Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] XT926 urgent help required

OP mshayan27

14th August 2014, 01:47 PM   |  #11  
Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 8
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mshayan27

lol i am newb to this phone lets see what happen

After what iBolski wrote, I would suggest that you look around the forum, see how you can flash the firmware. Remember, always read twice if you're not sure what you're doing!
14th August 2014, 01:50 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBolski

I would suggest possibly NOT taking the update that is being sent to the phone as it MIGHT be the newest OTA which fixes the bootloader unlock and Towelroot exploits. People have reported getting this update that are not part of the soak.

Instead, ignore it and go and get the FXZ for the Kit Kat and flash that via RSDLite or House of Moto. That way, you can then go and root with Towelroot and then unlock the bootloader.

After that, THEN take any OTAs after that. If the current OTA that is getting pushed to his phone is from the latest soak, then if he takes it, he will NOT be able to unlock the bootloader NOR root his phone.

i think my phone is still a verizon because on inserting my sim it still gives me error that simcard is from other user but my simcard does works normally well now the question is is my phone still lock with verizon or how can i unlock it i have no information i just brought fone yesterday from a local market and give me some links to get the best kitkat on my fone ultimatly i just want it to wirk perfectly fine like a free phone with no errors and bugs
thanks
14th August 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #13  
Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 8
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBolski

No biggie. The latest soak I believe just started getting pushed out in the last couple of days. I was part of the soak test, but I've since gone back to CM11 which is better IMHO, especially with the WiFi.

Well, it's strange to me that they won't allow us unlock the bootloader anymore (considering that we could before that). Which version is this?

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:50 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mshayan27

i think my phone is still a verizon because on inserting my sim it still gives me error that simcard is from other user but my simcard does works normally well now the question is is my phone still lock with verizon or how can i unlock it i have no information i just brought fone yesterday from a local market and give me some links to get the best kitkat on my fone ultimatly i just want it to wirk perfectly fine like a free phone with no errors and bugs
thanks

You're confusing the SIM lock and the bootloader lock. The phone is not SIM locked outside the U.S., so don't worry about that.
The bootloader unlock is what allows you to install custom ROMs via a custom recovery.
14th August 2014, 01:57 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagim

Well, it's strange to me that they won't allow us unlock the bootloader anymore (considering that we could before that). Which version is this?

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:50 PM ----------



You're confusing the SIM lock and the bootloader lock. The phone is not SIM locked outside the U.S., so don't worry about that.
The bootloader unlock is what allows you to install custom ROMs via a custom recovery.

i have no idea about boot loader lock ...i am talkin about simlock and i was asking if i update it to official kitkat will it then work in my country (pakistan)
14th August 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #15  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 527
 
1,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagim

Well, it's strange to me that they won't allow us unlock the bootloader anymore (considering that we could before that). Which version is this?

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:50 PM ----------



You're confusing the SIM lock and the bootloader lock. The phone is not SIM locked outside the U.S., so don't worry about that.
The bootloader unlock is what allows you to install custom ROMs via a custom recovery.

You're surprised? Why? They don't want unlocking the bootloaders on the XT926s in the first place. The whole bootloader unlocking of the XT926 was due to a security exploit, not because Moto allowed it.

On JB, there was a version that allowed the bootloader to be unlocked until they patched it.

Then, when the initial Kit Kat OTA came out back in May/June, they accidentally re-introduced the bootloader unlock exploit. After the initial OTA, another soak test started and with that, they fixed the exploit again, so nothing surprising there.

This is the FXZ you want to flash to your phone (do NOT take the OTA just in case it's the latest soak which patches the exploit that was re-introduced with the first KK OTA) -> http://sbf.droid-developers.org/down...ice=5&file=902

Go here to learn how to flash it and then unlock your bootloader -> http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to...razr-hdm-only/
14th August 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #16  
Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 8
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBolski

You're surprised? Why? They don't want unlocking the bootloaders on the XT926s in the first place. The whole bootloader unlocking of the XT926 was due to a security exploit, not because Moto allowed it.

On JB, there was a version that allowed the bootloader to be unlocked until they patched it.

Then, when the initial Kit Kat OTA came out back in May/June, they accidentally re-introduced the bootloader unlock exploit. After the initial OTA, another soak test started and with that, they fixed the exploit again, so nothing surprising there.

This is the FXZ you want to flash to your phone (do NOT take the OTA just in case it's the latest soak which patches the exploit that was re-introduced with the first KK OTA) -> http://sbf.droid-developers.org/down...ice=5&file=902

Go here to learn how to flash it and then unlock your bootloader -> http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to...razr-hdm-only/

OK, my bad then again. When I first heard about this, it sounded like and official thing. But maybe I confused it with the Developers Edition.

---------- Post added at 02:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:25 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mshayan27

i have no idea about boot loader lock ...i am talkin about simlock and i was asking if i update it to official kitkat will it then work in my country (pakistan)

It will work.
Last edited by nagim; 14th August 2014 at 02:34 PM.
14th August 2014, 03:25 PM   |  #17  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 527
 
1,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagim

OK, my bad then again. When I first heard about this, it sounded like and official thing. But maybe I confused it with the Developers Edition.

---------- Post added at 02:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:25 PM ----------



It will work.

Correct, the developers edition can always be unlocked, no matter what. But, not many have the developers edition as it was a limited release.

Most XT926 devices are the non-developer's edition and can only be unlocked via an exploit.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
droid razr hd, lock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes