port, on either computer, (one was running Windows XP SP3, the other Windows 7x64)so using CDMA WS was out of the question all together. I ended up following the tutorial on using RadioComm to flash the modem instead. First attempt was successful, but I immediately rebooted when it was finished writing, and apparently it didn't stick. So I went back, checked first, and it had reverted back from "00" back to "01",meaning it was locked again. So I rewrote it, and this time left it plugged in after if finished for about 10 minutes, then rebooted, and voila, back up and running, no problems since. I repeat, if you are flashing the modem, whether it be with CDMA WS, or RadioComm, YOU MUST WAIT AT LEAST 5 MINUTES AFTER FLASHING BEFORE REBOOT, otherwise it will not stick and your wasting your time. Thank you for all the help, it is very much appreciated.

Link for the RadioComm tutorial I ended up using:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2166542

On a side note, is it really worth unlocking my bootloader? I realize I'm right at the list version where is possible, and all over the forums it's threatened "UNLOCK NOW OR STAY LOCKED FOREVER!", just curious if it's really worth the time and effort. But again, thanks to everyone who helped, and if I may assist anyone else in a similar situation feel free to ask.
 
billycar11
Old
#14  
billycar11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 210
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pintyguy View Post
Alright, so after 3 days of tirelessly pouring over the forums and two different laptops, I'm finally back up and running. I couldn't get the Moto Diag drivers to correctly install to the port, on either computer, (one was running Windows XP SP3, the other Windows 7x64)so using CDMA WS was out of the question all together. I ended up following the tutorial on using RadioComm to flash the modem instead. First attempt was successful, but I immediately rebooted when it was finished writing, and apparently it didn't stick. So I went back, checked first, and it had reverted back from "00" back to "01",meaning it was locked again. So I rewrote it, and this time left it plugged in after if finished for about 10 minutes, then rebooted, and voila, back up and running, no problems since. I repeat, if you are flashing the modem, whether it be with CDMA WS, or RadioComm, YOU MUST WAIT AT LEAST 5 MINUTES AFTER FLASHING BEFORE REBOOT, otherwise it will not stick and your wasting your time. Thank you for all the help, it is very much appreciated.

Link for the RadioComm tutorial I ended up using:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2166542

On a side note, is it really worth unlocking my bootloader? I realize I'm right at the list version where is possible, and all over the forums it's threatened "UNLOCK NOW OR STAY LOCKED FOREVER!", just curious if it's really worth the time and effort. But again, thanks to everyone who helped, and if I may assist anyone else in a similar situation feel free to ask.
it is worth it also i told you about the 5 minute thing
 
pintyguy
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by billycar11 View Post
it is worth it
I thought I was going to lose my data, didn't realize motopoc would do it without losing everything, so I figured might as well.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more