Post Reply

[Q]Droid Razr M, CM11: help configuring PagePlus 3G

OP mattvrablik

31st August 2014, 04:09 AM   |  #21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
hi, can you post the procedure? I had the phone on pageplus with howard's method already.. Like to install CM,but not quiet understand how. thanks
31st August 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #22  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420

Download the whole ics fxz and edit out everything in the xml except NON-HLOS.bin and erase modemst1 and modemst2 and flash that via rsd lite. I'm not sure why your previous attempts to flash aren't working but it's not the rom.

Edit: I made this with nobe1976's flashback zip. It'll flash the jb bootloader jb kernel and a jb bootloader compatible twrp recovery and I switched out the jb radio for the ics one

http://www.mediafire.com/view/vqjt9qa1sqyd9an

Hi, just tried downloading this file, booting into TWRP recovery, installing it. it then boots. Only plus so far is it overwrites the ulocked bootloader warning screen. *BUT* I now can't boot the phone into os (hangs). Tried wiping phone, reinstalling various CM roms (including a stable cm10 release), but everything fails. Can't install anything at this point. TWRP 27.0.0. It keeps warning me when I shut down or reboot that there is no os, and that I am not superuser...

Do I need to hook this phone up to my windows computer, and reinstall a different version of TWRP? Maybe an older one?

Maybe I should just install the factory jb image?

Hoping to make progress on this soon...

M
31st August 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Well yeah if rsd is works for you then there's nothing wrong with that. I only swapped out the jb radio for the ics one so page plus programing would take. I'll post a link to the op for the unedited zip for more info on it. I'm not sure why it didn't work for you but did for the op here

http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php?/topic/50096-[How-To][Mobile-Downgrader]-Flash-Back-1.0-(07-15-14)
Last edited by thewraith420; 31st August 2014 at 10:04 PM.
4th September 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
voice & text on 4.4.2
was it a 3g or 4g sim card that you used to do 1. below? I'd be perfectly happy to only use wifi, if I could keep stock 4.4.2. And are there instructions anywhere for getting the meid from dfs? can't seem to get my droid razr m to connect.

I bought a 4g micro sim, which fits but it won't activate(using the free activators) using the meid number I have - it just sends me an email saying my phone is activated. Which it is/was on PP when I was on 4.1.2, before I ran RSD Lite to 4.4.2, and the only meid# I have is the same whether the sim is inserted or not - so it's the meid that's attached to the phone, not the sim. /end rambling

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420

Well right now you've got 2 options.

1. I just recently found out that it's possible to activate a sim meid# and get calling/sms working through *228 but you need to get the meid from dfs.
This is for calling and text only data will not work other than wifi
howardforums.com/showthread.php?p=15221091



4th September 2014, 08:04 AM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
If you have the drivers and are in BP tools mode you should be able to connect

Edit and it was a 4g blank sim
Last edited by thewraith420; 4th September 2014 at 09:59 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to thewraith420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th September 2014, 07:44 PM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420

If you have the drivers and are in BP tools mode you should be able to connect

Edit and it was a 4g blank sim

Thanks, I followed youtube.com/watch?v=mm2NKdXdHnc&list=UUT0_f2eIoEas1A0y30UHFlQ
to install the motorola driver - previously I had only installed the USB drivers, which I thought was enough, but I was missing the com driver

I got the ESN and MEID & and I used the Hex MEID to register @ exclusivecellular and the email came back that it was successful.

when I dial *228 it says "Sorry, we're having trouble activating your phone. Make sure you have a good signal and try again. Remember to turn off your old phone if you are moving your number from your old phone to this phone."

I do have 3 bars, which should be enough - but I'll try again outside when I get a chance.
Would it make a difference if my phone used to be setup to be used without a SIM card? I used RSD Lite to upgrade to 4.4.2 and then rooted and unlocked my bootloader. Could one of the numbers on the phone MEID/MIN/whatever that is registered to my old PP account be blocking it from working with the new PP account that was created for the SIM card?
4th September 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hmm take the sim out and check the meid again If you had the right one it'll change.
4th September 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420

Hmm take the sim out and check the meid again If you had the right one it'll change.

The ESN and MEID numbers changed when the SIM card was removed. I tried it in a stock Samsung Galaxy 4, which did the same timeout thing. I'm not sure what else to try. At least it was a cheap experiment. Let me know if there's anything else you can think of.
4th September 2014, 11:49 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hmm ok was it set to NV only or ruim when you tried *228? It worked first try for me do I'm just trying to think what could be different
5th September 2014, 03:51 AM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewraith420

Hmm ok was it set to NV only or ruim when you tried *228? It worked first try for me do I'm just trying to think what could be different

Nope, it's stock 4.4.2, just unlocked. I didn't make any other changes. I had added my google profile through wifi which installed my normal apps, but that's it. I'll try rsd-lite and re-install 4.4.2 fresh to make sure it's nothing weird. If that doesn't work I'll just have to give up and go back to 4.1.2 Thanks for your help, I learned a lot by giving this a try, which is always it's own reward!


*Update* used rsd-lite to go back to stock 4.4.2 and it still wouldn't activate the SIM card. So I went back to 4.1.2 and re-hacked the phone without a SIM card. That wouldn't activate either, So I just kept trying, a few times a day, 4 days later it finally activated. I'm wondering if I had been that persistent with the SIM activation if that would have eventually worked. But I'm not willing to give that a try right now, my phone is working and I have other projects to work on. If anyone can sell me a SIM card that's activated under a new PP account, I'd be very interested. - Unfortunately the new PagePlus 4G SIM's won't work for me because I'm on the Pay-as-you-go/Standard Plan and I'm not interested in paying $30 a month - last year I ended up only using $35 for the year (out of a $80/365 day plan).
Last edited by Smashing1978; 25th September 2014 at 05:04 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes