Post Reply

Help - device not booting

OP pyromaniac1

9th August 2014, 08:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I was already on stock 4.4.2. Used RSD to flash it when the phone was on JB. My phone's suddenly not botting anymore though. Just stock on the boot animation screen. I tried flashing back the same firmware, but I get "Phone Returned Failed" error on RSD lite every time

What can I do? My phone was completely stock. Bootloader wasn't unlocked.

*edit*: Boot animation runs fine. Then it's just stuck at the orb thingy which just keeps going.
Last edited by wedgess; 10th August 2014 at 09:46 AM.
9th August 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #2  
RikRong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 438
 
1,218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyromaniac1

I was already on stock 4.4.2. Used RSD to flash it when the phone was on JB. My phone's suddenly not botting anymore though. Just stock on the boot animation screen. I tried flashing back the same firmware, but I get "Phone Returned Failed" error on RSD lite every time

What can I do? My phone was completely stock. Bootloader wasn't unlocked.

*edit*: Boot animation runs fine. Then it's just stuck at the orb thingy which just keeps going.

Need more details on "fail." Just saying it failed won't narrow down anything.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
10th August 2014, 11:34 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by RikRong

Need more details on "fail." Just saying it failed won't narrow down anything.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Tried flashing VZW_XT926_4.4.2-KDA20.62-10.1_CFC_1FF.xml, get this error.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	58
Size:	185.1 KB
ID:	2891653  
10th August 2014, 02:07 PM   |  #4  
bweN diorD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 662
 
1,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyromaniac1

Tried flashing VZW_XT926_4.4.2-KDA20.62-10.1_CFC_1FF.xml, get this error.

you have to edit the xml file and completely remove the line containing "gpt" in that error. the partition table cant be changed/downgraded once upgraded.
10th August 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweN diorD

you have to edit the xml file and completely remove the line containing "gpt" in that error. the partition table cant be changed/downgraded once upgraded.

I did

still luck. Whatever item it tries to flash it returns the same error. I even deleted everything in between that to system.img. Gives the same error trying to flash system.img
11th August 2014, 10:47 PM   |  #6  
bweN diorD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 662
 
1,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyromaniac1

I did

still luck. Whatever item it tries to flash it returns the same error. I even deleted everything in between that to system.img. Gives the same error trying to flash system.img

try this, its not the same as the utility in the dev forum, its a modified version.
12th August 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweN diorD

try this, its not the same as the utility in the dev forum, its a modified version.

Flashed the XML with RSD lite. still the same error. Removed the GPT line and tried again. Same thing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.png
Views:	31
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	2894687  
12th August 2014, 05:19 PM   |  #8  
bweN diorD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 662
 
1,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyromaniac1

Flashed the XML with RSD lite. still the same error. Removed the GPT line and tried again. Same thing.

Mmk, do not use rsd, use the bat file at the bottom of the directory. You defeated the purpose of it by using rsd.

Sent from my G2 running SlimKat
12th August 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bweN diorD

Mmk, do not use rsd, use the bat file at the bottom of the directory. You defeated the purpose of it by using rsd.

Sent from my G2 running SlimKat

Ran the script twice. Managed to copy this the second time :/. Phone reboots after flashing is done and like before still stuck at the end of the boot animation.
[*] Press any key to continue.
< waiting for device >
sending 'partition' (32 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.022s]
writing 'partition'...
This may take a few seconds, if a
different partition table is being
flashed since we need to backup
and restore a few partitions
Failed to program partition table
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.328s
sending 'sbl1' (101 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.028s]
writing 'sbl1'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition sbl1
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.156s
sending 'sbl2' (126 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.029s]
writing 'sbl2'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition sbl2
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.155s
sending 'sbl3' (512 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.058s]
writing 'sbl3'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition sbl3
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.323s
sending 'rpm' (140 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.030s]
writing 'rpm'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition rpm
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.279s
sending 'tz' (210 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.036s]
writing 'tz'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition tz
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.286s
sending 'aboot' (256 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.038s]
writing 'aboot'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition aboot
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.292s
sending 'modem' (30720 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.262s]
writing 'modem'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to erase partition
Failed to write mmc
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 2.385s
sending 'fsg' (165 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.032s]
writing 'fsg'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition fsg
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.144s
erasing 'modemst1'...
Failed to erase partition
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.045s
erasing 'modemst2'...
Failed to erase partition
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.043s
sending 'logo' (854 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.081s]
writing 'logo'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition logo
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.200s
sending 'boot' (10240 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.751s]
writing 'boot'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition boot
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 1.468s
sending 'recovery' (10240 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.779s]
writing 'recovery'...
Failed to erase partition
Failed to flash partition recovery
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 1.503s
erasing 'userdata'...
Failed to erase partition
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.044s
sending 'system' (30720 KB)...
OKAY [ 3.806s]
writing 'system'...
Failed to erase partition
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 5.397s
erasing 'tombstones'...
Failed to erase partition
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.045s
erasing 'cache'...
Failed to erase partition
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.044s[*] Flash complete, Rebooting...
rebooting...

finished. total time: 0.006s
12th August 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #10  
bweN diorD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 662
 
1,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyromaniac1

Ran the script twice. Managed to copy this the second time :/. Phone reboots after flashing is done and like before still stuck at the end of the boot animation.

hmm, not good!
it looks like the hole phone is r/o when in fastboot. i have seen this before several times and have yet to see any one fix it.
i thought a few of those may fail, although you weren't actually downgrading any of them, they shouldn't have, but every writing and erasing command has failed. i was hoping that didn't happen.

we didn't try a factory reset but that's pointless, as the script tried it and it failed.

i dont think there is a way to fix this. maybe @SamuriHL has an idea.
just so you know Sam, the "modified" script i gave him a few post down uses moto fastboot to flash everything.
figured that was the best shot, if there was one, given what he already tried.

thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in RAZR HD Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank