Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,216 Members 53,713 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

v4.4.4 won't install... gets half way with error!

Tip us?
 
newtoncd
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default v4.4.4 won't install... gets half way with error!

Trying to install v4.4.4 on my stock --not developer edition-- Droid Ultra. It is currently running v.4.4.2 (19.6.3.obake).

After the download, the phone reboots, gets about half-way through and stops with a message "error!". No other info provided. So far, the MFN doesn't have any answers.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to get this installed?

I have:
-reset to factory specs (via menu with phone booted up) and tried the install
-reset (via vol down, power) to factory specs and tried the install

Always ends with "error!" ..... thanks for any help.
 
beelow319
Old
#2  
beelow319's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 50
Join Date: Feb 2012
Have you tried to RSD and keep data? I had that problem on the first update and that's what finally fixed it.
The Following User Says Thank You to beelow319 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
newtoncd
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by beelow319 View Post
Have you tried to RSD and keep data? I had that problem on the first update and that's what finally fixed it.

Can you offer up the steps to do that? I know how to do a factory reset, but that will wipe the data. Thanks.
 
beelow319
Old
#4  
beelow319's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 50
Join Date: Feb 2012
Go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2450702

Super easy to do
 
rmjones2006
Old
#5  
rmjones2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 221
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: birmingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoncd View Post
Trying to install v4.4.4 on my stock --not developer edition-- Droid Ultra. It is currently running v.4.4.2 (19.6.3.obake).

After the download, the phone reboots, gets about half-way through and stops with a message "error!". No other info provided. So far, the MFN doesn't have any answers.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to get this installed?

I have:
-reset to factory specs (via menu with phone booted up) and tried the install
-reset (via vol down, power) to factory specs and tried the install

Always ends with "error!" ..... thanks for any help.
Are you, or have you been rooted in the past?
 
newtoncd
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmjones2006 View Post
Are you, or have you been rooted in the past?
No, have never been rooted.

The only thing I have ever done is update the radios (adb) ...

for beelow319, am trying the houseofmoto steps now. thanks, will report back.
 
newtoncd
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by beelow319 View Post
May I just say, thank you very much.

That worked ... I am now running v4.4.4 .... and you are right, that was very easy.

Too bad I had already wiped my phone twice ... ugh ... again, thank you!
 
distortedloop
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 274
Posts: 3,005
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtoncd View Post
No, have never been rooted.

The only thing I have ever done is update the radios (adb) ...

for beelow319, am trying the houseofmoto steps now. thanks, will report back.
Updating the radios is surely what caused your problem.

The OTAs are usually patches to existing files, not replacements. That keeps them smaller.

If you open the OTA file and read through the updater script, you'll see that the first thing it does is run a hash against every file it will be updating. It's making sure that every file is stock, exactly they way the patch needs it to be to be successful. Without a check, it could patch a file with changes that break the file and therefore your phone.

In this OTA, the very last thing checked is the modem (radio). Since your was not the 4.4 radio it was looking for, it stops the update before anything at all is patched.

It took so long to get there because there are about 1000 files it checks, if I counted correctly.

You hadn't even reached the actual update part of the update.
Wiping battery stats has the same influence over battery life as waving a dead chicken over your phone does; none, per Google.
If your sig takes up more screen real estate than most of your posts, maybe you should trim it a bit...
 
newtoncd
Old
(Last edited by newtoncd; 13th July 2014 at 05:14 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by distortedloop View Post
Updating the radios is surely what caused your problem.

The OTAs are usually patches to existing files, not replacements. That keeps them smaller.

If you open the OTA file and read through the updater script, you'll see that the first thing it does is run a hash against every file it will be updating. It's making sure that every file is stock, exactly they way the patch needs it to be to be successful. Without a check, it could patch a file with changes that break the file and therefore your phone.

In this OTA, the very last thing checked is the modem (radio). Since your was not the 4.4 radio it was looking for, it stops the update before anything at all is patched.

It took so long to get there because there are about 1000 files it checks, if I counted correctly.

You hadn't even reached the actual update part of the update.
I had replaced the radios with stock before trying to update to v4.4.4 .... when that didn't work, I thought the reset to factory specs would take care of that; no joy.

In the end, I love the HouseofMoto program .... that was really easy.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes