FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[4.4.2][STOCK] AOSP Status Bar Mod

1,483 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,950
 
By ATTACK, Recognized Themer on 1st July 2014, 05:56 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This mod will change the stock Motorola status bar icons into AOSP status bar icons.



AOSP STATUS BAR MOD
  • STOCK KDA20.62-10.1 - KDA20.62-15.1
  • FULL AOSP STATUS ICONS (STATUS BAR & QUICK PANEL)
  • CDMA & GSM COMPATIBLE
  • (GSM) This will NOT give you LTE if you don't already have it, but you will use the standard AOSP E, G & H icons.
  • NO XPOSED - Install after flashing
  • MUST BE DEODEXED

INSTALL
  • DOWNLOAD
  • PLACE ON SDCARD
  • ENTER RECOVERY
  • NANDROID
  • FLASH
  • WIPE CACHE/DALVIK
  • REBOOT

DOWNLOAD
CHANGELOG
Code:
7/4/2014 LTE - v2:
-  Added delete script to remove original apk/odex during install.
8/25/2014 
- Signal Level Mod for poor/low signal areas. TESTING
Last edited by ATTACK; 10th September 2014 at 03:47 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to ATTACK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
3rd July 2014, 07:04 AM |#2  
ATTACK's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 1,950
 
More
FOR THE GEEKS!

RED = Edit

First we need to switch from 5 bar signal icons to 4 bar icons.
Code:
framework-res.apk / res / xml / signallevel.xml
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<SignalLevelFile NumberOfBars="4" NumberOfAsuLevels="5" NumberOfSignalEntries="10" NumberOfAsuEntries="2">
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-100,-95,-85,-75" EcioLevel="-150,-130,-110,-90" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-999,-100,-95,-85,-75" EcioLevel="-999,-150,-130,-110,-90" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-105,-90,-75,-65" SnrLevel="1,3,5,7" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-999,-105,-90,-75,-65" SnrLevel="0,1,3,5,7" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="4" RsrpLevel="-115,-105,-95,-85" SnrLevel="-30,10,45,130" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="5" RsrpLevel="-999,-115,-105,-95,-85" SnrLevel="-999,-30,10,45,130" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-100,-95,-90,-82,-75" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" EcioAsuLevel="-150,-130,-115,-100,-90" EcioAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-105,-95,-85,-75,-65" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" SnrAsuLevel="1,3,5,6,7" SnrAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
</SignalLevelFile>

Code:
SystemUI.apk / res / xml / signallevel.xml
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<SignalLevelFile NumberOfBars="4" NumberOfAsuLevels="5" NumberOfSignalEntries="10" NumberOfAsuEntries="2">
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-100,-95,-85,-75" EcioLevel="-150,-130,-110,-90" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-999,-100,-95,-85,-75" EcioLevel="-999,-150,-130,-110,-90" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-105,-90,-75,-65" SnrLevel="1,3,5,7" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-999,-105,-90,-75,-65" SnrLevel="0,1,3,5,7" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="4" RsrpLevel="-115,-105,-95,-85" SnrLevel="-30,10,45,130" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="5" RsrpLevel="-999,-115,-105,-95,-85" SnrLevel="-999,-30,10,45,130" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-100,-95,-90,-82,-75" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" EcioAsuLevel="-150,-130,-115,-100,-90" EcioAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-105,-95,-85,-75,-65" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" SnrAsuLevel="1,3,5,6,7" SnrAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
</SignalLevelFile>
Then we need to disable custom carrier icons.
Code:
SystemUI.apk / res / values / bools.xml
Code:
<bool name="config_enable_carrier_custom_icons">false</bool>
<bool name="config_enable_carrier_custom_mappings">false</bool>
<bool name="config_enable_carrier_wide_icons">false</bool>
To show LTE
Code:
SystemUI.apk / res / values / bools.xml
Code:
<bool name="config_show4GForLTE">false</bool>

************************************************** Signal Level Modification **************************************************

I live and work in a poor/low EvDo (3G) and LTE Verizon coverage area. At any given time my signal typically sits between 118dbm ~ 124dbm, and my signal bars would reflect this by showing 0~1 bars. Being tired of this, I decided to modify our standard signallevel.xml to show more bars for higher dbm values ( Results shown below ).

As of now I dont know what impact, if any, this will have on System/Battery/Hand-Off, but I do see a more sustained LTE signal (Placebo?) ( with 4G speeds ) at home where I typically drop and stay on 3G.

You can modify the values to whatever you choose, I used the higher values from the 5 bar dbm, Ecio & Snr.


BEFORE:


AFTER:



Code:
SystemUI.apk / res / xml / signallevel.xml
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<SignalLevelFile NumberOfBars="4" NumberOfAsuLevels="5" NumberOfSignalEntries="10" NumberOfAsuEntries="2">
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-120,-100,-95,-85" EcioLevel="-160,-150,-130,-110" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-120,-100,-95,-85,-75" EcioLevel="-160,-150,-130,-110,-90" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-120,-105,-90,-75" SnrLevel="0,1,3,5" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-120,-105,-90,-75,-65" SnrLevel="0,1,3,5,7" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="4" RsrpLevel="-999,-115,-105,-95" SnrLevel="-999,-30,10,130" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="5" RsrpLevel="-999,-115,-105,-95,-85" SnrLevel="-999,-30,10,45,130" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-100,-95,-90,-82,-75" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" EcioAsuLevel="-150,-130,-115,-100,-90" EcioAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-105,-95,-85,-75,-65" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" SnrAsuLevel="1,3,5,6,7" SnrAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
</SignalLevelFile>

Code:
framework-res.apk / res / xml / signallevel.xml
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<SignalLevelFile NumberOfBars="4" NumberOfAsuLevels="5" NumberOfSignalEntries="10" NumberOfAsuEntries="2">
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="GSM" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,5,8,10,14" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="4" AsuLevel="7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="UMTS" SignalBars="5" AsuLevel="0,7,14,21,29" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-120,-100,-95,-85" EcioLevel="-160,-150,-130,-110" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-999,-100,-95,-85,-75" EcioLevel="-999,-150,-130,-110,-90" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="4" DbmLevel="-120,-105,-90,-75" SnrLevel="0,1,3,5" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" SignalBars="5" DbmLevel="-999,-105,-90,-75,-65" SnrLevel="0,1,3,5,7" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="4" RsrpLevel="-999,-115,-105,-95" SnrLevel="-999,-30,10,130" />
    <SignalLevelInfo RadioType="LTE" SignalBars="5" RsrpLevel="-999,-115,-105,-95,-85" SnrLevel="-999,-30,10,45,130" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="CDMA" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-100,-95,-90,-82,-75" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" EcioAsuLevel="-150,-130,-115,-100,-90" EcioAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
    <AsuLevelInfo RadioType="EVDO" AsuLevels="5" DbmAsuLevel="-105,-95,-85,-75,-65" DbmAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" SnrAsuLevel="1,3,5,6,7" SnrAsuValue="1,2,4,8,16" />
</SignalLevelFile>
Last edited by ATTACK; 6th September 2014 at 03:38 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ATTACK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 03:19 PM |#3  
b0uncyfr0's Avatar
Senior Member
Sydney
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Another awesome mod. If only we had the momentum to get someone messing with the bands on xt907, non US users could use LTE as well.

Sent from my XT907 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to b0uncyfr0 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 06:46 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
More
Looks great.

Can I assume that "STOCK KDA20.62-10.1" means that it will not work on a deodexed version of the stock rom?
The Following User Says Thank You to Coronado is dead For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 06:52 PM |#5  
ATTACK's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 1,950
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coronado is dead

Looks great.

Can I assume that "STOCK KDA20.62-10.1" means that it will not work on a deodexed version of the stock rom?

It will work on both odex & deodexed ROMs.
Last edited by ATTACK; 6th September 2014 at 03:37 PM.
3rd July 2014, 07:38 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATTACK

It will work on both odex & deodexed ROMs.

Thanks! Installed just fine, but it removed the L navigation bar that the Google Play Edition rom installed. Strange.
3rd July 2014, 08:27 PM |#7  
ATTACK's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 1,950
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coronado is dead

Thanks! Installed just fine, but it removed the L navigation bar that the Google Play Edition rom installed. Strange.

Yup, Status bar and nav bar are both located in the SystemUI. Here's a ZipThemer pack that will add back the Android L Navigation bar.
Attached Files
File Type: zip [ZipThemer] [v1.0] Android_L_Nav_Bar.zip - [Click for QR Code] (16.7 KB, 23 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to ATTACK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2014, 12:11 AM |#8  
Member
Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Worried about
Hey ATTACK, i followed the steps to install the mod but it didn't work for me, i flashed the zip with TWRP 2.7.1.0, the phone boots normally but stays on the droid eye doing nothing,leaving me the option to do a RSD, i don't know if i have to flash it with the stock recovery or TWRP??

DROID RAZR M KITKAT rooted and BL unlocked
183.46.10 & KDA 20.62-10.1
XPOSED FRAMEWORK
5th July 2014, 03:12 AM |#9  
ATTACK's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 1,950
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broloff

Hey ATTACK, i followed the steps to install the mod but it didn't work for me, i flashed the zip with TWRP 2.7.1.0, the phone boots normally but stays on the droid eye doing nothing,leaving me the option to do a RSD, i don't know if i have to flash it with the stock recovery or TWRP??

DROID RAZR M KITKAT rooted and BL unlocked
183.46.10 & KDA 20.62-10.1
XPOSED FRAMEWORK

Which version did you flash, 4G or LTE?
Please, always perform a NANDroid backup before flashing any mod.
The Following User Says Thank You to ATTACK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2014, 03:30 AM |#10  
Member
Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
ATTACK, i flashed the LTE version, with no results, what version do you recommend to me, i'm on GSM (not living in U.S)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes