Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,049 Members 39,697 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] Novitious Sense 5.5

Tip us?
 
Hotdizzle
Old
#81  
Hotdizzle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by baknblack View Post
Try running without SwiftKey for a while and see what happens.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk
I'm pretty sure the problem is with RAM and memory management. When I wipe cache it's snappy for a while, then slowly bogs down over a few days. I'm going to start monitoring the memory and see if that's it for sure.
 
bauerpower
Old
#82  
bauerpower's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 142
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke View Post
Never used instagram. Does it FC? Or just not sync?

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The app works fine...just doesn't sync...it doesn't show up in settings/accounts and sync

Sent from my EVO using XDA Free mobile app
 
gstanke
Old
#83  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 481
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Flint
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotdizzle View Post
I'm pretty sure the problem is with RAM and memory management. When I wipe cache it's snappy for a while, then slowly bogs down over a few days. I'm going to start monitoring the memory and see if that's it for sure.
I use touchpal x. Never had an issue with it

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gstanke For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lurien
Old
#84  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 199
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke View Post
I use touchpal x. Never had an issue with it

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I agree. TouchPal works very well...

Sent from my EVO LTE using xda premium
 
Hotdizzle
Old
#85  
Hotdizzle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke View Post
I use touchpal x. Never had an issue with it

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Ok, I'll give it a try. Thank you. The real issue is still the sense redraws. Is there a way to lock it in memory or "white list" it so it doesn't get killed? I'll try researching it myself, but I figured I'd ask you since you are obviously much more knowledgeable.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hotdizzle For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gstanke
Old
#86  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 481
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Flint
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotdizzle View Post
Ok, I'll give it a try. Thank you. The real issue is still the sense redraws. Is there a way to lock it in memory or "white list" it so it doesn't get killed? I'll try researching it myself, but I figured I'd ask you since you are obviously much more knowledgeable.
Haven't noticed an issue on my end, but currently beta testing another rom, once I flash back I'll keep an eye on it

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to gstanke For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hotdizzle
Old
#87  
Hotdizzle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke View Post
Haven't noticed an issue on my end, but currently beta testing another rom, once I flash back I'll keep an eye on it

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thank you. I didn't mean to insinuate that it was a problem with your ROM in particular. It's a general problem with this phone's limited RAM and HTC's memory management/lack of multi tasking.
 
gstanke
Old
#88  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 289
Posts: 481
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Flint
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotdizzle View Post
Thank you. I didn't mean to insinuate that it was a problem with your ROM in particular. It's a general problem with this phone's limited RAM and HTC's memory management/lack of multi tasking.
Gotcha. I didn't think you were implying it was a problem with the rom. But yeah this phone for me is great. Sense 4 kinda sucked, sense 5 and 5.5 worked a lot better. I'm guessing sense 6 will be smooth as butter

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gstanke For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Sinistertensai
Old
#89  
Sinistertensai's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6239
Posts: 1,804
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotdizzle View Post
Ok, I'll give it a try. Thank you. The real issue is still the sense redraws. Is there a way to lock it in memory or "white list" it so it doesn't get killed? I'll try researching it myself, but I figured I'd ask you since you are obviously much more knowledgeable.
Some devices suffer more than others with this. I'd suggest ruuing your lte and reflashing see if that helps.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sinistertensai For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
whbisondtr
Old
#90  
whbisondtr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 255
Join Date: Jun 2012
I've come across my first issue, and it's really not a big deal, but I can't get adaway to work on this. I've tried installing and it says app not installed so then I tried pushing into data/app, changing permissions and rebooting but nada. I'm S-off if that matters.

Sent from my EVO using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes