Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Australia XT905 kitkat update scheduled on Telstra

21st March 2015, 03:27 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 150
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lem22

The update could be canceled. It's not in the list anymore. Don't know about retail version.

However, the RAZR HD is getting it currently. There should be a way to port it to the M relatively easily, as done with the Google Play edition firmware.

Sent from my Blissful RAZR M 5.0.2 from Tapatalk
22nd March 2015, 12:44 AM   |  #22  
kabaldan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 3,725
 
1,565 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xKroniK13x

However, the RAZR HD is getting it currently. There should be a way to port it to the M relatively easily, as done with the Google Play edition firmware.

Australian xt925 getting KitKat can hardly help xt905 to leave the jbbl/3.0 kernel ghetto.
You need device specific KitKat bootloader and modem firmware to go the kkbl/3.4 kernel route.
Flashing bootloader images made for a different device (xt925) will most likely brick your device (xt905).
Until there's an official KitKat update for xt905, it will be forced to stay on the old 3.0 kernel.
(Unless someone smarter than me will figure out how to keep the BP with JB modem firmware happy and not crashing when running with AP on 3.4 kernel.)
The Following User Says Thank You to kabaldan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2015, 01:44 AM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 51
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kabaldan

Australian xt925 getting KitKat can hardly help xt905 to leave the jbbl/3.0 kernel ghetto.
You need device specific KitKat bootloader and modem firmware to go the kkbl/3.4 kernel route.
Flashing bootloader images made for a different device (xt925) will most likely brick your device (xt905).
Until there's an official KitKat update for xt905, it will be forced to stay on the old 3.0 kernel.
(Unless someone smarter than me will figure out how to keep the BP with JB modem firmware happy and not crashing when running with AP on 3.4 kernel.)

I am not suggesting anyone do this to their phone, however, I have read on here somewhere, where someone flashed an XT905 firmware (using RSD or such) onto his XT907, and it was working

On my old phone, a Sony XPeria Ray ST18A, I used to flash the international ROM (ST18I) and then selectively fl;ash the baseband from the ST18A Sony firmware to correct/access the local radio bands.

I have a "spare" XT905 because I smashed my screen just after I bought it , and had to buy a new one with insurance... Since then, I bought a cheapie screen off ebay and fixed the screen (but somehow managed to also damage the earpiece.. so it doesn't work).

Does anyone know for certain if flashing a XT907 Kernal ONLY onto an XT907 will definitely brick it? With these phones only differing (as far as I can see) in the frequency bands, does the kernel contain specifically?

Looking at the XML in the firmware (for a Telstra XT905) I notice there is a "Modem" specific line, which I would guess to contain the Band specific code (similar to my previous "baseband" components on my Sony)

Quote:

...
<steps interface="AP">
<step operation="getvar" var="max-download-size" />
<step operation="flash" partition="partition" filename="partition_signed" MD5="22cd99a04c162e93b3b643ae38d9bd04" />
<step operation="flash" partition="sbl1" filename="sbl1_signed" MD5="86685d9e0b505946f6880f1299439c6d" />
<step operation="flash" partition="sbl2" filename="sbl2_signed" MD5="479c860d0809eb024c013bf8b25ede09" />
<step operation="flash" partition="sbl3" filename="sbl3_signed" MD5="177bd596e0c112eb8cf1c141b9f6893c" />
<step operation="flash" partition="rpm" filename="rpm_signed" MD5="da48c189336c7d8a420747ebbaf2d172" />
<step operation="flash" partition="tz" filename="tz_signed" MD5="1fcf95d8ec54318ab6dcb7e70766bcb0" />

<step operation="flash" partition="aboot" filename="aboot_signed" MD5="0d98ea877b13d8a5f07b3b9a1e0c80a8" />
<step operation="reboot-bootloader" />
<step operation="getvar" var="max-download-size" />
<step operation="oem" var="fb_mode_set" />
<step operation="flash" partition="modem" filename="modem_signed" MD5="eb038b1fd95f7a2bf52e6b88cb1d520e" />
<step operation="flash" partition="fsg" filename="fsg_signed" MD5="847a8a135bacf1ac02c3bbeeea845155" />
<step operation="erase" partition="modemst1" />
<step operation="erase" partition="modemst2" />

<step operation="flash" partition="logo" filename="logo" MD5="cd111cc7b675e62a7d85a50632fb88e8" />
<step operation="flash" partition="devtree" filename="devtree_signed" MD5="0e6deb1413b2e1ac1182e9af359e6cd2" />
<step operation="flash" partition="boot" filename="boot_signed" MD5="f30b28de806ac1b8a3bf1d9fee602ba2" />
<step operation="flash" partition="recovery" filename="recovery_signed" MD5="965ec9cb158f1f03ea540098109bce54" />
<step operation="flash" partition="system" filename="system_signed" MD5="b96e29cff7a56fdf0581e53aaf221fc1" />
<step operation="flash" partition="cdrom" filename="cdrom_signed" MD5="741e7c7b85edf10602cd194c1b76b353" />
<step operation="erase" partition="tombstones" />
<step operation="oem" var="fb_mode_clear" />
</steps>
...

I have seen threads where people have edited / corrected the above firmware file to enable it to flash, so that givces my an inkluing pof hope (or delusion view).

If I was crazy enough to try, any ideas what may be the minimum or if it would even be theoretically possible to only flash a KK "kernel" from a file, which I would need to keep? I would expect the phone to be not bootable until I flashed a KKBL firmware, if it wasn't bricked by the process. i guessing the blue stuff above and maybe the green. You only live once, and the phone is a "spare"
22nd March 2015, 12:19 PM   |  #24  
lem22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondJohn

I am not suggesting anyone do this to their phone, however, I have read on here somewhere, where someone flashed an XT905 firmware (using RSD or such) onto his XT907, and it was working

I did that too and it's working indeed (XT902 firmwares as well). But you have to flash the original modem back to enable all the networks. And that's the problem, because the modem has to be compatible with the bootloader (or kernel resp.), so most likely a JB modem won't work with a KK bootloader/kernel.

I would wait for an official statement before bricking phones though.
The Following User Says Thank You to lem22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2015, 01:12 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 51
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lem22

I did that too and it's working indeed (XT902 firmwares as well).

good to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lem22

... because the modem has to be compatible with the bootloader (or kernel resp.), so most likely a JB modem won't work with a KK bootloader/kernel.

I didn't think of that, and reading it makes me realize you are probably right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lem22

I would wait for an official statement before bricking phones though.

Its a "spare" phone which is technically broken (ear speaker is broken, hands-free and speaker phone work fine). I currently use it to test new lollipop ROMS (JBBL based ie Vanir only) without touching my daily (I have two XT905's)

As this thread attests, we are getting the run around for the update. The thought has also occurred to me, once we get the KK bootloader, I have assumed we should be OK to flash XT907 KKBL specific ROM's right?
22nd March 2015, 06:00 PM   |  #26  
lem22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondJohn

The thought has also occurred to me, once we get the KK bootloader, I have assumed we should be OK to flash XT907 KKBL specific ROM's right?

Yes. Actually we even do have the KK bootloader already (the XT907 one), it's just the modem that's missing. But to get the modem we need the official update anyway.
Either from Telstra or Motorola.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes