Post Reply

v4.4.4 won't install... gets half way with error!

12th July 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Trying to install v4.4.4 on my stock --not developer edition-- Droid Ultra. It is currently running v.4.4.2 (19.6.3.obake).

After the download, the phone reboots, gets about half-way through and stops with a message "error!". No other info provided. So far, the MFN doesn't have any answers.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to get this installed?

I have:
-reset to factory specs (via menu with phone booted up) and tried the install
-reset (via vol down, power) to factory specs and tried the install

Always ends with "error!" ..... thanks for any help.
13th July 2014, 12:45 AM   |  #2  
beelow319's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Have you tried to RSD and keep data? I had that problem on the first update and that's what finally fixed it.
The Following User Says Thank You to beelow319 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th July 2014, 01:32 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by beelow319

Have you tried to RSD and keep data? I had that problem on the first update and that's what finally fixed it.


Can you offer up the steps to do that? I know how to do a factory reset, but that will wipe the data. Thanks.
13th July 2014, 01:36 AM   |  #4  
beelow319's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2450702

Super easy to do
13th July 2014, 01:40 AM   |  #5  
rmjones2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag birmingham
Thanks Meter: 72
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoncd

Trying to install v4.4.4 on my stock --not developer edition-- Droid Ultra. It is currently running v.4.4.2 (19.6.3.obake).

After the download, the phone reboots, gets about half-way through and stops with a message "error!". No other info provided. So far, the MFN doesn't have any answers.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to get this installed?

I have:
-reset to factory specs (via menu with phone booted up) and tried the install
-reset (via vol down, power) to factory specs and tried the install

Always ends with "error!" ..... thanks for any help.

Are you, or have you been rooted in the past?
13th July 2014, 01:49 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmjones2006

Are you, or have you been rooted in the past?

No, have never been rooted.

The only thing I have ever done is update the radios (adb) ...

for beelow319, am trying the houseofmoto steps now. thanks, will report back.
13th July 2014, 05:55 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by beelow319

Go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2450702

Super easy to do

May I just say, thank you very much.

That worked ... I am now running v4.4.4 .... and you are right, that was very easy.

Too bad I had already wiped my phone twice ... ugh ... again, thank you!
13th July 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 282
 
3,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoncd

No, have never been rooted.

The only thing I have ever done is update the radios (adb) ...

for beelow319, am trying the houseofmoto steps now. thanks, will report back.

Updating the radios is surely what caused your problem.

The OTAs are usually patches to existing files, not replacements. That keeps them smaller.

If you open the OTA file and read through the updater script, you'll see that the first thing it does is run a hash against every file it will be updating. It's making sure that every file is stock, exactly they way the patch needs it to be to be successful. Without a check, it could patch a file with changes that break the file and therefore your phone.

In this OTA, the very last thing checked is the modem (radio). Since your was not the 4.4 radio it was looking for, it stops the update before anything at all is patched.

It took so long to get there because there are about 1000 files it checks, if I counted correctly.

You hadn't even reached the actual update part of the update.
13th July 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by distortedloop

Updating the radios is surely what caused your problem.

The OTAs are usually patches to existing files, not replacements. That keeps them smaller.

If you open the OTA file and read through the updater script, you'll see that the first thing it does is run a hash against every file it will be updating. It's making sure that every file is stock, exactly they way the patch needs it to be to be successful. Without a check, it could patch a file with changes that break the file and therefore your phone.

In this OTA, the very last thing checked is the modem (radio). Since your was not the 4.4 radio it was looking for, it stops the update before anything at all is patched.

It took so long to get there because there are about 1000 files it checks, if I counted correctly.

You hadn't even reached the actual update part of the update.

I had replaced the radios with stock before trying to update to v4.4.4 .... when that didn't work, I thought the reset to factory specs would take care of that; no joy.

In the end, I love the HouseofMoto program .... that was really easy.
Last edited by newtoncd; 13th July 2014 at 05:14 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Droid Ultra General by ThreadRank