Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,481 Members 54,108 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

stuck in boot up loop

Tip us?
 
oscar the grouch
Old
#1  
oscar the grouch's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MACON
Default stuck in boot up loop

I just flashed the pacman nightly over cm11 using philz recovery. and my phone keeps trying to boot up. I get the moto logo for a few seconds then it goes blank and comes back up.

not sure where to begin fixing this. Ive tried to get back into recovery but cant.
any help would be appreciated
 
iBolski
Old
#2  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 430
Posts: 1,323
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbus
Quote:
Originally Posted by oscar the grouch View Post
I just flashed the pacman nightly over cm11 using philz recovery. and my phone keeps trying to boot up. I get the moto logo for a few seconds then it goes blank and comes back up.

not sure where to begin fixing this. Ive tried to get back into recovery but cant.
any help would be appreciated
You dirty flashed it over CM11? You didn't wipe system, data, cache and dalvik? I always do that, even when I'm flashing an AOSP-based ROM over another AOSP-based ROM.

The only time I won't do this is if I'm flashing say CM11 over CM11.

If you dirty flashed, that might be your problem, but I don't know for sure as I don't use PacMan ROM.
Please hit "Thanks" if this post helped you.

RAZR HD XT926 (unlocked)
32gb Nexus 7
Chromecast
 
oscar the grouch
Old
#3  
oscar the grouch's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MACON
I didn't dirty flash. Cm11 was on there before. I used philz wipe forfor new rom like I always do.

I can get into the fastboot menu. Is there something I can do there to reflash cm11?
I am legally retarded in 7 states. I haven't taken the test in the other 49....
 
iBolski
Old
#4  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 430
Posts: 1,323
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Columbus
Quote:
Originally Posted by oscar the grouch View Post
I didn't dirty flash. Cm11 was on there before. I used philz wipe forfor new rom like I always do.

I can get into the fastboot menu. Is there something I can do there to reflash cm11?
Not sure then. I always use TWRP to wipe and flash. Could be an issue with the ROM itself or you got a bad download. You might want to try and download the ROM again to ensure it wasn't a bad download.
Please hit "Thanks" if this post helped you.

RAZR HD XT926 (unlocked)
32gb Nexus 7
Chromecast
 
oscar the grouch
Old
#5  
oscar the grouch's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MACON
figured it out. must have had something happen to the recovery file.

in fast boot i flashed a new recovery image and was able to boot into recovery.
 
joel_sinbad
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Piedras Negras, Coahuila

 
DONATE TO ME
Maybe you have the JB bootloader and you flashed a KitKat bootloader based CM11 build... That could explain why your phone is not booting properly.

If nothing works you just can flash a STOCK FIRMWARE to begin again.
 
oscar the grouch
Old
#7  
oscar the grouch's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MACON
The phone has stock kitkat. How can I confirm?
I am legally retarded in 7 states. I haven't taken the test in the other 49....
 
Not_A_Dev
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 81
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel_sinbad View Post
Maybe you have the JB bootloader and you flashed a KitKat bootloader based CM11 build... That could explain why your phone is not booting properly.
That's a no-go. You won't be able to flash a KK-based ROM on a system with a JB Bootloader. The device will abort the installation immediately with a friendly reminder. At least the XT926. Been there, tried that.
Current Device: Unlocked Motorola Droid RAZR HD MAXX XT926 | Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0 | ROM: LiquidSmooth KK v3.2
Previous Devices: Motorola Droid X2, Motorola Razr M XT907
 
oscar the grouch
Old
#9  
oscar the grouch's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MACON
^ agree. My atrix HD has a jbbl and I can Confirm this
I am legally retarded in 7 states. I haven't taken the test in the other 49....

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes