ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

A few easy CM10 and CM11 questions

OP s_cuttic

20th August 2014, 06:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I'm tired of my phone lagging, freezing up and just being slow. Installing the fastboot files and starting over from a completely clean slate didn't fix my problems.

I wanna try Cyanogenmod 10 or even CM11 but I'm not sure if 11 is supported on the droid razr maxx and what doesn't work with it.

Can someone please tell me or point me to a thread of what's different between cm10 and cm11.

I saw an old post that said on cm10 the camera flash didn't work. Has this been fixed?

What doesn't work on cm11?

I haven't flashed a ROM in over two years and that was on my droid x. I flashed darkslide and a cyanogenmod ROM but I don't remember what one.

I've been eligible for an upgrade for a few months but I don't wanna lose my unlimited data.

Any info would be appreciated!

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th August 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #2  
sherri's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 163
 
465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Simply, CM 10 is Jelly Bean, and CM 11 is KitKat.
The Following User Says Thank You to sherri For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #3  
morr22066's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 101
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Thumbs up Spyder XT912 CDMA
CM11 Kitkat (OS 4.4.4). Pretty much everything works, at this point they are mainly adding features and working out the bugs. Some people still report having orange bars, APN issues, some audio issues and slow screen wakeup but those problems do not appear to be consistent and may depend on which nightly build they are running.

Most of the current ROM's seem to be running very well with few problems. There is of course CM11 and there are several other good ones.

Paranoid Android: the current version is streamlined and has few options, it looks and feels pretty close to stock android.

Liquid Smooth: the current version has lots of options, feels fast and smooth.

PACman: recently rebuilt and seems to be running well, it's a combination of features from multiple ROM's.

Other good ones include slimkat and carbon among others. There are some newer ROM's but some are still a little buggy.

So there are plenty to try out and play with to see which one suits your needs as far as features go. I use Safestrap which does provide multiple slots for ROM installation. You could always wipe the stock Verizon ROM but I like to keep it installed as a backup.

Good luck.
20th August 2014, 06:26 PM   |  #4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,556
 
10,001 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Please ensure you use the Question and Answer section to ask your questions.
Development is for the advance on development.

Thanks
21st August 2014, 06:28 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Thank you both for the info. I'm charging my phone now and I'll try a rom or two later tonight or tomorrow. I had safestrap on my droid x but never used it. The last time I flashed a rom I had to use bootstrap recovery and flash a rom in recovery.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
21st August 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #6  
myafidk's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Hidden Mist
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s_cuttic

Thank you both for the info. I'm charging my phone now and I'll try a rom or two later tonight or tomorrow. I had safestrap on my droid x but never used it. The last time I flashed a rom I had to use bootstrap recovery and flash a rom in recovery.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

start with officialy supported custom rom for our razr, for example AOSPA and Cyanogenmod... or both at the same time since safestrap has multiple slots.
22nd August 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Does the mobile hotspot app work on cm? When I had safe strap installed, mobile hotspot wouldn't work and WiFi would only work when I'd reboot.

I removed recovery for now and I'll reinstall it and flash a ROM either tomorrow night or Saturday.

I was all set to do it today but I have to work a different shift tomorrow and don't want to have to worry about my alarm not going off and oversleeping.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
22nd August 2014, 06:04 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by s_cuttic

I'm tired of my phone lagging, freezing up and just being slow. Installing the fastboot files and starting over from a completely clean slate didn't fix my problems.

I wanna try Cyanogenmod 10 or even CM11 but I'm not sure if 11 is supported on the droid razr maxx and what doesn't work with it.

Can someone please tell me or point me to a thread of what's different between cm10 and cm11.

I saw an old post that said on cm10 the camera flash didn't work. Has this been fixed?

What doesn't work on cm11?

I haven't flashed a ROM in over two years and that was on my droid x. I flashed darkslide and a cyanogenmod ROM but I don't remember what one.

I've been eligible for an upgrade for a few months but I don't wanna lose my unlimited data.

Any info would be appreciated!

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

You can kiss your unlimited goodby in October!
Its going to screw me over because dsl or cable is not on my area.
http://www.nbcnews.com/tech/mobile/v...ctober-n166721
23rd August 2014, 02:14 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Well if they throttle me then they throttle me. I could probably get by on 4 gigs if I didn't tether as much and used my WiFi at home.

I tether because I have verizon dsl and it's as slow as molasses. I could get cable but that's kinda pricey and their rates keep going up.

I mainly use a lot of data at home during the week and hardly any on weekends.

I haven't gone over 20 gigs in a few months and I'm not doing too bad so far this month... just under 7 gigs.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd August 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by s_cuttic

Well if they throttle me then they throttle me. I could probably get by on 4 gigs if I didn't tether as much and used my WiFi at home.

I tether because I have verizon dsl and it's as slow as molasses. I could get cable but that's kinda pricey and their rates keep going up.

I mainly use a lot of data at home during the week and hardly any on weekends.

I haven't gone over 20 gigs in a few months and I'm not doing too bad so far this month... just under 7 gigs.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Guess I will switch to the more everything plan at 10gigs of data for 3 smartphones for $160
Why stay with the unlimited when it cost more for less gigs.
Verizon says it will only throttle when you have used over 4.7 gigs & the tower you are on is congested.
This is bs, I have already been thru this a few years back with the 3g unlimited plan when it was throttled.
Either tower was always congested or Verizon just lied about it, I would say they lied.

The initial hardware cost is high, but Verizon thru Millenicom is $89.99 for 20gigs a month for 4g data hotspot only.

Satellite internet is really fast now with Exede but expensive, no cost for hardware but plans cost more.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes